We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night Stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Pear Tree at Purton
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Night Stopover”
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

What a great experience. The bedroom was cosy, comfortable and spotlessly clean. All the staff were friendly, accommodating, and made us feel very welcome. Dinner was excellent, so we looking to breakfast and weren't disappointed.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chrisali1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix Y, Manager at The Pear Tree at Purton, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review, we're delighted your enjoyed your visit and hopefully we'll see you again soon.
Many thanks
Alix Young
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    81
    24
    11
    5
See reviews for
70
178
7
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wroughton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Beautiful old building with lots of character and generally very good, personal service. We stayed for one night dinner bed and breakfast (£195) to have a break from our toddler, didn't travel far. They lit the fire for us in the library when we arrived - nice gesture. Library well stocked with books, games and papers. Bedroom well stocked with snacks, dressing gowns (advertised rubber duck missing though!).

However the room we had (Kibblewhite) whilst having lovely views of the grounds, was relatively small and furnished with disappointing 'Travelodge' style furniture. Our main problem was that we had specifically requested a quiet room - and the one we were given was directly over the entrance to the restaurant which was noisy until past 10pm - and we were woken up later by our neighbours. When we checked out the response was 1) we could have tried to move you to another room - sorry we were in our pjs at that point! and 2) we can't control the noise people make in our restaurant. They also suggested that we should have come on a Friday or Sunday nights as they are quieter - well, maybe you should have told me that when I booked a quiet room. They were not really very sympathetic, we specifically came away for peace and quiet and were very disappointed.

Regardless of the noise issues we had, we felt it was very overpriced given the quality of the room we had.... and they really did squeeze every penny out. I made a cup of tea in our room and took it down to the library to enjoy the fire, and they asked if they could bring me some more tea. I said yes please.... when I checked out I found they charged me £3 for it. Which at £195 db&b, and when I had a cup in my hand already when they offered, was a bit cheeky!

Another minor quibble, I had originally requested the 4 poster room but then at their request, we agreed to let another couple have it as they had stayed there before and it had a lot of meaning to them ... which I thought was pretty generous, given its such a rare treat for us to get away with a toddler now. You would think that would be worth a complimentary cup of tea, wouldn't you?! Anyway the room we were given instead was nowhere near as luxurious as I would have expected.

Food in the restaurant was good - not exceptional but very nicely presented with very good service and lovely setting. Good wine list with interesting options at all price points.

The highlight of our stay was a very leisurely breakfast - lots of food choices, again very good service, and locally sourced food - looking out over the beautiful grounds.

Room Tip: Kibblewhite - whilst having lovely views of the grounds - was relatively small and furnished with di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AL0z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix Y, Manager at The Pear Tree at Purton, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on here, we always appreciate feedback. I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your visit as much as we would have hoped. The room you were allocated was the quietest available as we had a large group of people in our function room that evening, many of whom were also staying over and we placed you in a room as far away as possible. While we don't allow Christmas parties with music/discos precisely because they disturb other guests, we are hesitant to turn away large group bookings during the run up to Christmas. Because we knew there was a large group when you booked, we already gave you a discount on the room.

I understand your comments about tea and we provide the complimentary tea and coffee facilities in the room for guests to enjoy. If however you would like a pot of tea served to you in our public areas, in front of the original fireplace for example, this does come at a cost.

The room you were in is part of the original vicarage and so has many features that you won't find in our other rooms including the original windows overlooking the grounds, unfortunately this does mean it is not a 'built for purpose' square room and some of the furniture has to be specifically built for the room.

I'm glad you enjoyed your meal and breakfast and we do hope that you will visit us again soon.

Many thanks
Alix Young
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This was a thoroughly enjoyable treat and a fitting silver anniversary celebration. When you come to the Pear Tree it feels special. The staff are friendly and welcoming. The theatre of sitting in a reception lounge to have a drink whilst you choose from the menu is relaxed, only being called through when your table is ready. The menu is varied and interesting. The food elegant and tasty. The set price keeps the diner in control of the bill. All that remains is to find another excuse for a celebration.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamo6244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix Y, Manager at The Pear Tree at Purton, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
We're all so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent meal with us. All our staff take a look at the reviews and it really does make a difference to us to know when people have a wonderful time.
We hope to see you back again soon.
Many thanks
Alix Young
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a mid-week two night stay 13 years after our last visit here. The first time was a bleak January weekend so we were unable to explore the gardens or nearby walks. The Autumn seemed a good time to come back. We weren’t disappointed; our fond memories came flooding back as we walked in the front door. We were met with a warm welcome and an escort to our room. It seemed familiar, it was the one we were in before. As it was a bright autumnal afternoon, to make space for our evening meal we headed off for a stroll through the gardens and the circular 1.9m route. It is worth doing if you want to get a glimpse of the local area and the scenery was stunning (for us townies). Our first evening dining experience was excellent. Our waiter, Justin, was very attentive, serving us drinks and canapés in the bar, and when he led us to our table it seemed familiar, it was the one we sat at before. The food was of excellent quality, and after dinner we chose to have coffee in the library. Justin had lit the open fire and he set the table directly by it. He waited on us for the rest of the evening and as we had the library to ourselves he made us feel special. After a peaceful night, breakfast next morning was plentiful and to a good standard. Fully charged, and with the weather being bright and sunny, our plan was to explore the Cotswolds Water Park. A 15 minute drive from the hotel, we set out on a 3 hour circular walk that took in the most incredible views and wildlife. We returned to the hotel for afternoon tea, deliberately missing lunch to make space for it. After ensuring no crumb was left, we decided to head out again for the 1.9m route to walk it off, and take in the last of the sunshine. The evening meal that night was even better than the previous one. Justin used his initiative and surprised us with a different table and was again very attentive and professional. As creatures of habit we adjourned to a roaring fire in our own library for coffee before our last night. We had a great time at the Pear Tree including a few déjà vu moments.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmypagekent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix Y, Manager at The Pear Tree at Purton, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
It's so lovely to hear that you both enjoyed your return to us and so great to hear your positive comments. Thank you for taking the time to leave this review and we hope to see you back again soon, hopefully when the weather's a bit nicer!
Many thanks
Alix Young
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ammanford, Wales
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed a two night stay at the Pear Tree. We can't fault the food; neither at breakfast nor during the evening meal. Service at mealtimes was very friendly and homely. The hotel is a beautiful, historic building and is set in lovely grounds. It's an ideal base for exploring the nearby countryside and attractions.

Why only four stars? Just a few, minor niggles. Upon arrival we were told we'd been upgraded (yippee...thanks!) but were disappointed later that evening to discover that the radiator in the room wasn't working. Perhaps that should have been checked beforehand but the very apologetic and efficient host managed to get a handyman to fix it whilst we were at dinner. Fresh milk was supposed to be placed daily in the rooms but it wasn't on either of our two evenings. We had to ask for it on the first night and forgot until very late on the second. Lastly, the valance sheet on the bed was torn. You'll agree that these are minor inconveniences but were enough to make the stay not quite as pleasant as it could have been.

With a little more attention to detail this could easily have been a five-star stay!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ant68boyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix Y, Manager at The Pear Tree at Purton, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Many thanks for your review and I'm really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you too for raising the few 'niggles' as it's always useful to know guest feedback and we'll work on the points you mentioned including the milk, the radiator and the valance.
Many thanks and we hope to see you again soon.
Alix Young
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Because of a previous excellent stay at the Pear Tree we booked to go back this year for our wedding anniversary. We were disappointed. The room is a little tired. There is no razor socket in the bathroom, and to operate the kettle we had to place it on the floor to boil it, very dangerous. The quality and quantity of the food has gone down, unfortunately since our last visit. We had always thought vegetables were the cheapest item on a plate of food, and on the first night my wife had a dessert spoonful of cabbage and three slices of courgette, why? We also received neither canapés or petit fours that evening. The second morning we waited nearly half an hour for our breakfast orders to be taken, we were in the conservatory dining room for an hour, too long. My wife received at most two dessert spoonfuls of scrambled eggs, half a tomato and three halves of fried new potatoes, and no black pudding which had been ordered. I asked for haddock and poached egg, the fish was a tail piece marginally larger than the egg, no more than three small mouthfuls. We asked for honey and none came. We also had to ask for the jam and marmalade. They produce their own honey but never found any in the dining room, again why? The last morning the food arrived scorched,, especially the toast with the scrambled eggs, really this should never have left the kitchen. On the second night we had petit fours but no canapés. The last third night ... Happy days we received both. On the second night we received the wrong wine too. The dining room in the Sunday morning was dirty, toothpick, wine screw top and other rubbish still on floor. We were not the only guests to note the standards. The staff are mostly young but very helpful, attentive, cheerful and polite. On leaving on the Monday morning we were not asked if we had enjoyed our stay, we thought this was standard enquiry at the vast majority of hotels throughout the world! Sadly we probably not be returning.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 49WilliamM101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix Y, Manager at The Pear Tree at Purton, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Many thanks for your comments and I apologise for what appears to be a catalogue of errors that you encountered during your recent stay. I have actually emailed you directly to discuss the finer points of your review and explain the measures that we are introducing to ensure that other guests do not experience similar issues.
Many thanks
Alix Young
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level 6 Contributor
478 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

After a weekend spent decorating, we decided that we needed a treat and the Pear Tree served one up. After a glass of prosecco and some nuts, we started with some amuse bouche which were scrummy, the meal itself started with salmon for her and trout for me, followed by some salmon, and both of us chose the beef fillet for our main course which was gorgeous and finished off with lemon mousse and Austrian sponge which were very nice. The wine, Montepulciano, was very pleasant and too easy to drink.

The service was excellent, there were quite a few guests which was a surprise on a Monday evening, which added to the atmosphere. The cost was just over £100 and that was very reasonable for the quality of the meal, the service and the surroundings.

A nice way to spend an evening after a hectic weekend.

By the way and to counter another reviewer, our first visit to the Pear Tree was in 1988 and we have not noticed any significant change in the quality of the food, the service or the surroundings, although the number of our visits is in double figures rather than hundreds and we look forward to our next visit in December.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix Y, Manager at The Pear Tree at Purton, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review, we're so pleased that you enjoyed your meal. We show all our reviews to the team here and it is so nice for them to get great feedback.
We look forward to seeing you again soon
Many thanks
Alix Young
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
3.9 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
5.5 mi away
Stanton House Hotel
Stanton House Hotel
#4 of 25 in Swindon
749 reviews
2.0 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 25 in Swindon
1,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
6.2 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
968 reviews
3.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#2 of 25 in Swindon
1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pear Tree at Purton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pear Tree at Purton

Property: The Pear Tree at Purton
Address: Church End, Swindon SN5 4ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pear Tree at Purton 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pear Tree at Purton provides the perfect place to stay, whether it is for a romantic getaway or a place to rest your head before a business meeting in nearby Swindon.Set in 7.5 acres of gardens, which include a wildflower meadow and a vineyard, it is a perfect rural setting to relax and unwind. Yet we are only 10 minutes away from Swindon and Junction 16 of the M4. We specialise in celebrations, from special birthdays to groups of old friends meeting up. Let us know what you are after and we will come up with a fantastic schedule to suit you all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your The Pear Tree at Purton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pear Tree At Purton Hotel Swindon
Pear Tree At Purton Swindon
The Pear Tree At Purton Swindon, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing