We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Swindon
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
The Harrow Inn(Wanborough)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (545)
Filter reviews
545 results
Traveller rating
141
175
123
74
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
141
175
123
74
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolsmall gymfamily roomlady on receptionsun innnational holidaysbreakfast staffevening mealwaiting staffpoached eggsbit datedlounge areacomfortable stayshort breakplenty of parkingtea and coffeeone night stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
328 - 333 of 545 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Hotel is dated - please give it a makeover soon! Staff are very nice. Gym and pool OK but very outdated jacuzzi. Main problem - a very uncontrollable air temperature system that meant we were boiling all night and couldn't sleep very well!!! We turned it down but it kept pumping out hot air. We could not open the windows as we were on the ground floor and would have felt insecure. Apart from that unfortunate business the food was very nice - good breakfast too. Coffee excellent. The room was very very clean.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Tehmina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear Tehmina B

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Holiday Inn Swindon.
We appreciate your feedback regarding the Hotel needing an update this is something we will be looking into for the future, we apologise for any inconvenience that was caused by the heating/air con in your room unfortunately the Hotel heating is set on a timer however this is something we will look into to see if it can be set differently. Thank you for the kind comments about the staff this will be passed on to the team and we are glad you enjoyed the food.
Hopefully you will choose us again for your next trip in Swindon.

Kind Regards
Tom Gaskell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

One night stay to attend a family birthday event nearby. Hotel is close to M4 Junction 15 and convenient for the event we needed to attend. Excellent situation and the reception staff were more than helpful. The welcome was sincere and warm. Nice clean, comfortable well equipped rooms. Our children and grandchildren enjoyed the indoor pool and sauna but with all the space at their disposal outside, a small park of some description would be a fine asset. Enjoyed the bar until late on our return from the function though the prices were a bit salty! Gave breakfast a miss (£14.95) as the nearby Sun Inn did a better deal. All said, an ideal venue for a short visit to Swindon.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Peter J

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Holiday Inn Swindon.

We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the team made you feel welcomed. We happy to hear you enjoyed the facilities during your stay and have passed on your comments about maybe having a park outside,this is something we can look into. I just wanted to say that if you were to book a room only next time we do breakfast vouchers at £9.50 all you can eat which you can receive at the front desk on arrival and the breakfasts are delicious.
Thank you again for your feedback and hopefully we will see you in the near future.

Kind Regards
Tom Gaskell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Stayed her having been booked in by work. I would agree with some of the other reviews that it is a bit old and maybe in need of some updating. However on arrival the staff were first class very polite and informative. The rooms were adequate for one and provided a very comfortable nights sleep. The hotel was clean and tidy and all staff that I came across had an excellent attitude very polite and happy to stand and chat, and this could be seen with a lot of guests. Breakfast was plentiful and filled a gap setting me up for the day, the staff were very helpful and pleasant and the management should be very pleased with the way they deal with and speak to the hotel guests.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Scranman14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear Scranman 14

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Swindon.
Thank you for your lovely comments about the staff, we pride ourselves on delivering great service to everyone who comes through the doors and always happy to hear this being recognised by our guests. We are glad you had a pleasant nights sleep and the breakfast was enjoyed. Your feedback is important to us so we can continue on delivering great service and continue to keep on improving in all aspects of the hotel.
We hope you will consider us for your next trip.

Kind Regards
Tom Gaskell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Yes the hotel is a bit tired and quite old. I've stayed here twice over the last couple of months and found the staff outstanding. Nothing is too much trouble. The well patronised restaurant has a good menu with daily specials. The food is good and reasonable value. The lounge area is a bit clinical and uninspiring but every effort is made to be friendly. The breakfast staff are particularly good, wanting to help and provide personal service. It's not the most attractive hotel in the world but good staff and management making it a good value stay.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Stephen L

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Holiday Inn Swindon.
Thank you for your kind comments about the staff, we pride ourselves on giving great service and is happy to hear that service came across to you during your stay. We will take on board the comments you have made about our lounge area and use that to try and improve on the atmosphere of the hotel.
We Look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Kind Regards
Tom Gaskell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We have had 2 stays at this Holiday inn in the last 3weeks and the service and comfort on both were first class. The reception was very welcoming and helpful. The room made up for double and sofa bed for 2 kids was fine as with all Holiday Inns the beds and bedding very comfortable; they change the pillows fix you ask to firmer or softer. We were able to use the Leisure pool which kills some time with the kids and followed by dinner. The service was the only part of the stay that let the hotel down, it was slow for the evening meal on our first stay and no better on the second stay. Other than that good price for the stays sand happy to recommend for a family.

Room Tip: We stayed on both visits on the upper floor and it was very quiet. If taking evening meal make sure to book table. If booking dinner for family then buy the hotel package dinner bed and breakfast, kids eat free and for £20 the package is excellent at £10 each adult for 3 course meal.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlisterJ_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Alister J

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Swindon.
We are so glad you were able to use all the facilities in the hotel and that your children could enjoy the pool during their stay. Its nice to hear your stay was comfortable and the staff was helpful towards your needs. I apologise for the slow service you received during your visit to the restaurant and hope this didn't spoil the rest of your stay and of course this is something we will look in to.
Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Kind Regards
Tom Gaskell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews