We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice restaurant”

Goddard Arms Restaurant
Ranked #117 of 454 Restaurants in Swindon
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Situated in the heart of Swindon's Old Town, The Goddard Arms in an old converted Coaching inn, with some great period features, history and character. There is a bar and restaurant serving food and drinks all day, as well as limited free parking. The hotel was refurbished in November 2016 giving all rooms a flat-screen TV, en suite bathrooms and tea/coffee making facilities. Free Wi-Fi is also available in all rooms and the bar area. Children are welcome in the bar/restaurant areas until 7pm
Reviewed 9 November 2012

I went to the The Goddard Arms on Thursday 1st November 2012 with my wife and fifteen year-old son.
The pub part of this hotel serves real ale and typical pub food. The meals and desserts we had were very nice. All the staff that we met were friendly.
We tried to go back again on the Friday night at seven thirty but this time we were stopped by the friendly security guard, who explained that we could go in for a meal, but would have to be out by nine. He also explained that no pub in Swindon Old Town would let us in at seven thirty with a teenager. Little does he know that The Wheatsheaf Alehouse did! The staff here were also very friendly.
What is it with this country that makes you feel like lepers if you want to go in some pubs with teenagers. Go anywhere else in Europe and children and teenagers are always made to feel welcome.
Will definitely go back to the The Goddard Ams next time we’re in Swindon. Before nine o’clock though!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank timtomted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

151 - 155 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2012

Goddard is a fantastic bar area in the Wood Street area of Old Town. I know it more for a night time venue but have used it as a daytime eating place.

The nightime venue is great, a hapy mix of 20, 30, 40, 50, 60 year olds all having fun. .... and maybe some 70 year olds too..... a place to start the night off without a doubt on a Saturday night. Always busy and be prepared to queue after 10pm. Good service, and abundance of staff will keep you going at the bar. Big smoking area at rear of premises with the usual umbrellas and seating with heaters etc.
The daytime eating is the usual - nothing special but nothing to complain about either, the kind of food that can be got anywhere I think (sorry guys!!)..... there is also rooms available, I have no idea where they are in the property, maybe it would be noisy esoecially at weekends.... so i apologise as i'll be one of the people helping the noise levels on a Saturday night!!! ;-)

Thank donnie1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Have been to the Goddard Arms at least half a dozen times and haven't had a bad meal yet. The prices are very reasonable and they often have special deals like buy one get one free!! The curry nights are very good as well

Thank rachael b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Well, living around the corner, have been here lot since its refurbishment.

Started off well,but is now very random in the service and food quality you receive.

yesterday, got there early (12.15), for lunch. ordered very soon, as we know it gets busy.
Rightly, go warned of a 20 min wait. No problem.

50 mins later, our 18month was getting too hungry for us to ignore.
asked where our food was - and was told it was late due to being busy - explained that the wait was suggested as being 20mins, not 50 mins.

I pointed out that people arriving after us had been served before us.
Was then told that it was because we'd ordered grill food, and they only have a small grill.
My response was to highlight that we ordere burgers, the people served before us had also ordered burgers.

realised this teenager was not going to give me a proper answer, so spoke to the manager.

he said it was because they had 100 people in for food - my response was there was only 10 in when we ordered, and why not refuse after 50 if you can't handle 100.

at this point every table, about 6, in our part of the pub had been served, event though we had ordered before they'd arrived.

Pointed this out to the manager, who then spoke to the chef.
New excuse was our food had been brought out, to the wrong table, and they had therefore needed to cook it again.

if this was the truth, why not have told us of the delay earlier, not wait until we complain and then fob us off with crap excuses?

As stated in the other review, this is poorly trained teenage staff, and as the manager admitteded, a chef and manager who don't communicate.

This would have been so bad, but it was a xmas lunch with my parents who we see every 9 months, and they had travelled 100 miles. So it's not about the lack of food, but rather the sad, wasteful experience.

In summary, if you're hungry, or with people that are special, I'd consider not risky Goddard Arms.

1  Thank WeGiveIn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goddard A, Manager at Goddard Arms Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Goddard Arms Restaurant also viewed

Swindon, Wiltshire
 
Swindon, Wiltshire
Swindon, Wiltshire
 

Been to Goddard Arms Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing