We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to M4 motorway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Swindon
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Check was quick and friendly. The room was on the ground floor, on the rear of the hotel so it was quiet and a good nights sleep was had.
Dinner was good, however, was served warm rather than hot as I liked it. Sent it back to kitchen and it came back 5 mins later - hot .
Breakfast was good and the staff were efficient and friendly ( especially the temp. manager at dinner).
Its close to the motorway system and the dual carriageway which intersects the M5, Will stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't stay in front facing carpark room - noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taffy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah j, General Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear Caergeiliog,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Swindon,
We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that the team made it extra special for you.
I am glad to hear that the problem with your dinner was dealt with efficiently and professionally. Our top priority is making sure our guests leave feeling happy.
Your Comments will be relayed back to the team.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Tom Gaskell General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (517)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

327 - 333 of 517 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2013

Stayed here one night on a trip back to the home town for a night out with the boys. Room spotless and pretty fresh looking. Everything worked well. Wifi a rip off but will be free next year for ihg club members.
Check in and out really friendly (Beth) and they asked people checking out to mark their stay out of 10 which was a good idea. Would probably stay again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Swindoneric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah j, General Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Swindoneric,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Swindon.

We understand how important it is to receive feedback from the guests and that is why we request a score on Checkout so we can keep on improving on all aspects of the hotel and also so our guests can let us know if they were unhappy at all during their stay we can try and rectify the problem there and then.

We really appreciate the comments that you have made and will relay these back to the team.

Kind Regards
Tom Gaskell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Typical business hotel: good location for the city centre, designer village and so on and lots of parking. Our room was on the small side for a double, although we've stayed here before and the room then was ok. Unless you're there on business (in which case you don't spend much time in your room), it's maybe a good idea to mention you don't want a cramped room.

There's a small gym and a reasonably sized pool for a hotel (returnable £1 coin for the lockers).

We didn't eat in the hotel. There's good meals at the pub (The Sun, I think) just across the road which is pretty quiet, and there's a Harvester less then 5 minutes drive away - they're always great value.

Hope this is helpful.

Room Tip: Unless you're there on business and instead expect to relax a bit, mention that you don't wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RegularTraveller60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah j, General Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear RegularTraveller60

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Holiday Inn Swindon,

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn for your stay, we are sorry the room you were given was too small and cramped for you, as future reference you can ring up the Hotel and request a certain type room and if possible we will try our very best to make that happen. We cant promise because of availability at time of booking certain rooms might not be available. We always try and aim to meet the guests needs.
Your Comments will be relayed back to the team.
We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Kind Regards
Tom Gaskell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here several times in the last few months. Check-in (and check out) has always been good; staff are pleasant and helpful. Rooms are looking tired; l had Room 233 for my latest stay. Big stain on the carpet under the window. Bathroom is tiny, but clean. Hair drier caddy glued to the dressing table top. Why can't it go in the drawer or in the wardrobe area? It smacks of laziness and looks wrong. Bed was comfortable. Used room service twice, had the steak baguette; quite pleasant, but way overpriced for what it was; the excessive tray charge doesn't help. The bar is a bland, soulless area, but the young lad (Liam?) who served me was very pleasant. It's not a bad hotel, just needs updating. As a business traveller l'm on expenses, so not too concerned about value for money. Will always use this hotel if l'm working in the Swindon area.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank SkyMover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah j, General Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Skymover,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Holiday Inn Swindon.
Sorry to hear that your room wasn't up to the standards that it should have been this is something that will be looked into and will be rectified, one of our main priority's is ensuring all our guests are comfortable and happy when staying with us.
We respect your comments about the hotel needing to be updated and this is something that is in working progress.
All your comments will be relayed back to the team. If you wish to get in touch with me about your review then please don't hesitate to contact me.

Kind Regards
Tom Gaskell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

It fell to me this year to arrange an annual reunion of a group of apprentices, as it happened this was the 60 th anniversary of our scheme starting so it was a bit special.

Earlier in the year with my wife we visited the Holiday Inn and had a light lunch. In general we liked the hotel and in particular the proximity of the car park and exit from the M4 as we are all getting on a bit and the staff were very helpful and the hotel was not too crowded at the weekend. I was given the name of the events organizer.

Later in the week I contacted the organizer and got costs for weekend stays, which was very competitive, so nominally booked the rooms required. Later I arranged our formal dinner and determined the menue.

Early in November we gathered, me with some trepidation as the one whose choice the hotel had been, but I should not have worried.

From the start all went like clockwork, most of us stayed for 2 nights. On the first night we had an informal meal in the restaurant followed next morning by an excellent fresh breakfast, in my opinion much better than in the QM2. As a bit of an exercise after breakfast we went for walk around Coate Water, we did not intend to go all the way round, two and half miles, especially with a wheel chair, but it just happened. After a drink and snack we made our way to Steam which impressed everyone.

On return we got ready for our formal dinner and the chef and staff serving us did not let us down. We had the tables laid for 24 of us in the private dinning room in a most attractive manner and we had a very enjoyable evening and the meal was excellent and very good value.

Next morning after another excellent breakfast we left to return home.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and its staff to anyone planning an event similar to ours, for service, location and value, well done to all involved.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nasraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah j, General Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Nasraf

Thank you for taking the time to Review your stay at the Holiday Inn Swindon,
We are so glad to hear that your reunion was a success and that we were able to be a part of it. Our team are very dedicated in making sure everything goes well for our guests when an event happens at our hotel and also to making sure your nights away from home goes the same way.
All your kind comments have been relayed back to the team and hope you think of us again for any future events or just general breaks away.
We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Kind Regards
Tom Gaskell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Staff all friendly and very efficient in all areas of hotel. Good gym/pool/sauna and jacuzzi ( kids loved it ). Room was fine and very clean but windows were dated. Breakfast was good quality and plentiful. We had dinner included in 1st night of weekend stay and dinner was excellent quality , with friendly service and very good value for money. As pointed out by others unless premium HI card holder there is no free wifi but for the price we paid I was happy to pay £5 for an hours wifi so I could donwload my e-mails and newspaper. Great area for exploring and we will certianly come back again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank T0nyT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah j, General Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear T0nyT1

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Swindon. I am glad that the team here made your stay special. Just to let you know that as of January 2014 all IHG reward members will be entitled to free standard WiFi.
I will be sure to relay your great comments to the team and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards
Tom Gaskell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

I attended a 3 day event which required a 2 night stay. Looking at some of the previous reviews I was a little worried. What I found was that, yes some of the rooms are a little dated but they were definitely clean. All of the staff however were fantastic, really cheerful, professional and friendly in whatever role they had. Thanks to you all for helping to make my work stay away from home enjoyable.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarah j, General Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Leatherfrog

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Swindon. I am glad that the team here made your stay special I will be sure to relay your great comments to the team and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards
Tom Gaskell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
2 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 25 in Swindon
1,637 reviews
1.4 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#10 of 25 in Swindon
700 reviews
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre
2.7 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
1,072 reviews
4.1 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#6 of 25 in Swindon
2,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Swindon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Swindon

Address: Marlborough Rd, Swindon SN3 6AQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Swindon
#5 Family Hotel in Swindon
Price Range: £52 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Swindon 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel in Swindon is located minutes from Junction 15 of the M4 but within easy reach of Swindon Town Centre with ample free ample free parking. Easy access to the cities of Bath, Bristol and Oxford and 1 Hr from London Heathrow. The hotel has 99 well appointed bedrooms which include 10 Executive rooms. All rooms have en suite bathrooms with shower, direct dial telephone, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer and iron and ironing board. Residents can enjoy and unwind with complimentary use of the Spirit leisure club with gymnasium, indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna and treatment room (subject to availability). Our hotel bar and lounge offer tempting dishes from around the world and is a great meeting destination, a relaxing garden terrace can also be enjoyed at the hotel along with the lounge showing all Sky sports channels also ESPN on a 50inch plasma TV. Our contemporary restaurant is a great place to relax and enjoy our menus including the famous Holiday Inn breakfast. Hotel offers 24hr room service also. Under 12's stay and eat free when sharing a room with their parents* Terms and conditions apply. Swindon town centre is within 3 miles driving from the hotel, also the Swindon train station and McArthur Glen Designer Outlet Village. The hotel is ideally located for exploring Wiltshire's surrounding attractions, including Lydiard Park, the Royal Wooton Bassett, the Cotwolds, Avebury Stone Circle & Stonehenge, Longleat Forest and the Steam Railway Museum or for catching a game at Swindon Town Football Club in the town centre. Academy Style Meeting Rooms, 5 purpose built meeting rooms that cater for all requirements from Training Courses, Boardroom Meetings and Conferences to Weddings and Parties including Christmas Parties.Our Academy standard meeting facilities with natural daylight and air conditioning can accommodate up to 70 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Swindon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Swindon Hotel Swindon
Swindon Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Swindon Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing