We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Work related team build day”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Pear Tree at Purton
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Came here for a work related team build day. The room and facilities where very good, we had bacon and scrabbled egg sandwich with tea and coffee as a breakfast starter for the day only complaint was the sandwhichs where not particularly hot, warm at best, that said tasty and most welcome as most of our group had a very early start to get here for a 09.00 start.

We broke for lunch and had a starter of soup which was over seasoned with pepper and not very pleasant luckerly it was a only a very small portion , we then had a choice of sausages and onion gravy with mash and veg and grilled/ baked fish parcel with mash and veg. Most of our group wanted fish so it ran out very quickly and the rest of us had to have the sausages as the lady was less than impressed with us wanting more fish apart from two coleagues who insisted as they didn't like sausages and thus had to wait for another lot of fish to be cooked which when it arrived was under done in the middle. The lady serving could only be described as 'surely' at best and had a ' I don't want to be here attuitude' there was a two option choice for dessert, fruit crumble and cheescake both available with cream or custard. Given that they knew we had 12 for lunch and we where there from early in the day, I would have thought it would have been easier for them and especially more preferebale to us as a group if they requested our menu choice at the start of the day?

Overall the facilities for the team build day, room , tea & coffee and support aids was very good however the dining experience was extremely poor. I am a local resident and have seen good reports about the food here however unfortunately following my experience here I would have to dissagree. Very poor guys :(

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix Y, Manager at The Pear Tree at Purton, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed the majority of your experience here at The Pear Tree. All of your concerns were raised with us at the time by the organiser of your event and we took immediate action to rectify them, but thanks anyway.
Many thanks
Alix Young

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 396 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

I stopped here with two girlfriends and our three dogs for breakfast on Saturday and had the best eggs benedict ever! They bought out water bowls, bottled water, treats and towels for our dogs, five star treatment al the way. Thank you Pear Tree.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SueMM2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix Y, Manager at The Pear Tree at Purton, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

We're so pleased that you and the dogs enjoyed your brunch. Hopefully when the weather gets a little better you can return and have lots more brunches and lunches out on the terrace.
Lots of hugs to the dogs.
Many thanks
Alix Young

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

We have been going to The Pear Tree for nearly twenty years and have always loved it. They are currently bringing in changes, all of which are really well thought out and are clear improvements. Very brave to change a 'winning formula'. What is impressive is that it's not only ourselves - 'a mature couple'- but also our 'children' (well travelled adults) who are impressed with the changes. Brilliant work!!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funbreakSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix Y, Manager at The Pear Tree at Purton, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Thank for your lovely words, it's so nice to hear that people are enjoying the improvements we're making. We're almost finished on the Conservatory refurb and will be starting on the rest of the public areas and the bedrooms soon so hopefully there'll be even more new stuff for you to see next time you visit.

Many thanks

Alix Young

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

What a wonderful find, super hotel situated in a rural setting. Staff are friendly, welcoming and attentive without being intrusive.
Would recommend this hotel and intend to return, perhaps when the garden and vines are in bloom, to enjoy its wonderful outside space.

Stephen L

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephen l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix Y, Manager at The Pear Tree at Purton, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Thank you for your lovely review, we're so pleased you enjoyed your time with us. The garden is slowly starting to bloom and we're hoping for lots of colour this summer. The vines are slowly starting to wake up too!
We hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Many thanks
Alix Young

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This was our second stay at The Pear Tree and they did not disappoint. The service is absolutely brilliant and the food is delicious. Nice relaxing rooms and lovely atmosphere throughout the whole hotel. We shall definitely return. Thank you Pear Tree!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank BexsP42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix Y, Owner at The Pear Tree at Purton, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Many thanks for your review, we're really pleased that you enjoyed your return to the hotel and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Many thanks
Alix Young

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We visited the Pear Tree for our wedding anniversary and we were delighted by the experience. Our room "Sir John Brydges" had splendid views overlooking the spacious gardens and was beautifully furnished. There was an excellent choice for breakfast and the evening meal was outstanding. The staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix Y, Manager at The Pear Tree at Purton, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Thank you for your kind words and we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Next time you visit will have to be when the garden is in full bloom!

Many thanks
Alix Young

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

The Pear Tree is a delightful, unexpected discovery not far from Swindon. The timeless, comfortable country house feel was exactly what we hoped for, as we were meeting friends for a 'catch-up' lunch. We ate in the light conservatory overlooking the garden and enjoyed careful, attentive service, but which allowed us to feel we could linger - which is what we wanted. It offers a good varied lunch menu at very reasonable prices. The food is well presented and I can recommend the delicious risotto. We have no hesitation in recommending it and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1Elizabeth888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix Y, Manager at The Pear Tree at Purton, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thanks you for your kind words, I'm so pleased that you and your friends enjoyed our lunch. The mushrooms in the risotto were from quite near you in Marlborough so hopefully that made it extra special!
We hope to see you again soon
Many thanks
Alix Young

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
3.9 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
5.6 mi away
Stanton House Hotel
Stanton House Hotel
#2 of 25 in Swindon
821 reviews
2.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
1,085 reviews
4.6 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#10 of 25 in Swindon
717 reviews
2 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 25 in Swindon
2,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pear Tree at Purton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pear Tree at Purton

Address: Church End, Swindon SN5 4ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Swindon
Price Range: £97 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pear Tree at Purton 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pear Tree at Purton provides the perfect place to stay, whether it is for a romantic getaway or a place to rest your head before a business meeting in nearby Swindon.Set in 7.5 acres of gardens, which include a wildflower meadow and a vineyard, it is a perfect rural setting to relax and unwind. Yet we are only 10 minutes away from Swindon and Junction 16 of the M4. We specialise in celebrations, from special birthdays to groups of old friends meeting up. Let us know what you are after and we will come up with a fantastic schedule to suit you all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your The Pear Tree at Purton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pear Tree At Purton Hotel Swindon
Pear Tree At Purton Swindon
The Pear Tree At Purton Swindon, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing