We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wiltshire jewel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Pear Tree at Purton
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Wiltshire jewel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We visited the Pear Tree for our wedding anniversary and we were delighted by the experience. Our room "Sir John Brydges" had splendid views overlooking the spacious gardens and was beautifully furnished. There was an excellent choice for breakfast and the evening meal was outstanding. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix Y, Manager at The Pear Tree at Purton, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you for your kind words and we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Next time you visit will have to be when the garden is in full bloom!

Many thanks
Alix Young
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    79
    23
    11
    5
See reviews for
68
176
7
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marlborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

The Pear Tree is a delightful, unexpected discovery not far from Swindon. The timeless, comfortable country house feel was exactly what we hoped for, as we were meeting friends for a 'catch-up' lunch. We ate in the light conservatory overlooking the garden and enjoyed careful, attentive service, but which allowed us to feel we could linger - which is what we wanted. It offers a good varied lunch menu at very reasonable prices. The food is well presented and I can recommend the delicious risotto. We have no hesitation in recommending it and will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Elizabeth888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix Y, Manager at The Pear Tree at Purton, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thanks you for your kind words, I'm so pleased that you and your friends enjoyed our lunch. The mushrooms in the risotto were from quite near you in Marlborough so hopefully that made it extra special!
We hope to see you again soon
Many thanks
Alix Young
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swindon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

first time tonight we went out for dinner at the pear tree could not fault it all three courses were fab treacle tart was best I have had we will defiantly be returning staff were warm and welcombing as was the dining room wish we lived further away so we could stay the night

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teresa r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix Y, Manager at The Pear Tree at Purton, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your comments and we're so pleased you enjoyed your meal. You don't have to live far away to stay over, we do deals on Fridays & Sundays and around half of our staying guests live in or around Swindon!

Hopefully we'll see you again soon.
Many thanks

Alix Young
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

The best of the best. Worth every penny you have to pay. Wonderful rooms, good food, friendly staff. A unique building with a good atmosphere.

A bit of a drive out of Swindon, but well worth it if you don't want to stay in an off-the-peg non description hotel.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank ImpBublinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix Y, Manager at The Pear Tree at Purton, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments, I've passed them on to the team and we're delighted that you enjoyed your visit.

Many thanks

Alix Young
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

We chose the Pear Tree for my mother's 79th birthday lunch as it has a good reputation locally for food and the special lunchtime menu looked very interesting. We all felt that the food was of excellent quality and good value at £10 for the main course and £5 for other courses. Coffee or tea was £3 and very good.
I can see why some people might feel that the meals aren't large, but we would rather have the quality and value for money than be overwhelmed by the quantity.
A very nice touch was the piped birthday wish on my mother's dessert plate.
The decor was old fashioned and comfortable. We were warm enough in the conservatory too. All in all, a relaxing and delicious meal.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barkingside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix Y, Manager at The Pear Tree at Purton, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely comments and we're delighted that you enjoyed your recent meal with us. We do hope you mother had a lovely birthday.

All the team members here read every review and it's so lovely when their hard work is recognised.

Many thanks

Alix Young
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

I visited the Pear tree for the first time as it had been recommended from a friend.
My starter was very plain and quite dry.
I enjoyed my main course but very small portions, it needed some vegetables and potatoes to go with it.
The coservstory was very cold and I felt like I needed a jacket on.
Not somewhere I would chose to go again, as portions were very small.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jazz657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix Y, Manager at The Pear Tree at Purton, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your thoughts on your recent visit to our Restaurant.

I am pleased that you enjoyed the setting, hopefully you will return in the summer when you can take the time to have drinks out in the gardens perhaps.

Thank you for your comments on the food, I have passed them on to the team in the kitchen. All our main course come with potatoes (or rice etc) & vegetables tailored to the dish so I am sorry that you didn't feel you received any.

Many thanks

Alix
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S Wales
Level Contributor
346 reviews
247 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

We had our company 'Christmas' do at the Pear Tree in mid January. I suspect we were the noisy party in the other 1/2 of the conservatory another reviewer mentioned. There were 20+ of us with about 60% staying over.

I'm a long time fan of the Pear Tree having been going there for 20+ years. It's a lovely country house hotel in a lovely setting. We took a break on holding our Christmas party there for a couple of years but decided to give it another go.

Accommodation was fine although I note that they have stopped the provision of sherry in the rooms :-(. Service was fine. Breakfast was fine.

No hors d'oeuvres at pre-dinner drinks. There were last time.

The evening's food was disappointing. All 20+ had pre-ordered. Mine food was, at best, average. My wife's summary on hers was too much salt, lacking flavour and not fresh. I tasted her starter and it was very, very salty. One or two were satisfied with their food but the general consensus is that the chef had had an accident with the salt cellar.

This was disappointing as the last time I reviewed the Pear Tree I gave it 5* and said: You can always rely on the Pear Tree for a consistent high standard.

I can't say that this time.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drc225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix Y, Manager at The Pear Tree at Purton, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent visit to the hotel.

We are delighted that you chose to return to us but sorry to hear that your experience did not live up to your expectations.

We have made several changes recently, a move to an individually priced menu to give diners more flexibility means that we no longer offer canapes or intermediate courses. Complimentary nuts are still provided to all our guests though.

The sherry in the rooms was stopped many years ago, not least to discourage irresponsible drinking but to make us move 'more with the times' so to speak.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy the food, I have discussed your comments with Chef and he will work with his team on your issues. We do always hope that any guest who is not completely satisfied with their experience speaks to one of our team members while they are here, it is rather difficult to offer recompense for food issues after the fact. The owner was actually around the evening of your visit, spending a lot of time with customers in the other half of the restaurant who wished to raise noise issues with her at the time.

We do hope to welcome you back

Many thanks

Alix Young
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
3.9 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
6.2 mi away
De Vere Alexandra House
De Vere Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 911 reviews
5.6 mi away
Stanton House Hotel
Stanton House Hotel
#6 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
2.0 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pear Tree at Purton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pear Tree at Purton

Property: The Pear Tree at Purton
Address: Church End, Swindon SN5 4ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pear Tree at Purton 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pear Tree at Purton provides the perfect place to stay, whether it is for a romantic getaway or a place to rest your head before a business meeting in nearby Swindon.Set in 7.5 acres of gardens, which include a wildflower meadow and a vineyard, it is a perfect rural setting to relax and unwind. Yet we are only 10 minutes away from Swindon and Junction 16 of the M4. We specialise in celebrations, from special birthdays to groups of old friends meeting up. Let us know what you are after and we will come up with a fantastic schedule to suit you all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Pear Tree at Purton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pear Tree At Purton Hotel Swindon
Pear Tree At Purton Swindon
The Pear Tree At Purton Swindon, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing