We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff, very nice stay.”
Review of Chiseldon House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chiseldon House
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Helpful staff, very nice stay.”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We only stayed one night but the room was very nice and the staff very helpful. We were begining our two week tour of Great Britian and went to Chiseldon to find a particular monument my husband wanted to visit. The manager at Chiseldon went out of his way to help us locate the monument. The House is preparing for needed renovations but is very welcoming. There isn't airconditioning (it was hot the begining of Sept.) and there isn't an elevator so be prepared for stair.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaMcK020287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John P, Owner at Chiseldon House, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad we were able to help and hope that you enjoyed the rest of your tour of Britain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    55
    32
    18
    8
See reviews for
61
54
5
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
417 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Last minute booking, Calling up on the morning to book for that afternoon I was told 'no problem'
and the manager who took the booking asked if there were any special dietary requirements, he then asked if there was a special occasion, there was not but when we arrived not only did we receive a very warm and professional welcome. We were able to choose the situation; lounge or restaurant, we also choose our table in the window. The service was excellent and we all enjoyed a well presented selection of sandwiches, cakes and both plain and fruit scones. There was a wide and suitable selection of teas however no choice for coffee.
The hotel was very clean however it does look a little sorry for it's self at the main entrance door a fresh coat of paint would help here. The ladies were not only very clean but the soap and hand cream provided was of a very good standard, delicately perfumed.
We would all go again however it is over an hour's drive away so it would only be if we were traveling through or visiting Swindon.

Room Tip: We did not stay just afternoon tea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank holiday-view23-7-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John P, Owner at Chiseldon House, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you for your review. I am so pleased you enjoyed Afternoon Tea. We will be delighted to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Went as part of a wedding party last Saturday. The hotel it'self is very accessible and well set back from the main through road. It's a shame we couldn't have spent more time in the beautiful very well kept grounds due to the uncertain weather!

The whole day was very well organised, the meal was served rather late and, although pleasant I had hoped for a little more on the plate! Hence it did seem a bit of a wait until the buffet came out (which was more than substantial).

The bar was very well run throughout the evening by two young lads, the more experienced of which was very well versed in manners and certainly knew his way around the drinks!

Despite not staying the night myself, I have heard nothing but good reviews from friends and relatives of the couple and would certainly recommend the establishment for future events.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John P, Owner at Chiseldon House, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you very much for your review and recommendation. We welcome feedback and it is encouraging to receive positive comments of our staff. I look forward to welcoming you again. Hopefully you can return when the weather is more co-operative to enjoy the grounds.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Very well run hotel not far from Junction 15 (Swindon) of the M4 motorway. It is about 3 miles from the junction, but I found it easily enough on a dark wet night.

Excellent warm and efficient greeting from the staff

The room was clean and spacious and adequately equipped.

Breakfast was very tasty!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abstract1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John P, Owner at Chiseldon House, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you very much for your positive comments. I hope we will welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Went here for a wedding last month, whilst the scenery, hotel etc was absolutely beautiful I was quite surprised with the service. We had the wedding meal quite late nearly 5pm, everyone was starving including a few toddlers that we was sat near, however when the starters came out everyone had there tomato soup, except the toddlers who weren't given anything. The couple that were by us had a 2 screaming and crying because they was so hungry and when my partner asked where there starters were the rude waitress replied said they would come out with the main? As you can imagine this was not the case. The main was a chicken breat wrapped in bacon with a sauce, fancy potatos and vegatables you had to share between 4 people (not big portions and as I explained previously everyone was starving). The chocolate mousse for desert was too rich and I also saw a lot of people leave it.

I found the staff quite rude, especially a few in particular. To add to that a few people complained of having the price of drinks changing through out tonight. This meant a few people actually left, especially as the price of the drinks were quite pricey too.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John P, Owner at Chiseldon House, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you for your review. We aim to provide high quality customer service and I apologise that we could do better to achieve the high standards we set for ourselves.
We work closely with the hosts of an event to provide a bespoke service to suit their wishes and requirements, especially on aspects of the day such as the menu and timing, to accommodate services such as photographers. Your hosts chose the menu and timings.
I am sorry you found an issue with bar prices. Human error can occasionally occur. Please point this out and it will be dealt with promptly at the time. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

From the moment I enquired about a one night stay here, I knew that it was what we were looking for. Friendly and helpful staff, especially Trevor, made us very welcome. It really is Swindon's best kept secret; so much better than the hotel chains. Both rooms were large and clean. Dinner excellent and breakfast very good. The grounds are well looked after and it is so peaceful yet convenient for the M4.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HExpectations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John P, Owner at Chiseldon House, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you very much for your encouraging feedback for our staff. We are proud to be an independent hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiltshire
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

We only dined at the hotel for a special birthday celebratory meal....we did not stay. But the service was great, food good. We then just relaxed in the hotel and grounds with tea/coffee they made us very welcome with no rush to move on whatsoever.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank joolzroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John P, Owner at Chiseldon House, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you, I am delighted you felt welcome and enjoyed a relaxing time with us. I hope we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
1.8 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
974 reviews
6.5 mi away
Stanton House Hotel
Stanton House Hotel
#4 of 25 in Swindon
751 reviews
7.3 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 25 in Swindon
656 reviews
5.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
7.4 mi away
The Pear Tree at Purton
The Pear Tree at Purton
#6 of 25 in Swindon
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chiseldon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiseldon House

Property: Chiseldon House
Address: New Road | Chiseldon, Swindon SN4 ONE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chiseldon House 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Chiseldon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chiseldon House Hotel Swindon
Chiseldon Hotel Swindon
Chiseldon House Swindon, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing