We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you want to destress” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pear Tree at Purton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Pear Tree at Purton
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
Certificate of Excellence
Addlestone in Surrey
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“If you want to destress”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2010

What a super hotel, we went away on the 10th October to celebrate by birthday.
What a super hotel, we could not fault this hotel at all.Awaiting in the room on our arrival was a plate of fruit and two bottles of quality water, sparkling and still.
On the tea tray was two beautiful home baked shortcake biscuits, which both was replaced each day. What a treat after a day out and about!
Super white fluffy bath towels
white fluffy bathrobes, even cotton wool buds and cotton wool balls put in the bathroom.The bed was so comfortable also.
Service was impecable. We had dinner each evening, what a treat, they must employ the top chefs! and desserts to die for. This hotel is SPOTLESSLY CLEAN.
We shall most certainly be staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sabporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    79
    23
    11
    5
See reviews for
68
176
7
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

Lovely gardens and very comfortable clean rooms. We enjoyed walks in the garden and a lovely dinner in the pavilion.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Savoring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

We had booked a 2 night break with the sunday evening to include dinner. On arrival on saturday the lady on reception was busy taking another booking on the telephone which meant that we had to wait a while to be checked in. We were upgraded to an executive room which had a lovely view of the back garden. Impressive!! The room was a good size with a seating area but we felt it was a little shabby and old fashion. The carpet definitely needed replacing and also all carpets particulaly on stairs and corridors along with the rather hideous pink/white striped wallpaper should be updated.
On the first evening we walked to the local curry house in Purton About a ten minute walk from the hotel.We had a delicious curry and would recommend this restaurant as service was very good and reasonably priced. On the Sunday evening dinner we had in hotel.Its was very tasty but why do these restaurants not give a proper size main course?.
Too much emphasis on presentation we think. We enjoy a good wholesome meal so we left feeling hungery and a little cheated. Breakfast was plentiful with lots of choice.
Location of hotel is down a country road and if you enjoy walking there are walks straight out of the hotel across the road .
We enjoyed our stay here(especially sitting out in the beautiful garden)but like a lot of hotels it does not represent good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 25274747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Eaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2010

We stayed recently on a DB&B basis. The Hotel stands in its own beautifully kept gardens in a perfect position for The Southern Cotswolds and Wiltshire's attractions. If you are looking for spa's and indoor pools, forget it,this is a perfect country house hotel and better for it. Food at breakfast and dinner was faultless, so was the service. We can't comment on the standard rooms but our superior was large with seating area, patio,and multi channel flat screen TV. If your looking for Peace and Quiet, Good Service look no further

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Summerlovin_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mid england
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

Only visted for a meal but very pleased with the standard of the restaurant , service and food. The hotel has a lovely setting for summer meals , with 2 large conservatories overlooking pleasant gardens and a small pond.
We and our friends felt unhurried and had a relaxed an enjoyable evening .
The food is well presented . I am not sure if I could classiffy it to any particulay style but the ingredients were fresh and the cooking competent . I had the lamb which was nicely cooked but had a rather uninteresting assortment of vegetatbles . The starters and desserts were very good.
Overall I have no hestitation in recommending this restaurant to anyone who is looking for a pleasant country destination

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank soprano4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2010

Living and working in London its hard to find somewhere that is not too far away for a relaxing couple of days in the country.

We heard about the gardens and service at the Pear Tree and thought to give it a go. Our arrival was lovely, greeted by a smiley receptionist who kindly escorted us to the room. The room itself was a lovely size, overlooked the garden and even had a spa bath - a real treat. Dinner was outstanding, from the enjoyable summer views over the vineyard and outside chess set, to the delicious and surprising canapés given while we enjoyed our pre dinner drink. Breakfast was amazing, none of this hot buffet business you often find in hotels these days. A true Wiltshire breakfast.

This hotel is perfect if you want to get away from it all and enjoy the country, this is a true country hotel. If you are looking for a city hotel in the country go somewhere else. I cant help but think some of the not so favorable reviews haven't quite grasped the fact that this is a quiet country retreat, not a full blown city hotel.

We will be back !

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Londonworldwide2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2010

Sunday night is not always the best night to stay in a hotel as it can be very quiet - and The Pear Tree was certainly this last night. Why don't they have a little background music so that you can converse at the dinner table in more than a very hushed whisper? We expected to have a fine dining experience, but it seems that they are trying that bit too hard to come up with something different - the only warm starter was fennel soup with prawn dumplings! My companion declared it the wierdest thing he has ever eaten. The food didn't get any better really, my rib-eye steak was so covered in a rich, sickly sauce that it was impossible to tell what was meat or fat. The hotel building and surrounds are delightful and the bedroom plenty big enough but quite bland. The staff (all 2 of them) were very helpful but it was quite awkward trying to find someone to get a drink. The only cider was Strongbow which was a let down being so close to cider country. Back to the room, sadly the bed was hard and the pillow lacked any oomph so a good nights sleep was impossible. On a positive point the breakfast was first class, unfortunately on the hottest day of the year it was served in the conservatory - phew! We may have picked the wrong day of the week for atmosphere but the food and beds would have been just the same.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KateGt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
5.6 mi away
Stanton House Hotel
Stanton House Hotel
#6 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
6.2 mi away
De Vere Alexandra House
De Vere Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
3.9 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#2 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
2.0 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,627 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cricklade House
Cricklade House
#1 of 1 in Cricklade
4.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pear Tree at Purton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pear Tree at Purton

Property: The Pear Tree at Purton
Address: Church End, Swindon SN5 4ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Pear Tree at Purton 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pear Tree at Purton provides the perfect place to stay, whether it is for a romantic getaway or a place to rest your head before a business meeting in nearby Swindon.Set in 7.5 acres of gardens, which include a wildflower meadow and a vineyard, it is a perfect rural setting to relax and unwind. Yet we are only 10 minutes away from Swindon and Junction 16 of the M4. We specialise in celebrations, from special birthdays to groups of old friends meeting up. Let us know what you are after and we will come up with a fantastic schedule to suit you all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Pear Tree at Purton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pear Tree At Purton Hotel Swindon
Pear Tree At Purton Swindon
The Pear Tree At Purton Swindon, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing