We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business trip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Swindon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Swindon
Ranked #20 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Business trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

I stayed here for the first time on business and although location wise it wasn't ideal for me ( only as I was having dinner the other side of Swindon ) , it had all the amenities needed for a pleasant stay , I tend to stay at hotels with gym facilities to keep the chocolate calories to a minimum , gym was very clean and the sauna perfect , room was tidy and a very comfortable bed , reception staff were attentive and very pleasant , I will be using this hotel again and recommend it as a comfortable stay .

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Alan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helen n, Reservations Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Swindon hotel.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here whilst on a business trip in Swindon.

Its great to see that all of our amenities contributed to you having a pleasant stay with us.

All of our reviews are shared amongst the team and its great to share a positive such as yours.

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Swindon and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Kind Regards
Helen Norcup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    133
    106
    66
    28
See reviews for
88
75
30
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

A good hotel that is made excellent by the staff. The hotel itself has recently been improved by a make over. The food is excellent and the chefs are always prepared to respond the requests for a variation from the menu. The reception staff welcome you and go out of their to make your stay comfortable. The team at breakfast help you wake up with a smile. Congratulations to the Management and all the staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Methorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helen n, Reservations Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this review, 8 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Swindon.

We are all so pleased to read your review and here that you have enjoyed your experience with us all here at the hotel.

We aim to give all of our guests the best experience when visiting the hotel. We share all of our reviews with the hotel staff and managers and your review was a fantastic start to the day for all the staff.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Swindon and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Kind Regards
Helen Norcup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

We stayed at the hotel due to a family party locally. The staff were friendly and the accommodation very comfortable. The price of the room including breakfast was affordable therefore we were able to extend the stay to two nights.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank AshfordLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helen n, Reservations Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Swindon.

We are all delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and so much so that you extended your stay a further night due to affordable value.

All of our TripAdvisor reviews are shared amongst all the staff and managers and comments such as yours regarding the friendly staff are a great start to the day for everyone.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Swindon and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Kind Regards
Helen Norcup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

This hotel doesn't seem to be up to the usual standard at Holiday Inn, the rooms seem a little tired and outdated. Staff at reception were friendly and helpful, not so much in the bar, perhaps they had just had a bad day. At £89.00 room only it wasn't great value.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glenda57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helen n, Reservations Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Swindon.

We are disappointed to hear that you were not satisfied with the standard of the hotel and the value for money, all of our reviews are shared with the hotel team members and managers.

Your comment regarding the bar staff is unacceptable and will be followed up on by management.

Once again thank you for your feedback and taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Swindon.

Kind Regards
Helen Norcup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

stayed here with 9 friends, as usual staff are so polite and friendly, the breakfast staff could not do enough for us and as usual breakfast was lovely, so much to choose from. a mistake was rectified without any hassle, had a workout in the gym as well as a swim and some of us had spa treatments with ang, she is so very cheap and such a warm lovely person, keep going back to this hotel, always has great deals, can't wait for my next spa date there!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helen n, Reservations manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Swindon.

We are all so happy to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us at the hotel.

Your comments regarding all staff members will be share with the team at our daily team meetings.

We are delighted to hear that during your stay you managed to use some of our facilities such as the gym and our beautician.

It's fantastic to hear that you would be returning to us in the future and we look forward to welcoming you and your friends again very soon.

Kind regards
Helen Norcup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornchurch, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

We booked this hotel through Superbreak for 2 nights in February as we wanted to visit Bath and the local towns (was the cheapest in the area).
When we arrived the reception staff were very friendly and welcoming.
Our room was quite basic but the bed was very comfortable and we felt comfortable.
The walls and ceiling could do with being replastered and the bathroom needs modernisation.
We had first night dinner with our package; this was not the nicest dinner we've had in a hotel, the restaurant was empty and the food wasn't very nice. We also waited a long time for drinks and dessert even though there was no one else in the restaurant.
Breakfast was buffet style and was tasty, although some dishes needed replenishing.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helen n, Reservations Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Swindon.

We are happy to hear that you found the staff at the hotel friendly and welcoming, with regards to the bedrooms we are pleased to hear that you found the bed very comfortable. Ongoing maintenance work is being done throughout the hotel and i will raise your point regarding the replastering in your room.

We are dissappointed to hear that you did not enjoy your experience in the restaurant for dinner again this will be raised to the head chef at the hotel.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Swindon.

Kind Regards
Helen Norcup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

room i stayed in was large and the bathroom was big bed was comfy no issue on the hotel just the price i stayed there with work and it was £72 per night! and also they wanted £28 per 24 hours for internet and movies. like i said the hotel was very good but very expensive i have stayed in 5* for cheaper

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helen n, Reservations Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Swindon.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the hotel and found the room large with a comfy bed.

The internet at the hotel is currently chargeable and this is a company standard throughout the managed estate. Your comments about the internet charges will be passed onto higher management as part of our customer feedback.

Once again thank you for staying with the Holiday Inn Swindon.

Kind Regards

Helen Norcup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
1.4 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
2.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#2 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre
4.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
4.1 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Swindon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Swindon

Property: Holiday Inn Swindon
Address: Marlborough Rd, Swindon SN3 6AQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Swindon
#5 Family Hotel in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Swindon 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel in Swindon is located minutes from Junction 15 of the M4 but within easy reach of Swindon Town Centre with ample free ample free parking. Easy access to the cities of Bath, Bristol and Oxford and 1 Hr from London Heathrow. The hotel has 99 well appointed bedrooms which include 10 Executive rooms. All rooms have en suite bathrooms with shower, direct dial telephone, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer and iron and ironing board. Residents can enjoy and unwind with complimentary use of the Spirit leisure club with gymnasium, indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna and treatment room (subject to availability). Our hotel bar and lounge offer tempting dishes from around the world and is a great meeting destination, a relaxing garden terrace can also be enjoyed at the hotel along with the lounge showing all Sky sports channels also ESPN on a 50inch plasma TV. Our contemporary restaurant is a great place to relax and enjoy our menus including the famous Holiday Inn breakfast. Hotel offers 24hr room service also. Under 12's stay and eat free when sharing a room with their parents* Terms and conditions apply. Swindon town centre is within 3 miles driving from the hotel, also the Swindon train station and McArthur Glen Designer Outlet Village. The hotel is ideally located for exploring Wiltshire's surrounding attractions, including Lydiard Park, the Royal Wooton Bassett, the Cotwolds, Avebury Stone Circle & Stonehenge, Longleat Forest and the Steam Railway Museum or for catching a game at Swindon Town Football Club in the town centre. Academy Style Meeting Rooms, 5 purpose built meeting rooms that cater for all requirements from Training Courses, Boardroom Meetings and Conferences to Weddings and Parties including Christmas Parties.Our Academy standard meeting facilities with natural daylight and air conditioning can accommodate up to 70 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Swindon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Swindon Hotel Swindon
Swindon Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Swindon Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing