We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“biker night ”

The Crown At Broad Hinton
Reserve with OpenTable
The Crown At Broad Hinton is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 434 Restaurants in Swindon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$22
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, View, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: OPEN ALL DAY EVERYDAY - FOOD ALL DAY EVERYDAY - ACCOMMODATION AVAILABLE NESTLED IN THE HEART OF WILTSHIRE'S BEAUTIFUL COUNTRYSIDE Clare and Tony would like to welcome you to The Crown at Broad Hinton, Bar, Restaurant and Guest House, where you can enjoy traditional pub food and luxurious accommodation in a relaxed, comfortable and stylish location just 4-miles outside Swindon. For dining choose between the main restaurant or the oak-beamed library room, both ideal for a quick bite, business lunch or special event. We also offer a range of single malts, herbal teas and locally roasted coffee to drink in or take away.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“biker night ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

fun and nice place yo be and a good place and safe for people to see all the bike that show up to see

Helpful?
Thank ga7eth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony-The_Crown_Inn, Owner at The Crown At Broad Hinton, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Hi

Thank you for your brief but concise review, we love our bike meets - hope to see you again soon!

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    85
    25
    16
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sunday Roast”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Been there 3 times recently for a Sunday dinner. On the First visit we had the roast beef...the Yorkshire pudding was burnt, along with the potatoes and the meat was dry.
We thought we'd give it the benefit of the doubt due to the excellent outside layout and found the food to be much better no charred food to be had!....Third visit today....burnt Veg and potatoes!...won't be back, which is a shame as the set up is really good. Overall a bit pricey for burnt food!...The staff were good.

Helpful?
2 Thank mdh030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony-The_Crown_Inn, Owner at The Crown At Broad Hinton, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Hi Mark

Thanks very much for your review, we listened to your comments regarding the Carvery and have introduced the following changes to improve things:

1. Vegetables are now served in Chaffing dishes - we figured after some playing around that our dishes were being heated too heavily from the carvery under-plate elements so by raising these up on to Chaffing dishes the sustaining heat is softer.

2. With regards to the Yorkshires and potatoes - we are having a new oven installed in the next week, we were experiencing many issues with even heat in the current oven and this 'hot spot' problem was exacerbated on a Sunday due to having to cook large volumes, burnt potatoes and veg isn't acceptable and we will keep a close eye on this so it does not happen again.

We hope you do join us again, on a Sunday, for a Carvery so you can see the changes you inspired in action!

Cheers

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A passing visit for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We popped in for something for lunch on a Saturday afternoon. The place was quiet and we were pleasantly welcomed by the manager. The pub itself is large, well spaced out and nicely decorated. The food was good but the waitress serving was clearly very young and new and found it hard to take the correct order.

It was easy to see how much effort the manager was putting in to make a success of the place. If I lived nearer I would definitely go back again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ollythinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony-The_Crown_Inn, Owner at The Crown At Broad Hinton, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Hi

Thanks for your review, we are lucky with our location and are indeed putting all our efforts in to bring the pub back to its former glory, trade and appearance.

Thank you for your feedback regarding your service, since your comment we have now introduced a menu test for new and existing staff so that we can make sure they are comfortable with the menu before dealing with customers.

We hope to see you back again soon.

Thanks

Tony + Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A bike friendly pub with excellent food and a warm welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I've been here a few times now and find the welcome always warm and a very friendly atmosphere. A coffee, beer or meal, pleasant surroundings with a large quiet rear garden next to the fish pond.
It hosts a bike meeting on a Monday evening which gives an interesting and lively evening. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony-The_Crown_Inn, Owner at The Crown At Broad Hinton, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Hi

Thank you very much for your review, we love our bike meets on a Monday and as you say they do make things buzzing.

Hope to see you again soon.

Thanks

Tony + Clare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Could be so much better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Nice location, pub looks very nice, beer great, wine great value for money. Staff do a decent job. The menu looks good but the food fails to deliver. Burnt burger and sub MacDonald skinny, tasteless "fries" blew all the positive attributes out of the water. I could have understood if the place was bursting at the seams but as in addition to us there were two other people there I cannot put it down to pressure,

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank moonrakerSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony-The_Crown_Inn, Owner at The Crown At Broad Hinton, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Hi moonrakerSwindon

Thank you for your review and my personal apologies for your experience. I wanted to let you know what I have done with your feedback:

I have spoken with the kitchen staff from the time of your visit and given them the comments regarding the burger and the fries.
I've asked that the checking of all dishes be just as rigorous whether it be a chef's signature dish or a simple burger and fries - I'm confident in saying this was a one-off mistake.

We do strive very hard to provide high quality dishes at good value, thank you for your positive comments acknowledging the aesthetics, the beers quality and the service.

I hope you'll give us another try and find confidence in the response that your experience was a one-off by reading other reviews.

If you do come again please make yourself known to me (Tony) so I can deliver my apology in person and oversee your visit. I'm at the pub Thursday night through to Monday evening as I work a second job in London mid-week.

Kind regards

Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crown At Broad Hinton also viewed

 
Wroughton, Swindon
 

Been to The Crown At Broad Hinton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing