We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced but lovely setting.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Pear Tree at Purton
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Over priced but lovely setting.”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I visited the Pear tree for the first time as it had been recommended from a friend.
My starter was very plain and quite dry.
I enjoyed my main course but very small portions, it needed some vegetables and potatoes to go with it.
The coservstory was very cold and I felt like I needed a jacket on.
Not somewhere I would chose to go again, as portions were very small.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jazz657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix Y, Manager at The Pear Tree at Purton, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your thoughts on your recent visit to our Restaurant.

I am pleased that you enjoyed the setting, hopefully you will return in the summer when you can take the time to have drinks out in the gardens perhaps.

Thank you for your comments on the food, I have passed them on to the team in the kitchen. All our main course come with potatoes (or rice etc) & vegetables tailored to the dish so I am sorry that you didn't feel you received any.

Many thanks

Alix
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    81
    24
    11
    5
See reviews for
70
178
7
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
S Wales
Level 6 Contributor
381 reviews
256 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We had our company 'Christmas' do at the Pear Tree in mid January. I suspect we were the noisy party in the other 1/2 of the conservatory another reviewer mentioned. There were 20+ of us with about 60% staying over.

I'm a long time fan of the Pear Tree having been going there for 20+ years. It's a lovely country house hotel in a lovely setting. We took a break on holding our Christmas party there for a couple of years but decided to give it another go.

Accommodation was fine although I note that they have stopped the provision of sherry in the rooms :-(. Service was fine. Breakfast was fine.

No hors d'oeuvres at pre-dinner drinks. There were last time.

The evening's food was disappointing. All 20+ had pre-ordered. Mine food was, at best, average. My wife's summary on hers was too much salt, lacking flavour and not fresh. I tasted her starter and it was very, very salty. One or two were satisfied with their food but the general consensus is that the chef had had an accident with the salt cellar.

This was disappointing as the last time I reviewed the Pear Tree I gave it 5* and said: You can always rely on the Pear Tree for a consistent high standard.

I can't say that this time.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drc225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix Y, Manager at The Pear Tree at Purton, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent visit to the hotel.

We are delighted that you chose to return to us but sorry to hear that your experience did not live up to your expectations.

We have made several changes recently, a move to an individually priced menu to give diners more flexibility means that we no longer offer canapes or intermediate courses. Complimentary nuts are still provided to all our guests though.

The sherry in the rooms was stopped many years ago, not least to discourage irresponsible drinking but to make us move 'more with the times' so to speak.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy the food, I have discussed your comments with Chef and he will work with his team on your issues. We do always hope that any guest who is not completely satisfied with their experience speaks to one of our team members while they are here, it is rather difficult to offer recompense for food issues after the fact. The owner was actually around the evening of your visit, spending a lot of time with customers in the other half of the restaurant who wished to raise noise issues with her at the time.

We do hope to welcome you back

Many thanks

Alix Young
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

My wife and I have just spent 3 days attending a course at The National Self Build Centre J16 M4
Swindon. we decided to stay at The Pear Tree Purton as it was close at hand and had good food reviews, the last thing you need after a day in the classroom is to have to worry about where to eat. We were not disappointed, all staff were helpful, polite and attentive. Our dinners were of good quality and well presented. On our first night dining was spoilt by the fact that we and the other guests in our part of the conservatory had been arranged by a door that led through to a separate part of the conservatory where a noisy party was being held so all the food went past us for those guests which did not help the experience. The other nights were quieter but as someone else pointed out the conservatory is chilly at this time of year and attempts to heat it were noisy. Breakfast was also a pleasant although chilly but as we were in a hurry each morning it did not matter too much.
Our room was our disappointment we booked an executive room but it was small, furniture cheap and tired. The flat screen tv on the wall could not be adjusted so viewing from bed the picture had a blue haze. The bathroom was hardly generous, the extract fan noisy and the door difficult to close. Lastly why put 6 cushions on the bed? when you go to bed the only place for them is the floor!
So a mixed review, food good, staff great, but room tired.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pompeyfan1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix Y, Manager at The Pear Tree at Purton, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for your comments and we hope that you enjoyed your course nearby.

We're pleased that you enjoyed the food and the service and are sorry to hear that you felt the room was not up to scratch. The room you were in is part of the original vicarage and as such benefits from original features and a garden view although is a little smaller than the others. We felt that you would rather be in a slightly smaller room away from the function room and the rest of the hotel so you could enjoy your stay in peace but will move you into the newer part of the hotel should you choose to visit again.

The restaurant has also been refurbished since your stay, adding extra heating and new flooring as well as adjusting access ways etc to the private area of the conservatory so as not to upset diners.

Many thanks

Alix Young
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

I was taken here for a business meeting followed by lunch. The staff were very attentive with no request being too much trouble. We were very well looked after before and after our meeting and lunch was delicious and in my view was exceptional value at £15 for two courses (which I understand is a current special offer). You rarely get one decent course for this amount in a pub these days and this was way above the quality you would find in an average pub. And it was good to see the restaurant fairly busy on a mid week lunchtime. I am looking forward to being asked back for another meeting!

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Wessex1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix Y, Manager at The Pear Tree at Purton, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give your thoughts about your experience. We're delighted that you enjoyed your meal. We actually offer our lunch specials Mon-Sat all year round where guests can have 1 course for £10, 2 for £15 and 3 for £20.

We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Many thanks

Alix
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Coming off the M4 at Swindon the last thing you expect to find within a short distance, is peace and tranquility. This is a charming hotel with elegance and charm. The re are lovely areas to sit and read, drink, etc. The room we had was lovely and met all our needs.
The staff were outstanding, attentive and very accommodating.
Well worth visit if you want something out of town.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix Y, Manager at The Pear Tree at Purton, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for your review, we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back again soon.
Many thanks
Alix Young
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

My husband spent three nights at this wonderful hotel between Christmas and the New Year. From the moment we arrived to our reluctant leaving we had a wonderful time. Alix, at the front desk was most helpful regarding local walks as well as Ann who herself has explored all the walks in the area. We had a room at the back of the hotel which overlooked vineyards, and the frost in the mornings together with spotting two deer proved to be the perfect setting for a Christmas setting.
The breakfasts are excellent, with many products sourced locally, with the most delicious Scottish black pudding. The honey provided from the bees in the back garden was delicious with piping hot porridge along with thick dream, and brown sugar. Truly yummy. We also had three evening meals which were excellent, great variety on the menu, and the presentation of the food on each evening was picture perfect.
Each evening we retreated to the wonderful library in front of the 14th century fireplace. Our coffee and petit fours were brought to the table in front of the big log fire. All staff were extremely efficient, polite, and willing to please. The customer is definitely king here. The mineral water, homemade cookies placed in the bedroom each day with tea and coffee making facilities were also welcome, as well as a daily newspaper of chicle delivered early each morning were added bonuses. Altogether we had a wonderful stay, and will return to experience the hotel at Spring or Summer time to enjoy the plant life and longer days. Well done to all, and sincere thanks for a fantastic stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel for wonderful views and quietnesss
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mairmi01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix Y, Manager at The Pear Tree at Purton, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write your comments on here, the whole team see all the reviews on here we're all delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Many thanks

Alix
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,077 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

There were ten of us for a birthday meal and they put on drinks on arrival in the library which was very nice way to allow people to turn up over a period of 30 minutes and relax rather than just waiting in a reception / lounge area.

Food was very nice and went down well, with plenty of it to go around but not too much to make you feel guilty about leaving it.

It was a bit difficult to navigate from the table to the toilets as it wasn't overly clear and several different routes were taken with nobody any the wiser!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix Y, Manager at The Pear Tree at Purton, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for your kind words and I'm pleased that you enjoyed your meal. We're particularly proud of the Library as it contains the oldest part of the whole building - the fireplace - so I'm delighted that you enjoyed your brief time in there. I'm glad the meal was good and we'll endeavour to increase the number of signs to the loos!
Many thanks
Alix Young
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
3.9 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
5.5 mi away
Stanton House Hotel
Stanton House Hotel
#4 of 25 in Swindon
749 reviews
2.0 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 25 in Swindon
1,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
6.2 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
969 reviews
3.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#2 of 25 in Swindon
1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pear Tree at Purton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pear Tree at Purton

Property: The Pear Tree at Purton
Address: Church End, Swindon SN5 4ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pear Tree at Purton 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pear Tree at Purton provides the perfect place to stay, whether it is for a romantic getaway or a place to rest your head before a business meeting in nearby Swindon.Set in 7.5 acres of gardens, which include a wildflower meadow and a vineyard, it is a perfect rural setting to relax and unwind. Yet we are only 10 minutes away from Swindon and Junction 16 of the M4. We specialise in celebrations, from special birthdays to groups of old friends meeting up. Let us know what you are after and we will come up with a fantastic schedule to suit you all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Pear Tree at Purton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pear Tree At Purton Hotel Swindon
Pear Tree At Purton Swindon
The Pear Tree At Purton Swindon, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing