We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“reviews got me worried but it was good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Swindon
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I was pleasantly surprised by our trip to this Holiday Inn it was my 1st experience of Holiday Inn. price was good and the service was good. I tried for 30 minutes to order room service but no one answered the phone, I guess they were extremely busy and didn't have enough staff, but when it did arrive the food was great. the swimming pool is small but great at non busy periods. There's a lot of bad reviews on this establishment but we enjoyed our stay. just don't bother with deluxe unless you want a massive TV a complimentary bottle of water and a Kit Cat bar.. and no free wifi which was annoying. but overall good stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear David S

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Swindon,

Your feedback is very important as it enables us to continue on improving in all areas of the hotel and continue on providing great service for all our valued guests like yourself.
We are so happy you choose us as your place to stay and hope that you will think of us again for your next trip.

Kind Regards
Tom Gaskell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 526 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

OK, it's a 1960s building so it isn't pretty outside. But inside it's spotless and the staff are ridiculously helpful. Checkin was friendly and prompt. Our room was spacious and everything worked well. We slept like proverbial logs in a comfy bed and the breakfast was much more impressive than I expected for the price with cooked to order eggs, pancakes and an excellent buffet with a really friendly lady explaining where everything was. Just goes to show the value which staff could add. We'd booked early so got a great rate and would happily stay ther again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Swindoneric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Swindoneric

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Swindon.

Guest feedback is important to us so we are able to continue on improving in all aspects of the Hotel. It is always appreciated when a valued guest like yourself recognises great service, as a hotel, providing great service to every individual is one of our main priorities and so we are glad that you experienced that service during your stay.
All your kind comments will be relayed back to the team and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Kind Regards
Tom Gaskell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We didn't really choose this one: we were guests at a party held there and opted to stay over.
The hotel is old-style Holiday Inn - nice grounds; dated rooms; looking worn. BUT: opening windows! Hooray!
However, with Mel at reception, you will be greeted warmly and politely, as an IHG member you'll get a room upgrade (even if it was hard to tell the difference!) and she'll make you feel truly valued and welcome.
Later that evening I asked her to pass on to IHG our disgust at the appalling £19.95 a day wi-fi charge. Will this group not get the message that people will go elsewhere rather than submit to this insulting rip-off? As usual, eager to please the customer, Mel allowed us some free wi-fi time.
Breakfast (buy the vouchers the night before for £9.90 each) was very good indeed. Exceptional for a hotel of this class.
I noted from the party room that Mel was still smiling at everyone and working at 11.00pm, 6 hours after we arrived......The party room and catering were good, by the way;the bar prices very high.

Room Tip: We were in 143, at the end of a corridor, which was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Retyree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Retyree

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Swindon.

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. .We are so pleased that Mel went out of her way to make your stay extra special, she is a huge asset to the team and your kind comments will be relayed back to Mel and the team. I hope to welcome you back in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comments, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind Regards
Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed here for a few nights as the nearby Marriott was fully booked. It wasn't too bad, but its rather an old hotel and showing its age. Staff were generally very friendly though. The room rate was comparable to the Marriott once you factored in the £16 per day internet charge; however, the in-room wifi was so slow as to be virtually unusable.

Likes:
+ Friendly staff
+ Good air con

Dislikes:
- Terribly slow internet
- Very dated décor
- Rather soulless
- Small gym
- Dark, dingy ambience in corridors

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llyryo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear llyryo,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Holiday Inn Swindon.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and improve on these. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive. If you wish to contact me to discuss these matters then please email me at tom.gaskell@ihg.com
Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Tom Gaskell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Beautiful stay. Staff were great and so helpful. Room was very comfortable!! Nice relaxed atmosphere in the lounge which has comfortable seating. There's a nice lake and park just across the road which was perfect for an early morning run!!

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Tony R

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Holiday Inn Swindon.

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and the team were able to meet all your needs. We thank you for your kind comments and these will be relayed back to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Tom Gaskell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I booked the Holiday Inn on Marlborough Road as a treat for my daughters 18th as we recently lost my hubby to cancer, we wanted quality time together. I booked an exective room. The website stated this would have a mini bar, chocolates and newspaper and a seating area, robes and slippers. What we got : 1 kitkat, two small bottles of warm water, an empty mini bar, a 30p paper, 1 robe and no slippers, 1 Chair. Nice one Holiday Inn. I had to call duty manager to my room to complain. they offered us a free breakfast and reduced the price to a standard room. Ok. We booked a table in the resteraunt at 8:15pm and was asked to push that back til 8:30pm. OK. At 10pm we were STILL waiting and ended up eating luke warm hot dogs on our bed. Her birthday was ruined. Im devestated. I was told the next morning that they would be refunding the whole amount of the stay back to my card. Guess what? Not happened. You should all be ashamed of the service last weekend. I will be letting everyone I know to NEVER stay there. I am one veryy UPSET recently widowed mum. I could cry.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank claire w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Claire w

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Swindon.

We would first like to offer our sincere condolences to you and your family.
I would also like to sincerely apologise for any bad experience or discomfort you may have encountered during your stay, great hotel experience is one of our main priorities for our guests it is something we as a hotel feel strongly about and if these standards was not met then this is something that will be looked into.
All feedback we receive is greatly appreciated and It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve. If you wish to contact me to discuss these matters more then please email me on tom.gaskell@ihg.com.
Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Tom Gaskell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Hotel is well located, however the rooms are dated. The windows are old and have mould around the edges and the bathroom needs seriously modernising. The shower is like a trickle and the room is small. Food is fantastic , ate both evening meal and breakfast and could not fault it. Service was outstanding, and the main hotel and restaurant are both spotlessly clean. I Use holiday inn a lot and felt the rooms I get allocated in an express are much nicer and bigger for families. The pool is nice and gym is very very small.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom G, General Manager at Holiday Inn Swindon, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Victoria E

Thank you for your review on the Holiday Inn Swindon.

We appreciate all customer feedback, its very important for us to hear what guests have to say about their stay and will use any feedback to continue on improving in all aspects of the hotel. Updating of rooms has been put forward to the Managerial team. We are glad you were able to enjoy the facilities during your stay and enjoyed the dining experience too.
We hope you will think of us again for your next trip.

Kind Regards
Tom Gaskell General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
2 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 25 in Swindon
1,664 reviews
1.4 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#10 of 25 in Swindon
717 reviews
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre
4.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
4.1 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 25 in Swindon
2,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Swindon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Swindon

Address: Marlborough Rd, Swindon SN3 6AQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Swindon
#5 Family Hotel in Swindon
Price Range: £45 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Swindon 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Hotel in Swindon is located minutes from Junction 15 of the M4 but within easy reach of Swindon Town Centre with ample free ample free parking. Easy access to the cities of Bath, Bristol and Oxford and 1 Hr from London Heathrow. The hotel has 99 well appointed bedrooms which include 10 Executive rooms. All rooms have en suite bathrooms with shower, direct dial telephone, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer and iron and ironing board. Residents can enjoy and unwind with complimentary use of the Spirit leisure club with gymnasium, indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna and treatment room (subject to availability). Our hotel bar and lounge offer tempting dishes from around the world and is a great meeting destination, a relaxing garden terrace can also be enjoyed at the hotel along with the lounge showing all Sky sports channels also ESPN on a 50inch plasma TV. Our contemporary restaurant is a great place to relax and enjoy our menus including the famous Holiday Inn breakfast. Hotel offers 24hr room service also. Under 12's stay and eat free when sharing a room with their parents* Terms and conditions apply. Swindon town centre is within 3 miles driving from the hotel, also the Swindon train station and McArthur Glen Designer Outlet Village. The hotel is ideally located for exploring Wiltshire's surrounding attractions, including Lydiard Park, the Royal Wooton Bassett, the Cotwolds, Avebury Stone Circle & Stonehenge, Longleat Forest and the Steam Railway Museum or for catching a game at Swindon Town Football Club in the town centre. Academy Style Meeting Rooms, 5 purpose built meeting rooms that cater for all requirements from Training Courses, Boardroom Meetings and Conferences to Weddings and Parties including Christmas Parties.Our Academy standard meeting facilities with natural daylight and air conditioning can accommodate up to 70 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Swindon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Swindon Hotel Swindon
Swindon Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Swindon Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing