We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A surprise in the country”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Pear Tree at Purton
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Certificate of Excellence
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A surprise in the country”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Coming off the M4 at Swindon the last thing you expect to find within a short distance, is peace and tranquility. This is a charming hotel with elegance and charm. The re are lovely areas to sit and read, drink, etc. The room we had was lovely and met all our needs.
The staff were outstanding, attentive and very accommodating.
Well worth visit if you want something out of town.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix Y, Manager at The Pear Tree at Purton, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for your review, we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back again soon.
Many thanks
Alix Young
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    81
    24
    11
    5
See reviews for
70
178
7
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

My husband spent three nights at this wonderful hotel between Christmas and the New Year. From the moment we arrived to our reluctant leaving we had a wonderful time. Alix, at the front desk was most helpful regarding local walks as well as Ann who herself has explored all the walks in the area. We had a room at the back of the hotel which overlooked vineyards, and the frost in the mornings together with spotting two deer proved to be the perfect setting for a Christmas setting.
The breakfasts are excellent, with many products sourced locally, with the most delicious Scottish black pudding. The honey provided from the bees in the back garden was delicious with piping hot porridge along with thick dream, and brown sugar. Truly yummy. We also had three evening meals which were excellent, great variety on the menu, and the presentation of the food on each evening was picture perfect.
Each evening we retreated to the wonderful library in front of the 14th century fireplace. Our coffee and petit fours were brought to the table in front of the big log fire. All staff were extremely efficient, polite, and willing to please. The customer is definitely king here. The mineral water, homemade cookies placed in the bedroom each day with tea and coffee making facilities were also welcome, as well as a daily newspaper of chicle delivered early each morning were added bonuses. Altogether we had a wonderful stay, and will return to experience the hotel at Spring or Summer time to enjoy the plant life and longer days. Well done to all, and sincere thanks for a fantastic stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel for wonderful views and quietnesss
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mairmi01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix Y, Manager at The Pear Tree at Purton, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write your comments on here, the whole team see all the reviews on here we're all delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Many thanks

Alix
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,077 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

There were ten of us for a birthday meal and they put on drinks on arrival in the library which was very nice way to allow people to turn up over a period of 30 minutes and relax rather than just waiting in a reception / lounge area.

Food was very nice and went down well, with plenty of it to go around but not too much to make you feel guilty about leaving it.

It was a bit difficult to navigate from the table to the toilets as it wasn't overly clear and several different routes were taken with nobody any the wiser!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix Y, Manager at The Pear Tree at Purton, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for your kind words and I'm pleased that you enjoyed your meal. We're particularly proud of the Library as it contains the oldest part of the whole building - the fireplace - so I'm delighted that you enjoyed your brief time in there. I'm glad the meal was good and we'll endeavour to increase the number of signs to the loos!
Many thanks
Alix Young
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Relaxing and welcoming break at the Pear Tree. Staff were friendly and pleasant and the service was excellent. Our room, an executive double was a good size with doors leading outside to a 'patio area'. There were dressing gowns, (albeit one with a hole in the underarm), a good range of toiletries, homemade biscuits, fruit and a teatray with fresh milk delivered when requested. Pre-dinner drinks were served in front of an open fire in the library and were accompanied by a dish of mixed nuts. Dinner and breakfast is taken in the conservatory, which I did find at times, a little chilly. However, the restaurant service was faultless and the food was most enjoyable. Constructive criticism: If dressing gowns are supplied, slippers would be nice too, as tiled bathroom floors without underfloor heating are very cold underfoot in the winter. We did experience a couple of disruptive nights sleep due to noisy revellers and noisy small children. As two adults spending almost £600 for a 3 night stay, we were hoping for a quiet, peaceful, break. We felt that something like ' well-behaved children over the age of 10 years are welcome', would prevent noisy toddlers from spoiling the experience. However, the management were very apologetic and duly offered us fair and satisfactory recompense. We like the comfortable personal touch offered by a family run hotel and imagine that during the spring and summer months, the conservatories, gardens and surrounding area would be very pleasant and enjoyable to explore.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silverweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix Y, Manager at The Pear Tree at Purton, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to give us your comments. We're pleased that overall you enjoyed your experience and the suggestion about the children is a fair one and something we will look in to. All the team here are shown tripadvisor comments so it's always lovely to hear when people have an enjoyable time.
We hope to see you again soon.
Many thanks
Alix Young
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wroughton, Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Stayed one night following an office Christmas party. The staff were helpful but my partner is a disabled wheelchair user. The room was accessed via a steep ramp followed by dogleg hallway with a table placed in the way. The wheels caught the narrow door frame every time. There was water, fruit and biscuits provided which was a nice touch. The bed was huge, two 3' beds together. The room was warm and quiet.

The bathroom was the biggest disappointment being inaccessible for a wheelchair, only the toilet was usable (which was fortunate). The basin was behind the door, and a gigantic corner bath meant the wheelchair couldn't get to it at all. I had to improvise and take soap and flannel to him sitting on the bed. The tiling was poor, the choice of ridged tiles meant our portable grab bar would not stick to them and the grout was bad or missing. For me the mirror and overhead light were a godsend as the lighting in the room was very dim.

There are bigger bedrooms which might be more suitable for a wheelchair, but these were all taken so we couldn't change rooms.

The food was excellent, breakfast was very good. The party venue was a conservatory, it was warm and the service was good though Christmas decorations minimal. Our party broke up at 1.30am with no complaints.

Room Tip: Might well be worth paying extra for a bigger room especially if disabled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix Y, Manager at The Pear Tree at Purton, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on here. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your Christmas meal with us and hope to see you again soon.
We do take access requirements very seriously and we gave you the most suitable room available, given that you requested to check in at 9am the morning of the party and we were informed on booking that your partner would be using a walking frame as well as a wheelchair. As you say, we do have more accessible rooms available but as I'm sure you'll appreciate we were fully booked on the weekend before Christmas so were unable to upgrade you.
We hope to welcome you back on another occasion.

Many thanks
Alix Young
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

What a great experience. The bedroom was cosy, comfortable and spotlessly clean. All the staff were friendly, accommodating, and made us feel very welcome. Dinner was excellent, so we looking to breakfast and weren't disappointed.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chrisali1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix Y, Manager at The Pear Tree at Purton, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review, we're delighted your enjoyed your visit and hopefully we'll see you again soon.
Many thanks
Alix Young
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wroughton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Beautiful old building with lots of character and generally very good, personal service. We stayed for one night dinner bed and breakfast (£195) to have a break from our toddler, didn't travel far. They lit the fire for us in the library when we arrived - nice gesture. Library well stocked with books, games and papers. Bedroom well stocked with snacks, dressing gowns (advertised rubber duck missing though!).

However the room we had (Kibblewhite) whilst having lovely views of the grounds, was relatively small and furnished with disappointing 'Travelodge' style furniture. Our main problem was that we had specifically requested a quiet room - and the one we were given was directly over the entrance to the restaurant which was noisy until past 10pm - and we were woken up later by our neighbours. When we checked out the response was 1) we could have tried to move you to another room - sorry we were in our pjs at that point! and 2) we can't control the noise people make in our restaurant. They also suggested that we should have come on a Friday or Sunday nights as they are quieter - well, maybe you should have told me that when I booked a quiet room. They were not really very sympathetic, we specifically came away for peace and quiet and were very disappointed.

Regardless of the noise issues we had, we felt it was very overpriced given the quality of the room we had.... and they really did squeeze every penny out. I made a cup of tea in our room and took it down to the library to enjoy the fire, and they asked if they could bring me some more tea. I said yes please.... when I checked out I found they charged me £3 for it. Which at £195 db&b, and when I had a cup in my hand already when they offered, was a bit cheeky!

Another minor quibble, I had originally requested the 4 poster room but then at their request, we agreed to let another couple have it as they had stayed there before and it had a lot of meaning to them ... which I thought was pretty generous, given its such a rare treat for us to get away with a toddler now. You would think that would be worth a complimentary cup of tea, wouldn't you?! Anyway the room we were given instead was nowhere near as luxurious as I would have expected.

Food in the restaurant was good - not exceptional but very nicely presented with very good service and lovely setting. Good wine list with interesting options at all price points.

The highlight of our stay was a very leisurely breakfast - lots of food choices, again very good service, and locally sourced food - looking out over the beautiful grounds.

Room Tip: Kibblewhite - whilst having lovely views of the grounds - was relatively small and furnished with di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AL0z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix Y, Manager at The Pear Tree at Purton, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on here, we always appreciate feedback. I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your visit as much as we would have hoped. The room you were allocated was the quietest available as we had a large group of people in our function room that evening, many of whom were also staying over and we placed you in a room as far away as possible. While we don't allow Christmas parties with music/discos precisely because they disturb other guests, we are hesitant to turn away large group bookings during the run up to Christmas. Because we knew there was a large group when you booked, we already gave you a discount on the room.

I understand your comments about tea and we provide the complimentary tea and coffee facilities in the room for guests to enjoy. If however you would like a pot of tea served to you in our public areas, in front of the original fireplace for example, this does come at a cost.

The room you were in is part of the original vicarage and so has many features that you won't find in our other rooms including the original windows overlooking the grounds, unfortunately this does mean it is not a 'built for purpose' square room and some of the furniture has to be specifically built for the room.

I'm glad you enjoyed your meal and breakfast and we do hope that you will visit us again soon.

Many thanks
Alix Young
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
3.9 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
5.5 mi away
Stanton House Hotel
Stanton House Hotel
#4 of 25 in Swindon
749 reviews
2.0 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 25 in Swindon
1,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
6.2 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
969 reviews
3.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#2 of 25 in Swindon
1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pear Tree at Purton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pear Tree at Purton

Property: The Pear Tree at Purton
Address: Church End, Swindon SN5 4ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pear Tree at Purton 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pear Tree at Purton provides the perfect place to stay, whether it is for a romantic getaway or a place to rest your head before a business meeting in nearby Swindon.Set in 7.5 acres of gardens, which include a wildflower meadow and a vineyard, it is a perfect rural setting to relax and unwind. Yet we are only 10 minutes away from Swindon and Junction 16 of the M4. We specialise in celebrations, from special birthdays to groups of old friends meeting up. Let us know what you are after and we will come up with a fantastic schedule to suit you all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your The Pear Tree at Purton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pear Tree At Purton Hotel Swindon
Pear Tree At Purton Swindon
The Pear Tree At Purton Swindon, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing