We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caution, one of the few restaurants where food is served hot”
Review of The Brewers Arms

The Brewers Arms
Ranked #165 of 449 Restaurants in Swindon
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Berkshire, England
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Caution, one of the few restaurants where food is served hot”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We have eaten in this Pub Restaurant several times, the latest on a very wet Friday evening.
A reservation is highly recommended as The Brewers Arms is extremely popular, we have had several attempts of just dropping in and been disappointed.

Check the blackboard for daily specials, I had liver and bacon this visit and my wife had sea bass. Both excellent and served piping hot. It is an Arkells Brewery pub with a wide selection of beers on tap.

The restaurant ambience is great and the service efficient without being over-bearing.

Will be back again, many times

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank English_Traveller02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    50
    28
    32
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swindon
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Birthday Treat”
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Booked for lunchtime, good service and jovial waitress, food was excellent quality and quantity, no problems with waiting or drinks orders. Nice surroundings, plenty of choices on the menu, cooked to perfection and really hot, good presentations on all dishes. Well done.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Good Country Pub”
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Situated on the High St in Wanborough. There is a large car park available and the pub serves good value food/drinks. There is an outside seating area when the weather allows. The Brewers also caters for kids birthday parties with a kitted out double decker bus named the Jungle Boogie Party Bus. This can come to you or you can come to the Brewers. This is also good value and saves the hassel of having kids parties at home.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BazzaSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely dining room- atrocious service”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We had booked the restaurant to celebrate the birthdays of two friends. we had a table of twelve which admittedly can be a challenge to wait upon. However, we accepted the offer of a later sitting to assist the restaurant. Upon arrival we were pleasantly surprised by the general decor and ambience of the dining room and the adjoining bar. After pre-dinner drinks in the bar where service was at best mixed we were directed to our table. We were then abandoned...nobody came to take orders for drinks or food. We sent an envoy to the bar and a waitress was duly dispatched to take a drink order. The drinks were then brought to the table after five or so minutes (one by one!). To cut a long story short the starters arrived after about an hour with the main courses arriving at about 10.20 some two hours after taking our seats. Repeated trips to the bar were required to chase the food and order additional drinks. The food was satisfactory apart from a monkfish and prawn dish which contained a miserly three 2p sized discs of monkfish with small prawns (shell left on tails). Despite continuous and courteous complaint we were offered a miserly £25 discount (less than a free drink per guest). This has the potential to be a great place with the right staff (number and competence). The chef shows promise but when ingredients are short he would do better to say they have run out rather than try to make a single monkfish portion stretch across three servings.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stuntkisser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Perfect - from start to finish”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

My partner and I had a very romantic dinner on Valentines day. The restaurant made a lot of effort to decorate the restaurant tastefully, white balloons, candles and crystals on each table etc, it looked beautiful.

The service was excellent, smiley, very pleasant attentive waiting staff that cleared and served each course at the exact right times.

Food was fantastic, we had the King Prawn Cocktail and a Baked Stuffed Mushroom dish for starter, the prawn dish arrived looking really fresh, loaded with tasty prawns and really fresh crisp salad. The baked mushroom seemed to have come straight out of the oven and was really, really good. Main courses consisted of a Loin of Lamb and a Stuffed Chicken dish with a yummy sauce, both came out really hot and completely spot on, our plates were clean. We shared a pudd, excellent again. We had steaming hot good quality coffee on the sofa area that's located in the restaurant.

We felt the whole establishment is very well run, you could tell the kitchen was run like clockwork, no food waiting around getting cold etc, the kitchen and waiting staff seemingly work really well as a team.

Another fantastic touch was that each lady received a white rose, I think the owner/manager brought it over, again a very pleasant welcoming individual.

We can't fault this place, they clearly made an effort to create a special evening and they succeeded. We will certainly return and look forward to it already!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DirecttheSail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Brewers Arms also viewed

 
Swindon, Wiltshire
Kempsford, Gloucestershire
 

Been to The Brewers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing