We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FAWLTY TOWERS ON A GOOD DAY!”
Review of Chiseldon House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chiseldon House
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2011

The 'hotel' was last refurbished in 1975! The stained carpet, poor shower, old TV and dated decor ensured this was a disappointing experience. To my surprise, I was charged £85 for one night - B&B only!

Room Tip: There isn't a best room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank johnmL3764YA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2011

Every now and then I happen accross a wonderful hotel that automatically goes on my list of places to return to when next in the area.
This hotel goes straight onto this list and I will definitely return when next in the Swindon area.

The hotel is spacious and elegant and I was given a large, well equipped and beautiful room with views over the grounds.
I ate in the restaurant at night and can say it was a wonderful experience, with all courses being perfectly cooked and served with panache.
My room had free and fast wi-fi and a large comfortable bed. Breakfast in the morning was excellent with quality ingredients being served. (Thankfully no cheap sausages and watery bacon here).
Prospective hotel owners / managers, should pay a visit here. These are the standards the few hotels in this price bracket manage to acheive.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2010

We first had our wedding here in 2007 and have been back every year to stay since (despite only living 20 miles away!). I'll get the only negative out the way first: probably a common feature in old buildings like this is the plumbing; it's hard to get a decent shower. But the rest of the room is fine, and we looked at several rooms when we were deciding where to stay.

Sue, the manager, was really helpful with the wedding and everything went so smoothly on the day. The food was excellent and there was a good drinks selection. The evening buffet for our wedding guests ran out but they happily cooked more without fuss and did so quickly. Breakfast was cooked fresh.

Although the above was about our wedding, we have been back a few times since and food/drinks/rooms have still been up to standard.

The gardens around the hotel are absolutely spectacular when the flowers are in bloom! Even when not, it's still relaxing and scenic.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GeoffM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnsweeney, Owner at Chiseldon House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2010

I would like to thank the author of this review for their comments and very much welcome both the negative and the positive feedback. We hope to see you at Chiseldon House many more times in the future. In response to the review we have a continuing program updating all aspects of this lovely Country House, plumbing and heating are just two areas that we are now very much on top of. We will continue to raise the standard and service of all aspects of the Hotel for many years to come and look forward to doing so. Thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2010

My family and I, along with friends, stayed at the Chiseldon House Hotel for more than a week in June and then again in July. Situated in the small village of Chiseldon that is filled with thatched-roof homes, the hotel is just south of Swindon and centrally located to tour all the great sites (London, Cotswolds, Oxford, Bath, Avebury, Cardiff), using public transportation. Bus line is just a couple of blocks away, which takes you to a walks-way to the train station. The house hotel also has superb accommodations. Every room is en-suite, clean, bright and oozing with country charm. Included is a full breakfast menu with lots of selections, served in a lovely on-site restaurant. The staff is super friendly and especially caring. At the end of our stay we all felt we were leaving "home." At only £65 single, per night (which includes breakfast), the Chiseldon House Hotel is the best place to stay in the Wiltshire area.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JJGoodell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2010

This is our second visit to Chiseldon house. We last went approximately 3 years ago. They do a deal called, free on Friday. They offer a 4 course meal with coffee for £40 per head and you get your accommodation for free, including breakfast. This offer is available on selected Friday's only.
The evening meal was exceptional and breakfast was great too. The service and friendliness of the staff was excellent. When we arrived we sat on the patio in the gardens of the hotel and our drinks from the bar were brought to us. This isn't a hotel for families but is ideal for a romantic break. This is a traditional style hotel and our room was clean but looking a little tired, for example the carpet was a little soiled in places. However this is only a minor criticism. We wanted to stop on another night, however there were no rooms available on the Saturday evening. Overall a very pleasant stay. Would I stay here again? Most definitely.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenniferTelford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2010

This hotel is so near to Swindon and the motorway and yet you don't know it. Our room was generous, the decor has a patina but was clean and interesting. The gem was the restaurant.....the food was really good with excellent service. I was mixing business with pleasure during this stay. I found this location ideal to do my business in Swindon then with my partner we headed south visit several "henges" for a cracking day out. If you are wanting to visit Swindon, and are tired of chain hotels or value peace and quiet, stay here. Being off a main road, with large grounds its a pretty safe location for children.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim_Ashton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2010

Having stumbled across your website, I felt that, as a reasonably regular customer over the last three years, I should add to the comments about Chiseldon House.

We first stayed in the hotel as part of a large group after a wedding and were well satisfied with the condition and cleanliness of the rooms. In fact, the rooms and the grounds of the hotel, and everything to do with the event made the day the most memorable in the life of the bride - as it should be! A lot of this was due to the organisational ability of the manager, Sue, whose experience was evidenced in the efficiency and care shown throughout.

We have also attended birthday celebrations and eaten lunch and dinner in the restaurant.

On all occasions, whether a formal lunch for 50, buffet for 70, or simply a routine meal, the food has been good and the service attentive. There is always a warm welcome, and the presence and involvement of the charming owners is reassuring.

Chiseldon House is a lovely building in a brilliant setting – an oasis of tranquillity – so convenient for Swindon or for an overnight break off the motorway. It must be the ideal venue for business meetings and conferences.

It is now time to arrange another birthday celebration, and we have no hesitation in returning to Chiseldon!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GregBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swindon
1.8 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
1,039 reviews
6.5 mi away
Stanton House Hotel
Stanton House Hotel
#3 of 25 in Swindon
791 reviews
7.3 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 25 in Swindon
686 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Castle & Ball Hotel
The Castle & Ball Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marlborough
647 reviews
3.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#2 of 25 in Swindon
1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chiseldon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiseldon House

Address: New Road | Chiseldon, Swindon SN4 ONE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Price Range: £93 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chiseldon House 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Chiseldon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chiseldon House Hotel Swindon
Chiseldon Hotel Swindon
Chiseldon House Swindon, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing