We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chiseldon House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chiseldon House
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
1 review
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

My husband and I enjoyed a night here with our 19month old little boy. We enjoyed every aspect of our stay and already booked our next visit. Go for food, friendly welcome and wonderful hospitality!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becdybs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    55
    32
    15
    8
See reviews for
60
53
5
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Harry and I had two nights at this very pretty hotel just south of Swindon. We were greeted by the owner Mark who is passionate about Chiseldon. He has only taken over ownership from September and has very good staff. Our room was very pretty with double aspect with lovely views over the grounds and a huge bathroom. The Dining room was very attractive and candlelit for dinner. Dinner was superb as expected as the restaurant has 2 AA Rosettes. Breakfast was equally good and thankfully served to you. So no congealed bacon etc.
Well done to Mark and his staff for providing an excellent stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harrythewriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Owner at Chiseldon House, responded to this review, 4 December 2011
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
106 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

I stayed here during a business trip, as the preferred hotel was full.

Chiseldon House is old and is in need of updating, therefore the room rate is fairly expensive for this. Reception was friendly and accomodating. The room was plesant and kept clean. There were only layers of sheets, instead of a duvet provided.

There was free wifi, which is essential when travelling.

Some minor observations:
- the TV was new, but a cheap make. It seemed to have a mind of its own, as it switched off everytime I tried to change channels.
- the water flow was weak through the shower.
- the ironing board was old, torn at the edges.

The food in the hotel was excellent. Dined for the morning and one evening was fantastic with excellent service!

This hotel is set in a rural part of Wiltshire, just off the M4, junction 15.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank stummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Owner at Chiseldon House, responded to this review, 26 November 2011
Thank you for your review. Chiseldon House is old, circa 1827 for the original building, and since we aquired the hotel we have made some updates. I'm sorry that the TV was temperamental, now I know we are addressing the issue (and have checked the other TVs), but are also pleased that you appreciated one of the other upgrades we have undertaken, the free wireless internet which is in both the public areas of the hotel as well as the bedrooms.

I'm glad you found the food excellent and we hope that you will enjoy your stay even more if you visit us next time you are working in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Frustrated with a blockage on the M4, we left the motorway and desparate for food, we followed our satnav to here. Mark Pennells bought the hotel in September and by the standard of service we received we are sure he will make it a successful venue. No request was too much for the owner, whom we had come across at The Ritz. We were so impressed we cancelled our destination hotel and stayed here instead. The bed and bath rooms were large, well furnished and comfortable. The hotel atmosphere is relaxing.
.
We look forward to our next visit. Mark has started to upgrade the hotel and has plans for an outdoor wedding venue and to improve the three acres of gardens and woodland. His main task is to make people aware of the gem he has here for business and leisure visitors alike. We wish him well.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LongleyOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Owner at Chiseldon House, responded to this review, 26 November 2011
Thank you, we enjoy providing a great and friendly service for our guests. We appreciate your review in spreading the word about our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

An excellent hotel in all respects. Friendly,attentive staff, clean, fresh rooms, delicious food eaten with a pleasant background of unobtrusive music, good value. It has the charm of a fine old country residence,well cared for . No lift.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank henry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Owner at Chiseldon House, responded to this review, 26 November 2011
Thanks for the review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san franciwco ca
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We liked it so much we stayed an extra night! Old facility, up to date in the essentials. This means huge rooms and baths; just wonderful. New owners and very attentive staff. The grounds are out of another time and magnificent. We loved it. The food, a good, solid B+. Not much else around, of if walking as we were it was a grand place to relax. My wife had a massage from a supplier out of the hotel that was heavenly.

Room Tip: Get the room with the dolphins in the bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StarCarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Owner at Chiseldon House, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
We enjoyed you staying with us; I hope the rest of your holiday was as enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We stayed at Chiseldon House Hotel whilst away on a business trip. On arrival we met the new owners who told us about their exciting plans for the hotel. However, with a comfortable room, complete with complimentary WIFI, great friendly staff and a Chef who produced a fantastic meal they do not need to do much to make this hotel stand out from the crowd. This hotel has a true country house feel, set back from the road and nestling amongst established trees and shrubs, we will definitely be back so that we can enjoy afternoon tea on the terrace and enjoy the Wisteria which wraps its self around this historic house.
Great motorway network nearby- we will be back -

Room Tip: Ask the manager and owners for their recommendations to suit your needs, this is a hotel with a pers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsP65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Owner at Chiseldon House, responded to this review, 3 November 2011
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is an exciting time for us as new owners and we look forward to seeing you both again for the afternoon tea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swindon
1.8 mi away
De Vere Alexandra House
De Vere Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
911 reviews
6.5 mi away
Stanton House Hotel
Stanton House Hotel
#6 of 24 in Swindon
665 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Pear Tree at Purton
The Pear Tree at Purton
#5 of 24 in Swindon
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 24 in Swindon
1,382 reviews
19.7 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chiseldon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiseldon House

Property: Chiseldon House
Address: New Road | Chiseldon, Swindon SN4 ONE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chiseldon House 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Hotel.de, LateRooms, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Chiseldon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chiseldon House Hotel Swindon
Chiseldon Hotel Swindon
Chiseldon House Swindon, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing