We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location for motorway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Swindon
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
Rushden, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good location for motorway”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

As you would expect a standard Holiday Inn. There are baths, with a shower over. Although the shower over the bath looks dated, it is really powerful, and there are nice sized towels. Beds are comfortable and in the room there are a choice of pillows. Although website says there is a lift, there isnt one, but the staff are very friendly, and helpful and will help you with luggage if you are overloaded. Breakfast was a good spread, but was cold. There a good size swimming pool and amble parking.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor room when booking if have mobility issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Carole P

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Swindon.

We appreciate all guest feedback and will relay all comments back to the team.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Tom Gaskell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    141
    108
    68
    30
See reviews for
91
79
31
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bidford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Despite having IHG points card, which is why I chose this hotel, along with the pool availability etc. I was overwhelmingly disappointed by my stay.
Check in did not make me feel welcome at all, I had to change the dates I had planned and before I had even checked in, they said they wanted to charge more, rushed round the back into the office, came back and said they could do it, but only this time. Not the usual Holiday Inn warm welcome I must say. This was resolved (customer was right), I could check in for one night and not 2 without penalty.
Going to eat, I opted for the £25 special deal. But cannot have Guinness, steaks (OK, they are more expensive, but again am just being told NO again) and some items on the menu were not available. I went for pasta Chicken and Chillies, but the amount of chillies was totally unpalatable and the rocket lettuce was all very stringy. Not a nice experience. They changed it quickly, and fixed it with an alternative so thanks for that.
Hotel apart from that all fine, did not check out the pool etc. which was a shame. Breakfast and all other food and drink excellent. Just a shame when you check in tired expecting a welcome, the first experience was not wonderful.

Don't want to come over as poor here, just not up to the usual high standard. Sorry.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillCatherine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear BillCatherine

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Swindon,

We are sincerely sorry that your experience with us was not up to the high standards it should have been, it is important to us to give our guests the best Hotel experience and if this was not met then we can promise that this will be looked into.
If you do wish to contact myself at the Hotel and discuss this further then please don’t hesitate and I will be more then happy to discuss this with you.
Hopefully we look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Kind Regards
Tom Gaskell General Manager
tom.gaskell@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed at the Holiday Inn by booking the 2 nights B&B and 1st Night Dinner through Superbreak. Check-in was fast and efficient and we were provided the family room, as what was asked.

Pool temperature was warm and perfect for our 1 year old daugther. There isn't a steam room but sauna inside the changing room and jacuzzi by the pool.

Food was excellent, choice aplenty and very tasty. Our daugther was given colouring pencils and paper to draw which was a very nice gesture.

Breakfast was excellent, we loved the pancakes and made to order omelette plus hot chocolates!

Staff very attentive and very friendly.

Hotel is old but room was a good size and bed comfortable but bath tub might need replacement.

Will definitely stay again

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MayaHafiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear MayaHafiz

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Holiday Inn Swindon.
We are so glad to hear you had a pleasant stay with us and that all the team members looked after you during your stay. We are always grateful to guests for relaying their thoughts back to us so we are able to continue on giving great service and improving on all areas of the hotel.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Tom Gaskell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel with my family , the hotel is very old and damaged but it's the staff that makes up for it , especially to Jeanette in the morning to Luke and Craig in the evening nothing wasn't a hassle and the food was lovely 10/10 for service definitely going to stay here again !

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brown1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Brown1988,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Swindon. I am glad that the team here made your stay special I will be sure to relay your great comments to the team and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards
Tom Gaskell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Holiday Inn in Swindon over the first weekend in January 2014. We were a very large group (there were 20 of us) and all of the staff were very helpful and friendly at all times. They assisted in making it a thoroughly enjoyable weekend. Thank you to all

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gareth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Gareth W

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Swindon. I am glad that the team here made your stay special I will be sure to relay your great comments to the team and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards Tom Gaskell, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

The hotel and public areas are all fine but we arrived in bedroom and it was small; the double bed was a small double with access from one side only and the other against the wall. OK for one person but not great for two. On complaining I was told to ask for a family room; double rooms are NOT for two people at Holiday Inn

Room Tip: Ask for a family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear Camargue1,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us regarding your recent stay. I am glad you like our hotel and surrounding areas. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you encountered with the room allocation and bed type received. Our goal is to consistently provide excellent service and accommodations and your comments are highly important. Rest assured your concerns will be looked into. I appreciate your candid feedback and welcome to any opportunity to improve our hotel. We hope to provide you with a better experience in the future.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quin, Ireland
Level Contributor
132 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Handy Hotel in Swindon, close to M4 and local industrial estates.

Very friendly staff especially in restaurant, easy check in and check out, lots of parking space.

Breakfast was v good but evening meal choices are limited.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Brian m,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Holiday Inn Swindon.
We are so glad to hear you had a pleasant stay with us and that all the team members looked after you during your stay. We are always grateful to guests for relaying their thoughts back to us so we are able to continue on giving great service and improving on all areas of the hotel.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Tom Gaskell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
1.4 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 24 in Swindon
652 reviews
2.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#2 of 24 in Swindon
1,436 reviews
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#9 of 24 in Swindon
1,831 reviews
2.7 mi away
De Vere Alexandra House
De Vere Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
952 reviews
4.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Swindon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Swindon

Property: Holiday Inn Swindon
Address: Marlborough Rd, Swindon SN3 6AQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Swindon
#5 Family Hotel in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Swindon 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel in Swindon is located minutes from Junction 15 of the M4 but within easy reach of Swindon Town Centre with ample free ample free parking. Easy access to the cities of Bath, Bristol and Oxford and 1 Hr from London Heathrow. The hotel has 99 well appointed bedrooms which include 10 Executive rooms. All rooms have en suite bathrooms with shower, direct dial telephone, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer and iron and ironing board. Residents can enjoy and unwind with complimentary use of the Spirit leisure club with gymnasium, indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna and treatment room (subject to availability). Our hotel bar and lounge offer tempting dishes from around the world and is a great meeting destination, a relaxing garden terrace can also be enjoyed at the hotel along with the lounge showing all Sky sports channels also ESPN on a 50inch plasma TV. Our contemporary restaurant is a great place to relax and enjoy our menus including the famous Holiday Inn breakfast. Hotel offers 24hr room service also. Under 12's stay and eat free when sharing a room with their parents* Terms and conditions apply. Swindon town centre is within 3 miles driving from the hotel, also the Swindon train station and McArthur Glen Designer Outlet Village. The hotel is ideally located for exploring Wiltshire's surrounding attractions, including Lydiard Park, the Royal Wooton Bassett, the Cotwolds, Avebury Stone Circle & Stonehenge, Longleat Forest and the Steam Railway Museum or for catching a game at Swindon Town Football Club in the town centre. Academy Style Meeting Rooms, 5 purpose built meeting rooms that cater for all requirements from Training Courses, Boardroom Meetings and Conferences to Weddings and Parties including Christmas Parties.Our Academy standard meeting facilities with natural daylight and air conditioning can accommodate up to 70 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Swindon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Swindon Hotel Swindon
Swindon Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Swindon Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing