We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decor a bit dated, friendly staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Swindon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Swindon
Ranked #21 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
Level Contributor
156 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Decor a bit dated, friendly staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed here for a few nights as the nearby Marriott was fully booked. It wasn't too bad, but its rather an old hotel and showing its age. Staff were generally very friendly though. The room rate was comparable to the Marriott once you factored in the £16 per day internet charge; however, the in-room wifi was so slow as to be virtually unusable.

Likes:
+ Friendly staff
+ Good air con

Dislikes:
- Terribly slow internet
- Very dated décor
- Rather soulless
- Small gym
- Dark, dingy ambience in corridors

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank llyryo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear llyryo,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Holiday Inn Swindon.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and improve on these. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive. If you wish to contact me to discuss these matters then please email me at tom.gaskell@ihg.com
Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Tom Gaskell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    133
    106
    66
    28
See reviews for
88
75
30
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Beautiful stay. Staff were great and so helpful. Room was very comfortable!! Nice relaxed atmosphere in the lounge which has comfortable seating. There's a nice lake and park just across the road which was perfect for an early morning run!!

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Tony R

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Holiday Inn Swindon.

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and the team were able to meet all your needs. We thank you for your kind comments and these will be relayed back to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Tom Gaskell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melksham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

I booked the Holiday Inn on Marlborough Road as a treat for my daughters 18th as we recently lost my hubby to cancer, we wanted quality time together. I booked an exective room. The website stated this would have a mini bar, chocolates and newspaper and a seating area, robes and slippers. What we got : 1 kitkat, two small bottles of warm water, an empty mini bar, a 30p paper, 1 robe and no slippers, 1 Chair. Nice one Holiday Inn. I had to call duty manager to my room to complain. they offered us a free breakfast and reduced the price to a standard room. Ok. We booked a table in the resteraunt at 8:15pm and was asked to push that back til 8:30pm. OK. At 10pm we were STILL waiting and ended up eating luke warm hot dogs on our bed. Her birthday was ruined. Im devestated. I was told the next morning that they would be refunding the whole amount of the stay back to my card. Guess what? Not happened. You should all be ashamed of the service last weekend. I will be letting everyone I know to NEVER stay there. I am one veryy UPSET recently widowed mum. I could cry.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank claire w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Claire w

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Swindon.

We would first like to offer our sincere condolences to you and your family.
I would also like to sincerely apologise for any bad experience or discomfort you may have encountered during your stay, great hotel experience is one of our main priorities for our guests it is something we as a hotel feel strongly about and if these standards was not met then this is something that will be looked into.
All feedback we receive is greatly appreciated and It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. If you wish to contact me to discuss these matters more then please email me on tom.gaskell@ihg.com.
Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Tom Gaskell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Swindon hotels

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Hotel is well located, however the rooms are dated. The windows are old and have mould around the edges and the bathroom needs seriously modernising. The shower is like a trickle and the room is small. Food is fantastic , ate both evening meal and breakfast and could not fault it. Service was outstanding, and the main hotel and restaurant are both spotlessly clean. I Use holiday inn a lot and felt the rooms I get allocated in an express are much nicer and bigger for families. The pool is nice and gym is very very small.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Victoria E

Thank you for your review on the Holiday Inn Swindon.

We appreciate all customer feedback, its very important for us to hear what guests have to say about their stay and will use any feedback to continue on improving in all aspects of the hotel. Updating of rooms has been put forward to the Managerial team. We are glad you were able to enjoy the facilities during your stay and enjoyed the dining experience too.
We hope you will think of us again for your next trip.

Kind Regards
Tom Gaskell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

whilst not the most modern hotel in the chain do not be put off by this as the hotel was spotlessly clean and the staff, whilst relatively young, were excellent. We asked for and got a no smoking room that was entirely satisfactory and was very quiet overnight - lovely! We stayed for two night and used the bar daily and the restaurant on the second night. We found the food very good and once again the restaurant staff very good indeed. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: for a goodnights sleep well away from the bar go for a room over 200
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GordonBeasley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear GordanBeasley

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Swindon.

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the team were able to meet your every need.
Your feedback is important to us because we use that to continue on improving on all areas of the hotel and to keep providing our guests with great service.
I will be sure to relay your lovely comments back to the team.

We hope to see you again the near future.

Kind Regards
Tom Gaskell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Holiday Inn Express Swindon

For the purpose of my review bias, for the last 12 years I have stayed approximately 100 nights a year in the Intercontinental / Holiday Inn Group chain.
Date of stay 28th April 2014
My ongoing experience of the hotel is as follows:

1) Arrival is was easy using the Sat Nav and zip code address instructions
2) On arrival at the hotel the check in staff were extremely pleasant and friendly.
3) All area’s including the bedrooms where always well kept, tidy and clean
4) As other travellers have commented this hotel is starting to show area’s of wear and tear, for example whilst the room was clean and well maintained the exterior window woodwork had all but crumbled away
5) The rooms are what you would expect from a branded Holiday Inn. SEE the photos
6) There is an on site free car park
7) Breakfast is an additional fee (£14.95) however you can pre-pay on arrival by buying a breakfast voucher for the fee of £9.50. The quality of the breakfast is mediocre; catering type quality produce is used, e.g low quality frozen sausages, cheap sliced thin white bread. For £14.95 other Holiday Inn’s provide idea’s such as local sausage of the week, fresh un-sliced artisan bread etc.
8) I used the evening bar snack service and ordered a soup and chicken and chipotle baguette, I received a soup and a chicken and sweet chili dip baguette which I ate because I was hungry and it would have meant waiting 30 minutes more.
9) I used the gym facilities, which where clean, well maintained and air-conditioned ( I did not use the pool or the spa)
10) Location, The hotel is located just off the motorway, which is ideal for business and getting to the local pleasure activities by car.
11) Check out, was straight forward and hassle free.
In summary the hotel scores 7/10 for an average Holiday Inn that just needs some tender loving refurbishment.

Room Tip: Buy the breakfast voucher for £9.50 on arrival if not it's £14.95
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank theresaheadinit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear theresaheadinit

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Swindon.

We have taken your comments on board and will look at your ideas about how we can make breakfast more appealing and not mediocre. We sincerely apologise about the mistake that was made on your evening meal this is not acceptable and is something that will be looked into.
Your feedback is important to us as it enables us to use it to keep on improving in every aspect of the hotel. Your thoughts will be relayed back to the team.
We hope you will choose us again for your next trip to Swindon.

Kind Regards
Tom Gaskell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is soulless and the decor is very outdated . I was put in a smoking room on the top floor when I asked for a non smoking room. The room smelled of stale smoke and was very tired. I had dinner in the resturant and as it was quiet I had to put up with the two waiters mucking around. I also found the people on the front desk rude when checking out. I stay in Swindon for two nights a week but I will not be staying here again .

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank keelan26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear keelan26

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Holiday Inn Swindon.

We are sincerely sorry that your experience with us was not up to the usual high standards, it is important to us to give our guests the best Hotel experience and if this was not met then we can promise that this will be looked into.
If you do wish to contact myself at the Hotel and discuss this matter further then please don’t hesitate and I will be more then happy to discuss this with you.

Kind Regards
Tom Gaskell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
2.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#2 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
1.4 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
De Vere Alexandra House
De Vere Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
4.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
4.1 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Swindon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Swindon

Property: Holiday Inn Swindon
Address: Marlborough Rd, Swindon SN3 6AQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Swindon
#5 Family Hotel in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Swindon 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel in Swindon is located minutes from Junction 15 of the M4 but within easy reach of Swindon Town Centre with ample free ample free parking. Easy access to the cities of Bath, Bristol and Oxford and 1 Hr from London Heathrow. The hotel has 99 well appointed bedrooms which include 10 Executive rooms. All rooms have en suite bathrooms with shower, direct dial telephone, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer and iron and ironing board. Residents can enjoy and unwind with complimentary use of the Spirit leisure club with gymnasium, indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna and treatment room (subject to availability). Our hotel bar and lounge offer tempting dishes from around the world and is a great meeting destination, a relaxing garden terrace can also be enjoyed at the hotel along with the lounge showing all Sky sports channels also ESPN on a 50inch plasma TV. Our contemporary restaurant is a great place to relax and enjoy our menus including the famous Holiday Inn breakfast. Hotel offers 24hr room service also. Under 12's stay and eat free when sharing a room with their parents* Terms and conditions apply. Swindon town centre is within 3 miles driving from the hotel, also the Swindon train station and McArthur Glen Designer Outlet Village. The hotel is ideally located for exploring Wiltshire's surrounding attractions, including Lydiard Park, the Royal Wooton Bassett, the Cotwolds, Avebury Stone Circle & Stonehenge, Longleat Forest and the Steam Railway Museum or for catching a game at Swindon Town Football Club in the town centre. Academy Style Meeting Rooms, 5 purpose built meeting rooms that cater for all requirements from Training Courses, Boardroom Meetings and Conferences to Weddings and Parties including Christmas Parties.Our Academy standard meeting facilities with natural daylight and air conditioning can accommodate up to 70 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Swindon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Swindon Hotel Swindon
Swindon Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Swindon Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing