We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel in a quiet location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Pear Tree at Purton
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Certificate of Excellence
Leintwardine, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Good Hotel in a quiet location”
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Stayed for 2 nights DB & B. Dinner in the conservatory was very good. Lovely views over the gardens. The Hotel is clean and comfortable. My only complaint was that the shower over the bath was positioned in such a way that the bathroom floor got soaking wet every time we showered! Other than that - no problems. The bed was lovely and very comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    81
    25
    11
    5
See reviews for
71
179
7
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2011

A lovely spacious and very clean room (Executive Twin), tea and coffee tray, complimentary newspaper, sherry, fruit, shortbread, pear drops, flat screen tv, alarm clock and dvd player, extremely comfortable beds and seating in the room. Lovely conservatory restaurant serving ample breakfast of choice and delicious modern meals at dinner. Lovely welcome and helpful staff. Beautiful grounds. A most restful and relaxing break. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catherinedagnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

I stayed at this hotel for one night. I was rather looking forward to the experience, given the hype surrounding this hotel, and the fact that I do not get away on my own very often! I paid 134 inc breakfast.

I must say on my mistake I booked the wrong night, which I fully take responsibility for, but I was a little disappointed with my room and its location. I assume I was given a room in a new part of the hotel, the view from my window was scruffy and disappointing and I was awoken by the sounds of the occupants in the next rooms' bathroom habits. There was no tea and coffee facilities in the room, hairs in my bath and to be honest I did not bother with breakfast.

So all in all, a disappointing experience, I would suggest a room in the main house, or request a garden room. It is a little dated too, the decor in the main areas needs an overhaul. Not value for money, should have stayed at Blunsdon.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yeovil1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2011

This is a delightful hotel in pleasant grounds at the northern corner of Wiltshire not far from Swindon. Our family met up for a weekend together and we enjoyed the location, the surroundings, the newts in the pond, the wild flowers growing on the slope in the garden and further up the garden: the conservation area, the beehives and the vines.

We were lucky with the weather and were able to sit together for meals in the light and airy conservatory or take tea outside in the sunshine. Breakfasts were excellent, and the dinners were quite good though one or two people felt that the reality did not always match the promise on the menu. Service is friendly. The rooms vary in size from snug to more generous and are well appointed - with complimentary bottles of water each day.

We enjoyed our stay and the general view was that this would be a good hotel to return to next year.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ant42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2011

My husband and I, together with eight friends, have just returned from a very enjoyable weekend at 'The Pear Tree'. From the moment we arrived, the staff were friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. The evening meals were of a very good standard and the setting for them lovely - in a large candle-lit conservatory. The breakfasts were also very good and were plentiful and well-cooked. We all agreed that 'The Pear Tree' was one of the nicest and most welcoming hotels we have stayed in.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2011

Due to flooded house, I stayed here for 2 weeks with 5 (well behaved) dogs. It was a delight. Caring staff with nothing too much trouble, great food, linen napkins, dog towels, dogbowls, extra sausages etc.. Late return after dinner was no problem a huge sandwich delivered with trimmings to room.
Acres of grounds to walk dogs safely off lead. Housekeeping thoughtful, restaurant food excellent, roaring fires, great ambiance. Little things count when homeless, this place delivered. Excellent value too.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tollersal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

We enjoyed a great stay at The Pear Tree in Purton and thoroughly liked the rooms, service and food. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left we where greeted and treated with amazing service.

We stayed in two king rooms and it was perfect. Very spacious rooms with large windows and a door leading onto a balcony with stairs leading off into the extensive grounds. Inside the room a large chaise longue, flat screen television, free Wi-Fi and the absolute highlight, a large spa bath, perfect for unwinding. The housekeeping was to a very high standard and the satsuma’s and pear drops in the room on arrival was a nice touch.

The location was lovely. Beautiful grounds (covered with light snow) and you could even see the occasional deer wander in the grounds.

We enjoyed a excellent dinner which was wonderful and yet again, nothing was too much trouble for the staff.

This was really a wonderful stay and worth every pound. Thank you everyone at The Pear Tree. We will certainly be back !

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marko76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
3.9 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
5.5 mi away
Stanton House Hotel
Stanton House Hotel
#4 of 25 in Swindon
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
997 reviews
3.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 25 in Swindon
1,492 reviews
2.0 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 25 in Swindon
1,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pear Tree at Purton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pear Tree at Purton

Property: The Pear Tree at Purton
Address: Church End, Swindon SN5 4ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pear Tree at Purton 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pear Tree at Purton provides the perfect place to stay, whether it is for a romantic getaway or a place to rest your head before a business meeting in nearby Swindon.Set in 7.5 acres of gardens, which include a wildflower meadow and a vineyard, it is a perfect rural setting to relax and unwind. Yet we are only 10 minutes away from Swindon and Junction 16 of the M4. We specialise in celebrations, from special birthdays to groups of old friends meeting up. Let us know what you are after and we will come up with a fantastic schedule to suit you all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Pear Tree at Purton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pear Tree At Purton Hotel Swindon
Pear Tree At Purton Swindon
The Pear Tree At Purton Swindon, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing