We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“January 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Pear Tree at Purton
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Certificate of Excellence
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“January 2014”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

My wife and I have just spent 3 days attending a course at The National Self Build Centre J16 M4
Swindon. we decided to stay at The Pear Tree Purton as it was close at hand and had good food reviews, the last thing you need after a day in the classroom is to have to worry about where to eat. We were not disappointed, all staff were helpful, polite and attentive. Our dinners were of good quality and well presented. On our first night dining was spoilt by the fact that we and the other guests in our part of the conservatory had been arranged by a door that led through to a separate part of the conservatory where a noisy party was being held so all the food went past us for those guests which did not help the experience. The other nights were quieter but as someone else pointed out the conservatory is chilly at this time of year and attempts to heat it were noisy. Breakfast was also a pleasant although chilly but as we were in a hurry each morning it did not matter too much.
Our room was our disappointment we booked an executive room but it was small, furniture cheap and tired. The flat screen tv on the wall could not be adjusted so viewing from bed the picture had a blue haze. The bathroom was hardly generous, the extract fan noisy and the door difficult to close. Lastly why put 6 cushions on the bed? when you go to bed the only place for them is the floor!
So a mixed review, food good, staff great, but room tired.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pompeyfan1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix Y, Manager at The Pear Tree at Purton, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for your comments and we hope that you enjoyed your course nearby.

We're pleased that you enjoyed the food and the service and are sorry to hear that you felt the room was not up to scratch. The room you were in is part of the original vicarage and as such benefits from original features and a garden view although is a little smaller than the others. We felt that you would rather be in a slightly smaller room away from the function room and the rest of the hotel so you could enjoy your stay in peace but will move you into the newer part of the hotel should you choose to visit again.

The restaurant has also been refurbished since your stay, adding extra heating and new flooring as well as adjusting access ways etc to the private area of the conservatory so as not to upset diners.

Many thanks

Alix Young
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    81
    25
    11
    5
See reviews for
71
179
7
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

I was taken here for a business meeting followed by lunch. The staff were very attentive with no request being too much trouble. We were very well looked after before and after our meeting and lunch was delicious and in my view was exceptional value at £15 for two courses (which I understand is a current special offer). You rarely get one decent course for this amount in a pub these days and this was way above the quality you would find in an average pub. And it was good to see the restaurant fairly busy on a mid week lunchtime. I am looking forward to being asked back for another meeting!

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Wessex1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix Y, Manager at The Pear Tree at Purton, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give your thoughts about your experience. We're delighted that you enjoyed your meal. We actually offer our lunch specials Mon-Sat all year round where guests can have 1 course for £10, 2 for £15 and 3 for £20.

We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Many thanks

Alix
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Coming off the M4 at Swindon the last thing you expect to find within a short distance, is peace and tranquility. This is a charming hotel with elegance and charm. The re are lovely areas to sit and read, drink, etc. The room we had was lovely and met all our needs.
The staff were outstanding, attentive and very accommodating.
Well worth visit if you want something out of town.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix Y, Manager at The Pear Tree at Purton, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for your review, we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back again soon.
Many thanks
Alix Young
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

My husband spent three nights at this wonderful hotel between Christmas and the New Year. From the moment we arrived to our reluctant leaving we had a wonderful time. Alix, at the front desk was most helpful regarding local walks as well as Ann who herself has explored all the walks in the area. We had a room at the back of the hotel which overlooked vineyards, and the frost in the mornings together with spotting two deer proved to be the perfect setting for a Christmas setting.
The breakfasts are excellent, with many products sourced locally, with the most delicious Scottish black pudding. The honey provided from the bees in the back garden was delicious with piping hot porridge along with thick dream, and brown sugar. Truly yummy. We also had three evening meals which were excellent, great variety on the menu, and the presentation of the food on each evening was picture perfect.
Each evening we retreated to the wonderful library in front of the 14th century fireplace. Our coffee and petit fours were brought to the table in front of the big log fire. All staff were extremely efficient, polite, and willing to please. The customer is definitely king here. The mineral water, homemade cookies placed in the bedroom each day with tea and coffee making facilities were also welcome, as well as a daily newspaper of chicle delivered early each morning were added bonuses. Altogether we had a wonderful stay, and will return to experience the hotel at Spring or Summer time to enjoy the plant life and longer days. Well done to all, and sincere thanks for a fantastic stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel for wonderful views and quietnesss
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mairmi01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix Y, Manager at The Pear Tree at Purton, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write your comments on here, the whole team see all the reviews on here we're all delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Many thanks

Alix
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,084 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

There were ten of us for a birthday meal and they put on drinks on arrival in the library which was very nice way to allow people to turn up over a period of 30 minutes and relax rather than just waiting in a reception / lounge area.

Food was very nice and went down well, with plenty of it to go around but not too much to make you feel guilty about leaving it.

It was a bit difficult to navigate from the table to the toilets as it wasn't overly clear and several different routes were taken with nobody any the wiser!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix Y, Manager at The Pear Tree at Purton, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for your kind words and I'm pleased that you enjoyed your meal. We're particularly proud of the Library as it contains the oldest part of the whole building - the fireplace - so I'm delighted that you enjoyed your brief time in there. I'm glad the meal was good and we'll endeavour to increase the number of signs to the loos!
Many thanks
Alix Young
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Relaxing and welcoming break at the Pear Tree. Staff were friendly and pleasant and the service was excellent. Our room, an executive double was a good size with doors leading outside to a 'patio area'. There were dressing gowns, (albeit one with a hole in the underarm), a good range of toiletries, homemade biscuits, fruit and a teatray with fresh milk delivered when requested. Pre-dinner drinks were served in front of an open fire in the library and were accompanied by a dish of mixed nuts. Dinner and breakfast is taken in the conservatory, which I did find at times, a little chilly. However, the restaurant service was faultless and the food was most enjoyable. Constructive criticism: If dressing gowns are supplied, slippers would be nice too, as tiled bathroom floors without underfloor heating are very cold underfoot in the winter. We did experience a couple of disruptive nights sleep due to noisy revellers and noisy small children. As two adults spending almost £600 for a 3 night stay, we were hoping for a quiet, peaceful, break. We felt that something like ' well-behaved children over the age of 10 years are welcome', would prevent noisy toddlers from spoiling the experience. However, the management were very apologetic and duly offered us fair and satisfactory recompense. We like the comfortable personal touch offered by a family run hotel and imagine that during the spring and summer months, the conservatories, gardens and surrounding area would be very pleasant and enjoyable to explore.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silverweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix Y, Manager at The Pear Tree at Purton, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to give us your comments. We're pleased that overall you enjoyed your experience and the suggestion about the children is a fair one and something we will look in to. All the team here are shown tripadvisor comments so it's always lovely to hear when people have an enjoyable time.
We hope to see you again soon.
Many thanks
Alix Young
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wroughton, Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Stayed one night following an office Christmas party. The staff were helpful but my partner is a disabled wheelchair user. The room was accessed via a steep ramp followed by dogleg hallway with a table placed in the way. The wheels caught the narrow door frame every time. There was water, fruit and biscuits provided which was a nice touch. The bed was huge, two 3' beds together. The room was warm and quiet.

The bathroom was the biggest disappointment being inaccessible for a wheelchair, only the toilet was usable (which was fortunate). The basin was behind the door, and a gigantic corner bath meant the wheelchair couldn't get to it at all. I had to improvise and take soap and flannel to him sitting on the bed. The tiling was poor, the choice of ridged tiles meant our portable grab bar would not stick to them and the grout was bad or missing. For me the mirror and overhead light were a godsend as the lighting in the room was very dim.

There are bigger bedrooms which might be more suitable for a wheelchair, but these were all taken so we couldn't change rooms.

The food was excellent, breakfast was very good. The party venue was a conservatory, it was warm and the service was good though Christmas decorations minimal. Our party broke up at 1.30am with no complaints.

Room Tip: Might well be worth paying extra for a bigger room especially if disabled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix Y, Manager at The Pear Tree at Purton, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on here. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your Christmas meal with us and hope to see you again soon.
We do take access requirements very seriously and we gave you the most suitable room available, given that you requested to check in at 9am the morning of the party and we were informed on booking that your partner would be using a walking frame as well as a wheelchair. As you say, we do have more accessible rooms available but as I'm sure you'll appreciate we were fully booked on the weekend before Christmas so were unable to upgrade you.
We hope to welcome you back on another occasion.

Many thanks
Alix Young
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
3.9 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
5.5 mi away
Stanton House Hotel
Stanton House Hotel
#4 of 25 in Swindon
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
998 reviews
3.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 25 in Swindon
1,492 reviews
2.0 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 25 in Swindon
1,944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pear Tree at Purton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pear Tree at Purton

Property: The Pear Tree at Purton
Address: Church End, Swindon SN5 4ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pear Tree at Purton 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pear Tree at Purton provides the perfect place to stay, whether it is for a romantic getaway or a place to rest your head before a business meeting in nearby Swindon.Set in 7.5 acres of gardens, which include a wildflower meadow and a vineyard, it is a perfect rural setting to relax and unwind. Yet we are only 10 minutes away from Swindon and Junction 16 of the M4. We specialise in celebrations, from special birthdays to groups of old friends meeting up. Let us know what you are after and we will come up with a fantastic schedule to suit you all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Pear Tree at Purton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pear Tree At Purton Hotel Swindon
Pear Tree At Purton Swindon
The Pear Tree At Purton Swindon, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing