We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Evening Meal for 2”

Goddard Arms Restaurant
Ranked #111 of 446 Restaurants in Swindon
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Situated in the heart of Swindon's Old Town, The Goddard Arms in an old converted Coaching inn, with some great period features, history and character. There is a bar and restaurant serving food and drinks all day, as well as limited free parking. The hotel was refurbished in November 2016 giving all rooms a flat-screen TV, en suite bathrooms and tea/coffee making facilities. Free Wi-Fi is also available in all rooms and the bar area. Children are welcome in the bar/restaurant areas until 7pm
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Evening Meal for 2”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Ok so it was my birthday this week, decided on an evening meal at the Goddard's, can't say I've really paid it much attention before despite living in Old Town for many years. My better half had a risotto and I had a a beef pie. Can't fault it, staff were very attentive, Ale's were obviously well looked after and we'd eat there again. Pub is clean, toilets are acceptable and we enjoyed my birthday meal.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roland G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    46
    26
    21
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Please open again soon ...”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Ok, they cloased it for now, we're missing it, and hoping apart from decoration refresh the old place will remain with the same staff and well priced drinks for Old Town. A visit or a stay over is all good. I put up a few work colleagues here "small room, but great beer, food, breakfast and enjoyed their night" Nice social venue, sports TV (hope remains) good ale choice (hope remains)
So, old saying is, if it aint broke... Lets hope when it re-opens end of March 2014 The Goddards remains a 'nice place to visit'!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank sibrown1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“diy food”
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

A cheap teatime midweek meal. I ordered cheese and bacon burger with added jalepenos.
It arrived a bit slower than expected.
Burger was quite well done, still moist.
But the jalapeños were in a paper cup on the side.
And so was the cheese.!? Runny cheese as though it had come from a pump/tub.
The bacon wasnt in a paper cup, the bacon was no where to be seen!

So, my advice, on a quiet midweek time at Goddard arms, don't go for complex meal choices such as cheese and bacon burgers.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank WeGiveIn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Handy if you want to stay in Old Town”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Been there twice now and find it ok as its near the best clubs and pubs in Old town, drinks are a bit pricey but I like the facilities nearby and they have a great outdoor seating area, lovely in the summer and attracts all ages. The staff are very helpful which is always a bonus..

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monkeybiz2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch - wot no carvery”
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We often go to the Goddard for the Sunday carvery as it's good value, tasty and, as always, with the Goddard it's a nice friendly pub atmosphere. Apparently, the Goddard has been bought by Yates and obviously things will change. Hopefully, the food is high on their list of priorities. My dried up burnt lasagne came with undercooked chips, salad consisting of lettuce leaf and thick cut pink coleslaw. My husband's Hunters Chicken was dry, topped with congealed cheese and dry bacon pieces. Is it so hard to get microwaving wrong! Oh, for the days of cooked on the premises and grilling. The food has generally gone downhill over the years we have visited, but this was awful.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 174Eileen174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Goddard Arms Restaurant also viewed

 
Swindon, Wiltshire
 

Been to Goddard Arms Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing