We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch with a friend what a dissapointment”
Review of Chiseldon House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chiseldon House
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lunch with a friend what a dissapointment”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I did not stay at the hotel met a friend for lunch. We always meet in a hotel so that we can enjoy a good meal and then sit in the lounge for a chat and coffee afterwards. There was no lounge as such just a seating area at the end of the dinning area which was the first disappointment. The dinning area was clean but lacked any atmosphere or style. The service was poor and no attention to detail, we were given two different menus at one stage and the waiter was not sure which menu was the correct one so went backwards and forward to the kitchen on at least two occasions to check.
The food when it arrived was poor. I had fish and chips and my friend commented as soon as it arrived that she had never seen such a small piece of fish!
On looking this hotel upon the web we had hoped for better, as the web site makes it look really good.
Would we go again No.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Susanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John P, Owner at Chiseldon House, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thank you for your review and for dining with us. I apologise we fell short of our expectations and that our lounge was not available after your meal as it was being redecorated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    55
    32
    17
    8
See reviews for
61
54
5
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

On arrival at this very pretty hotel, first impressions were very good. A nice welcome and a lovely room which was very nicely decorated. The dining room was closed off for re-decoration and the lounge for a function and so 4 of us ended up having dinner in a cleared out bedroom with nowhere to go afterwards other than back to our room). The young waitress was very nice and very helpful amid her many trips up and down the stairs to the kitchens; the food itself was rather variable among our party, with some excellent dishes and some much less so. Breakfast was equally odd, with about 12 of us squashed together on a single large table, while the rest of the room stood empty. Things were much improved by the arrival of Denise Van Outen for her breakfast… brightened my day no end!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NigelG25658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John P, Owner at Chiseldon House, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thank you for your review. I apologise our recent redecoration had an impact on your stay with us, we try to keep disruption to a minimum. The dining arrangements were made with your tour company, and the single large table at breakfast was at their request. I hope you will return to enjoy our redecoration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We had afternoon tea here and were very disappointed. Firstly the hotel is being refurbished, both lounge rooms closed consequently tea was served in the dinning room. Had imagined comfy sofas and open fires. The presentation was good but the scones were cold, very cold think they may have come from the freezer that morning!! We were given cold strudel as part of the cake plate, cold pastry with a small amount of fruit filling, not nice, not strudel as I know it. It would have been nice to have a change of plate after eating our sandwiches and a cake fork, the only cutlery was a knife.
We had stayed at this hotel three years ago it had a temporary reception due to refurbishment then, we thought the hotel was very tired looking then but understood it had been updated so we thought we would give it a second chance. Three years on it's still tired, tatty looking from the outside and the same as you enter. We won't bother again, it would be better to close the hotel and get the work done then re open, at least customers may return then.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank lynda v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John P, Owner at Chiseldon House, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for your review. I am sorry your Afternoon Tea was not up to the standard you hoped for, or that we expect from ourselves. Thank you for bringing these points to our attention so we can improve on them. We always try to resolve any issues that are brought to our attention at the time. I apologise that our current redecoration impacted on your visit, we try to keep disruption to a minimum and hope when completed will give our hotel a fresh feel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Five ex-apprentices with our wives celebrated our 70th birthdays in this wonderful hotel. We had dinner in our own dining room and use of the very comfortable adjoining lounge afterwards. The hotel combines a modern main dining room and bar with the charm, comfort and atmosphere of the older part of the hotel. Staff were attentive and helpful and the food couldn't be faulted. the hotel sits in lovely grounds with super walks nearby and very accessible from the M4 J15.

Room Tip: We had a room in the older part of the hotel which was ginormous. There is a more modern wing which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John P, Owner at Chiseldon House, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your 70th Birthday Celebrations with us and hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Visited Chiseldon House Hotel on Sunday for afternoon tea, I had been given a voucher for my birthday. The dining room was lovely, very clean and modern looking with lovely windows looking out over the garden, there was a hurricane whilst we were eating which was fascinating to watch whilst sat inside in the warm!
The sandwiches were lovely, I'm vegetarian so before hand I let the hotel know and I had a substitute. The scones with jam and cream were very tasty, and the little cakes were delicious. The champagne to accompany the afternoon tea was of a very good quality.
The only thing I would add is that the room lacked a bit of atmosphere.... Just some quiet background music would have done the trick.
We are likely to return, we will probably come for dinner next time.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 185Emma185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John P, Owner at Chiseldon House, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you for choosing Chiseldon House for your Afternoon Tea. We are pleased you enjoyed the occasion and have regret that the background music was not playing at the time of your visit. Chef is pleased to help with any dietary requirements, it was considerate of you to let us know beforehand, thank you. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We recently visited Chiseldon house Hotel to meet up with some friends for Sunday lunch. When we arrived we were greeted at reception by a charming, young man who hung up our coats and showed us to a lovely, dining room overlooking attractive grounds. What struck me immediately was the room itself. It was not too large and the tables were well-spaced out and laid with immaculate, white tablecloths. Another, very nice young man escorted us to our table and served us drinks and our meal.The food was excellent, well-cooked and beautifully presented. The prices were reasonable and overall the occasion was most enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John P, Owner at Chiseldon House, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I am so pleased you enjoyed Sunday Lunch with us. We hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Spent two nights at Chiseldon House Hotel over New Year including dinner dance on New Year's Eve. No recommendation, just a 'take a chance' online booking. Fantastic stay, fantastic food, both evening and breakfasts. Room was huge and every facility, very clean. Service was superb and staff were so friendly and helpful. Will definitely re-visit some time and would recommend hotel and/or restaurant to anyone. Top place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms seem spacious - 22 in total.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John P, Owner at Chiseldon House, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you very much for your positive comments. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and the New Year’s Dinner Dance. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
1.8 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
968 reviews
6.5 mi away
Stanton House Hotel
Stanton House Hotel
#4 of 25 in Swindon
749 reviews
7.3 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
The Pear Tree at Purton
The Pear Tree at Purton
#5 of 25 in Swindon
374 reviews
2.8 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 25 in Swindon
656 reviews
5.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chiseldon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiseldon House

Property: Chiseldon House
Address: New Road | Chiseldon, Swindon SN4 ONE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chiseldon House 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Chiseldon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chiseldon House Hotel Swindon
Chiseldon Hotel Swindon
Chiseldon House Swindon, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing