We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chiseldon House
Nearby Hotels
US$132
US$94
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jurys Inn Swindon(Swindon)(Great Value!)
US$79
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$74
US$71
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon(Swindon)(Great Value!)
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$133
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Swindon North Hotel(Swindon)(Great Value!)
US$83
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$83
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Swindon Central Hotel(Swindon)(Great Value!)
US$74
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Harrow Inn(Wanborough)
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (233)
Filter reviews
233 results
Traveller rating
100
61
39
20
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
100
61
39
20
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssorbetafternoon teafinger sandwichesscones and cakescake standjam and creamwedding meallovely afternooncountry houselovely buildinglovely surroundingsvegetarian optionslarge roomonly stayed one nightwaiting staffthe main hotelexecutive room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
158 - 163 of 233 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Spent two nights at Chiseldon House Hotel over New Year including dinner dance on New Year's Eve. No recommendation, just a 'take a chance' online booking. Fantastic stay, fantastic food, both evening and breakfasts. Room was huge and every facility, very clean. Service was superb and staff were so friendly and helpful. Will definitely re-visit some time and would recommend hotel and/or restaurant to anyone. Top place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms seem spacious - 22 in total.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John P, Owner at Chiseldon House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thank you very much for your positive comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and the New Year’s Dinner Dance. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I visited on Wednesday 1st January 2014 for afternoon tea, after reading a few negative comments I wasn't too sure what to expect, but on arrival I was blown away by the obvious refurb the place has received, very clean and modern, with a warm atmosphere. Everything on the tea was brilliant, although I was a little confused when we told our waiter we had finished, expecting him to clear the table, he replied 'that's fine' and just walked away, other than that small detail I would definitely recommend visiting for afternoon tea, it was a very enjoyable experience, I most probably will be back & would definitely recommend! Thank you

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scottkimber12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John P, Owner at Chiseldon House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Thank you for your review. We are delighted you like our recent redecoration. We have had a lot of positive feedback and are looking forward to further improvements to the property and to our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

My Wife and I visited this hotel for Afternoon Cream Tea, and had a wonderful experience, the staff were very courteous and obliging, the atmosphere good and the tea very good. Would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Did not stay overnight
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank portmannroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John P, Owner at Chiseldon House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Thank you for your kind comments which are so motivational and spur us on to further developments. We hope to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We only stayed one night but the room was very nice and the staff very helpful. We were begining our two week tour of Great Britian and went to Chiseldon to find a particular monument my husband wanted to visit. The manager at Chiseldon went out of his way to help us locate the monument. The House is preparing for needed renovations but is very welcoming. There isn't airconditioning (it was hot the begining of Sept.) and there isn't an elevator so be prepared for stair.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindaMcK020287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John P, Owner at Chiseldon House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Thank you for your review. I am glad we were able to help and hope that you enjoyed the rest of your tour of Britain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Last minute booking, Calling up on the morning to book for that afternoon I was told 'no problem'
and the manager who took the booking asked if there were any special dietary requirements, he then asked if there was a special occasion, there was not but when we arrived not only did we receive a very warm and professional welcome. We were able to choose the situation; lounge or restaurant, we also choose our table in the window. The service was excellent and we all enjoyed a well presented selection of sandwiches, cakes and both plain and fruit scones. There was a wide and suitable selection of teas however no choice for coffee.
The hotel was very clean however it does look a little sorry for it's self at the main entrance door a fresh coat of paint would help here. The ladies were not only very clean but the soap and hand cream provided was of a very good standard, delicately perfumed.
We would all go again however it is over an hour's drive away so it would only be if we were traveling through or visiting Swindon.

Room Tip: We did not stay just afternoon tea.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank holiday-view23-7-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John P, Owner at Chiseldon House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Thank you for your review. I am so pleased you enjoyed Afternoon Tea. We will be delighted to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews