We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free on Friday deal, excellent value”
Review of Chiseldon House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chiseldon House
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Certificate of Excellence
Telford
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Free on Friday deal, excellent value”
Reviewed 4 July 2010

This is our second visit to Chiseldon house. We last went approximately 3 years ago. They do a deal called, free on Friday. They offer a 4 course meal with coffee for £40 per head and you get your accommodation for free, including breakfast. This offer is available on selected Friday's only.
The evening meal was exceptional and breakfast was great too. The service and friendliness of the staff was excellent. When we arrived we sat on the patio in the gardens of the hotel and our drinks from the bar were brought to us. This isn't a hotel for families but is ideal for a romantic break. This is a traditional style hotel and our room was clean but looking a little tired, for example the carpet was a little soiled in places. However this is only a minor criticism. We wanted to stop on another night, however there were no rooms available on the Saturday evening. Overall a very pleasant stay. Would I stay here again? Most definitely.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniferTelford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    56
    34
    18
    8
See reviews for
61
58
5
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK, Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2010

This hotel is so near to Swindon and the motorway and yet you don't know it. Our room was generous, the decor has a patina but was clean and interesting. The gem was the restaurant.....the food was really good with excellent service. I was mixing business with pleasure during this stay. I found this location ideal to do my business in Swindon then with my partner we headed south visit several "henges" for a cracking day out. If you are wanting to visit Swindon, and are tired of chain hotels or value peace and quiet, stay here. Being off a main road, with large grounds its a pretty safe location for children.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim_Ashton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 February 2010

Having stumbled across your website, I felt that, as a reasonably regular customer over the last three years, I should add to the comments about Chiseldon House.

We first stayed in the hotel as part of a large group after a wedding and were well satisfied with the condition and cleanliness of the rooms. In fact, the rooms and the grounds of the hotel, and everything to do with the event made the day the most memorable in the life of the bride - as it should be! A lot of this was due to the organisational ability of the manager, Sue, whose experience was evidenced in the efficiency and care shown throughout.

We have also attended birthday celebrations and eaten lunch and dinner in the restaurant.

On all occasions, whether a formal lunch for 50, buffet for 70, or simply a routine meal, the food has been good and the service attentive. There is always a warm welcome, and the presence and involvement of the charming owners is reassuring.

Chiseldon House is a lovely building in a brilliant setting – an oasis of tranquillity – so convenient for Swindon or for an overnight break off the motorway. It must be the ideal venue for business meetings and conferences.

It is now time to arrange another birthday celebration, and we have no hesitation in returning to Chiseldon!

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GregBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2010

Thank you to all the staff at the Hotel that made our recent family weekend a great success. Both food and service were outstanding and we were made to feel very comfortable indeed. We will look forward to seeing you all again.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luvena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2009

We held our wedding here at the beginning of August and really can't fault the place.
Extended family also stayed and also had nothing but good things to say too. The fact that we had perfect weather after a very unsettled week was obviously a big bonus but overall the hotel made the day for us.
The grounds are beautiful and the relaxed atmosphere was ideal for our smallish wedding (32 people). The food was of a very high standard and the service was also good. Everything we asked for both before and during the day was met with friendly and helpful responses - nothing was too much trouble.
Our room was beautiful and our guests were perfectly happy with theirs too. Most importantly we were able to relax and enjoy the day because the venue and staff made it so. Isn't that what weddings should be about?
We would definitely recommend the Chiseldon House Hotel to anyone but especially travellers who want a relaxing time with good service, great food and beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SwindonMrsM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2009

We stayed at this hotel for a family wedding and expected it to be pretty good, their web page and prices certainly indicated so, how wrong could we be.
Chiseldon House Hotel say about their accommodation....... "Bedrooms each with a superb bathroom in which to unashamedly pamper yourself" Since when can you say this about a bathroom that has NO HOT WATER? There was a note by the sink to run the shower head in the bath for a few minutes to clear any air locks in the pipes, I did this for 20 mins and not a drop of hot water came out. so then had a cold shower, the sink was even worse as no water at all came out of the hot tap. The room also smelt musty and damp.
The full English breakfast was indeed hot but that is about the best I can say for it, it was tasteless, cheap quality and greasy.
We stay in many hotels every year from budget to 5 star, Chiseldon House has been the worst, its overpriced for what it is and needs a major refit.
JS/JN Bristol

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JS-JN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2009

I know this hotel has had a good reputation in Swindon in the past, but I stayed for the first time yesterday, for a family wedding which had booked the whole hotel. The situation is fine, the grounds beautiful and the front part of the hotel - a stone built Regency house - handsome and with nice interiors. The big modern wing at the back looks shabby from the outside, but the decor and general standard of the public areas within is fine. The food (both the reception dinner and breakfast) was generally good - I didn't hear anyone complain. My room was an attic one in the old part of the building. It smelt a bit musty and although it looked clean enough, the decor and furniture weren't up to standard - definitely shabby. Given the pricing (£70 for single room, about 90-120 for doubles) I would expect a lot better.

The worst factor (for everyone, not just me) was the plumbing. Only a few people got a hot or warm shower, many of us, me included, could get no hot water out of the shower, and NO water at all out of the hot tap to the basin. So cold water in the basin or a cold shower were my only options. Yes there was the laminated sign saying to put the shower head in the bath and run the water for a while to release pressure in the system - after 10 minutes there was no sign of hot water and I gave up.

The groom and best man had to borrow someone else's room to shower before the service. The antiquated plumbing was the talking point over breakfast. There should have been a riot at checkout but being English we meekly shut up. Now I regret it. Hot water and plenty of it is a basic necessity, and one that all hotels I've visited in the last two decades have managed without problem. Chiseldon House should close for a month and get the plumbers in.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adfbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
1.8 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
999 reviews
6.5 mi away
Stanton House Hotel
Stanton House Hotel
#4 of 25 in Swindon
765 reviews
7.3 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
2.8 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 25 in Swindon
670 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Pear Tree at Purton
The Pear Tree at Purton
#5 of 25 in Swindon
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chiseldon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiseldon House

Property: Chiseldon House
Address: New Road | Chiseldon, Swindon SN4 ONE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chiseldon House 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Chiseldon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chiseldon House Hotel Swindon
Chiseldon Hotel Swindon
Chiseldon House Swindon, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing