We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Looking forward to going back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pear Tree at Purton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Pear Tree at Purton
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Looking forward to going back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

We have just booked another weekend with our extended family at the Pear Tree - it is great to know that you are going to be looked after with the usual exceptional hospitality.
Wonderful grounds, friendly team of staff, the owners are ever present and tasting + interesting food.
Highly recommended

Room Tip: you can get a room that has an adjoining suite that is perfect if you have a couple of kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    79
    23
    11
    5
See reviews for
68
176
7
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herts
Level Contributor
75 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013 via mobile

The hotel itself is a lovely building, has beautiful grounds and is in a nice rural location.

My recent visit was with a friend of mine and we had booked a twin room. Upon being shown our room, the beds were together as if a double. Not the end of the world perhaps but a bit annoying. What's more annoying though is being told by the staff member (and having to) rearrange the beds ourselves. Surely the guests shouldn't have to do this?!

Dinner and breakfast were both of good quality but its the little things that let this hotel down. An inability to get the newspaper order right in the morning and staff who don't have the guest as top of their priority list, two of the minor irks.

Overall, it's a nice place and I wouldn't put anyone off staying there but there are easily fixable things that this hotel could do with putting right.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crowgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

We spent the night on 15th February with dinner. Dinner was exceptional, old time favourites with a modern twist, waiting staff were excellent, and made an great meal even more special, special mention to maitre d' Justin, whose mix of proffesionalism and fun top the evening. Ann and Francis (the hosts) were the personification of charm itself, the bar lounge and library were wonderful locations for pre and post dinner drinks. The pigeon breast is worth trying, as is the star anise parfait.

The room had a wonderful view of the garden, and was very comfortable, touches such as the home-made shortbread making it very much an experience.

My partner booked this for a surprise Valentine's treat, and it was a wonderful surprise, very gay-friendly place to stay.

PS The church is very much worth a visit

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, England
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013 via mobile

Visited here this weekend with family and friends for lunch on Saturday. We didn't stay at the hotel so I can't comment on hotel rooms or facilities and this review is just about the meal. I did spot and make use of the free wifi though ;-)
We arrived after the other four people, and were shown to the bar area to meet. Menus were brought over so that we could choose what we wanted and order, whilst we sat in the bar. The lunch menu offered a choice of one, two or three courses, and coffee at the end if you wanted. A set price for each, that was really reasonable!
Everyone had starters, except me, and all were beautifully presented. The main courses, whilst a good selection on the menu, ended with everyone opting for two of the choices - fish pie / slow braised beef. The beef was fantastic, cooked for hours and beautifully tender (could have done with some side dishes or potatoes though!)
The desserts were superb too, all six of us choosing something different - and all clear plates at the end. I think my only disappointment was that no one came back to top up empty glasses throughout the meal. Would have been nice to have been asked instead of sat with a whole table of empty glasses and just a jug of water left.
We did have a lovely lunch though, the food was excellent and we enjoyed the fact that we weren't rushed throughout the meal.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank KatrinaStamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
356 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

Having booked in advance for afternoon tea, as per the instructions on the hotel's website, we were very disappointed with the quality of the food. The website requires one to "book at least 24 hours in advance as everything is made freshly". It didn't seem that way on our visit. The scones were dry and rubbery with a texture similar to that of stale part-baked ciabatta bread - I suspect something had gone wrong with the recipe; I've never had scones like this before. The pear tart presumably had a frangipane filling but it was very dry and there was no almond flavour. The pear had been poached in some sort of spiced liquid, the flavour of which was not to my taste. The cream was of the spray can variety rather than clotted or thick double. The jam was a bit congealed in the pot. The lemon cake had a good flavour but it was a bit dry. The sandwich fillings were uninspiring: ham and pickle, cheese and tomato, egg and cress on supermarket-style sliced bread. My coffee was luke warm when it arrived. Not what I've come to expect from the Pear Tree over the many years that I've been a regular customer. Let's hope dinner next week is better or I shall be looking for somewhere new for our next outing.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BlackAmber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level Contributor
390 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

Having stayed and dined at the Pear Tree previously we expected a fantastic quality lunch and wines..........that was exactly what we received. The food was imaginative, well prepared and presented. The Winter menu venison and pheasant were excellent.

The staff were very attentive yet discrete so all in all the 14 people who sat down for lunch were well satisfied.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotinEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012

We have just returned home following another superb meal at The Pear Tree along with our friends.

The welcome received on arrival is always warm and friendly and sets the tone for the evening nicely, it is lovely to be shown to the lounge for pre-dinner drinks whilst considering the various options available for each course.

The chef is very accommodating and flexible in respect of menu choices, tonight for example allowing me to choose from the lunch menu during dinner service. The staff are very knowledgeable about the food available and are very discrete.

The hotel was tonight clearly very busy however this did not affect the service.

The food was fantastic, the bread was served warm and we somehow managed to eat each of the many courses in between conversation.

Our waiter upon noticing that I am a vegetarian quickly offered to replace the intermediary course of salmon for melon which I greatly appreciated.

It was a lovely visit and we really enjoyed introducing two of our friends to the Pear Tree for an elegant dinner, thank you to all of the staff for being so great at your jobs and for making the Pear Tree the special place that it is.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xboxcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
5.6 mi away
Stanton House Hotel
Stanton House Hotel
#6 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
6.2 mi away
De Vere Alexandra House
De Vere Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
3.9 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#2 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
2.0 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,633 reviews
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pear Tree at Purton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pear Tree at Purton

Property: The Pear Tree at Purton
Address: Church End, Swindon SN5 4ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pear Tree at Purton 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pear Tree at Purton provides the perfect place to stay, whether it is for a romantic getaway or a place to rest your head before a business meeting in nearby Swindon.Set in 7.5 acres of gardens, which include a wildflower meadow and a vineyard, it is a perfect rural setting to relax and unwind. Yet we are only 10 minutes away from Swindon and Junction 16 of the M4. We specialise in celebrations, from special birthdays to groups of old friends meeting up. Let us know what you are after and we will come up with a fantastic schedule to suit you all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Pear Tree at Purton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pear Tree At Purton Hotel Swindon
Pear Tree At Purton Swindon
The Pear Tree At Purton Swindon, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing