We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't like the physical changes. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Pear Tree at Purton
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Don't like the physical changes. ”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

The food remains lovely and the service too but I don't think the wooden floor in the dining room or the new pictures on the wall are keeping with the style of the building .... It now seems to be a confused building . I love all the other rooms .... Sorry

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Martina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix Y, Manager at The Pear Tree at Purton, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for your comments and I'm pleased that you still enjoy the food here. We wanted to make the conservatory more modern and perhaps bring a little more of the garden into it, hence the canvases with pictures of flowers and plants from our grounds and vineyard.
The oak floor is a new addition as the old carpet was a little worse for wear and this provided a great opportunity to invest in a new future-proof and hygienic solution.
Hopefully we will welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards
Alix Young
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    79
    23
    11
    5
See reviews for
68
176
7
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Just something about this place that absolutely did it for me. The very English welcome. The olde worlde customs and service. The serving of afternoon tea ( with the largest slice of coffee and walnut cake I've ever had and wonderful poached salmon sandwiches rather than smoked salmon ) the quirky library with squashy sofas n chairs. The outside chess, jenga and croquet along with the very pretty gardens. The quaint bedroom with patio doors. The homemade shortbread ( would love to have bought some ! ) which was in the room along with apples and water was also a treat. The breakfast the next morning was also of good quality and was served in the airy conservatory. The hotel do personalised gift vouchers which is a lovely idea and one which I made use of for my friend who needs a bit of a pick me up so gave her a voucher to book afternoon tea for two. If you want pristine, regimental, impeccable things, this is not the place for you. If you want quirkiness, comfiness, a place despite its olde worlde charm you actually feel very at home but with great food and service, this is the place. Alix is a wonderful and welcoming host and all the staff are so polite and courteous. Thank you Alix.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mads335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix Y, Manager at The Pear Tree at Purton, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post the lovely photos and review on our page. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay, particularly the coffee & walnut cake! Hopefully the certificate for completing the puzzle in the library is proudly displayed on your wall at home :)
We're looking forward to welcoming your friend for afternoon tea soon and hope to welcome you both back again soon.
Many thanks
Alix
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This is a great place in the Swindon area for food, business meetings or an overnight stay.

It is set in typically English countryside gardens which stretch out for many acres. It is very green, plush and well looked after. The view from the orangery area really is pretty on a spring or summer evening.

I have had our board meetings here as a location, and the deal on board rooms with food takes some beating. The food is brilliant, either during the day or at night. The starters are delicate, mains plentiful and sweets, erm, sweet. The staff are all very friendly and attentive and they are always willing to offer advice.

The hotel has some nice touches, it is very country house styles with lots going on. The rooms are very well appointed and there are fewer better places to stay in the region for the money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greggbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix Y, Manager at The Pear Tree at Purton, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for your kind words, we're really pleased that you still enjoy your visits to The Pear Tree. We're just started a revamp of the inside of the hotel, the restaurant's just been completed with a new floor, furniture and a new roof to keep it nice and cool in the summer.
Next step is the public areas and the bedrooms and hopefully you will get the chance to see them on your next visit.
Many thanks
Alix Young
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A wonderfully relaxing place to stay it was almost a home from home. The bar and restaurant have a really nice feel to them. The food was very good. Rooms also, a decent size, clean, comfortable and well appointed. Large garden complete with visiting deer.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RodericWey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix Y, Manager at The Pear Tree at Purton, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit as much as the deer seem to be enjoying the garden at the moment!
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards
Alix Young
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for one night for our anniversary. We were lucky with the weather and sat in the lovely gardens having a couple of drinks. Do try their own vineyard wine.
We had a standard room with complimentary home made shortbread, fruit and mineral water.
We had a great meal in the conservatory restaurant and the staff were excellent and very friendly.

Highly recommended

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Wurzelboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix Y, Manager at The Pear Tree at Purton, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
I'm really pleased that you and your wife enjoyed your last minute getaway with us. Sadly the weather wasn't great but I'd glad to hear your enjoyed it nonetheless. I'm also delighted that you enjoyed our home-grown wine, particularly as it is named after me!
We do hope to welcome you both back again soon.
Many thanks
Alix Young
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waddesdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Good facilities and meals. I didnt stop over although some of our team did. From what they said eveything was good and the bar was open late tooo. Only critisim would be the tea and coffee needed to be warmer and more of it. I suppose if I had asked they would of been happy to provide more..

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank waddesdon1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix Y, Manager at The Pear Tree at Purton, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your comments and I'm pleased that you enjoyed the majority of your meeting.
We know that your work training here is quite intensive and at the specific request of the trainers we provide the tea/coffee etc for breaks at the requested time but will leave outside the door if it is closed to avoid interrupting the meeting. If it is ever a bit colder than you'd like or you'd like more, do please let Reception know and we're always happy to provide a top up.
Many thanks
Alix Young
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel has a charm and style that is personal and friendly. It's brilliant for dogs. Our room was very good and comfortable and spotlessly. Dinner offers a great choice, was well presented and really delightful. Good quality food and I enjoyed the different gins. Decent wine list, reasonably priced. We love coffee after dinner in the library when the dogs can join us. Anne, Alix and Tim do their very best to make us feel welcome and we have stayed here for many years now during Badminton.
Thank you for another excellent stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix Y, Manager at The Pear Tree at Purton, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us again this year, it was lovely to welcome you and dogs back. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay and just sorry that the weather was so cold & windy for you at Badminton!
Looking forward to seeing you again next year.
Many thanks
Alix
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
3.9 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
6.2 mi away
De Vere Alexandra House
De Vere Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
911 reviews
5.6 mi away
Stanton House Hotel
Stanton House Hotel
#6 of 24 in Swindon
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 24 in Swindon
1,382 reviews
2.0 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 24 in Swindon
1,701 reviews
2.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pear Tree at Purton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pear Tree at Purton

Property: The Pear Tree at Purton
Address: Church End, Swindon SN5 4ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pear Tree at Purton 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pear Tree at Purton provides the perfect place to stay, whether it is for a romantic getaway or a place to rest your head before a business meeting in nearby Swindon.Set in 7.5 acres of gardens, which include a wildflower meadow and a vineyard, it is a perfect rural setting to relax and unwind. Yet we are only 10 minutes away from Swindon and Junction 16 of the M4. We specialise in celebrations, from special birthdays to groups of old friends meeting up. Let us know what you are after and we will come up with a fantastic schedule to suit you all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Pear Tree at Purton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pear Tree At Purton Hotel Swindon
Pear Tree At Purton Swindon
The Pear Tree At Purton Swindon, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing