We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for a short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good for a short stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

The hotel is very modern and decor is very good. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel is spotless. The Breakfast was very good, I was very impressed. The hotel is very good value for money.Very good locatuion (just oppisite Train Station) and right in City Centre.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RDJ1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Constantin S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Dear RDJ1990,

Firstly please allow me to thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre. I am very happy to hear that you have found our staff friendly and helpful, the breakfast to your satisfaction and the cleanliness of the hotel "spotless". I was particularly happy to read the "extremely friendly and helpful" comment...we are a very passionate team and having it acknowledged is a great reward. Thank you again and we look forward to welcome you back at the Holiday Inn express Swindon City Centre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    198
    122
    52
    53
See reviews for
61
108
52
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PLYMOUTH
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

You can't park at the hotel you have to go across the road and park at the railway station.

We weren't told when we booked that their restaurant would be closed on the Saturday night. We had gone for a day's shopping at the Designer Outlet and thought we would have a meal in the hotel and a few drinks in the bar after. Unfortunately this was not to be.

Out party of 3 were split up although they did eventually get us all on the same floor hence it took a long time to book in.

Despite saying that I needed a gluten free diet the only thing I could eat for breakfast was scrambled egg and/or beans, fruit and/or a yoghurt.

The hotel being smack in the city centre was opposite a busy police station and near clubland so it was very noisy.

The rooms were good but we wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRSFROSTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Constantin S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Dear MRSFROSTY,

Please allow me to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn express Swindon City Centre. Firstly, I would like to sincerely apologize for not fully meeting your expectations. As you mentioned, the hotel does not own its own car park however we have negotiated a competitive rate with the car park situated only 100 meters away from the hotel. Regarding the dinner on Saturday, due to the hotel and the restaurant being fully booked (we had several coaches dinning with us) we have made the decision that we could not deliver the dinner service at the high standards we continuously aim to achieve. I would also like to apologize for the confusion regarding the gluten free diet...as we do have gluten free items available at all times the situation can only be explained by a potential communication gap within my team. Regarding your longer than expected wait during check in, as the hotel was fully booked the team members found it challenging at that time to find three rooms of the type you booked, on the same floor...I am happy however that despite these challenges they have managed to organize this for you. We discussed your feedback as a team and we feel that some of the experiences described could have been prevented by a better and constant communication process with yourself on the day, an experience we have all learned from. Thank you for sharing your feedback and allowing us to continuously improve the service experience provided to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

Splitting a journey to the west country, I stopped overnight in Swindon after booking at the last miunute via "Booking.com". This was £64 well spent. Being in the middle of Swindon, you have a good choice of places to eat and it is but a short walk for the railway station and all the buses you could ever desire.

A really well thought out room, too. The ensuite has a neat trick in that the door to the loo doubles as the door to the ensuite. This gives anyone sharing the room access to the shower without having to listen in on "the captain's log". Also had free Wifi and a supremely comfortable bed. I finished my report, slept well and was on the road for 7am as planned.

Room Tip: The receptionist directed me to a £6 a night car-park near the station but there is a small (and che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Constantin S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Dear Timothy G,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre. It was great to hear that you enjoyed the location of the hotel, the "well thought out" room, and that you found your stay relaxing. I have already shared you feedback with the team and they are very happy to hear your feedback. Once again, thank you for sharing you experience and we look forward to welcome you back at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

I stayed at this hotel for one night with a friend. It was a 5 minute walk from the station and easy to find. I wasn't sure at first from the look of the outside but as soon as we walked through the door it was lovely and modern. Check-in was quick and easy, the gentleman on the desk was lovely and helpful. On arrival of the room it was clean and tidy and smelt really fresh. I noticed the remote control was missing and when i asked when passing reception I was given one there and then with no hesitation. Arrived late back to the hotel that evening and we had to use our room key to gain access to the building and there were no problems with this either so the security of the building was excellent. We were able to have a nightcap also at the bar as it is 24 hour service for residents of the hotel. We had a lovely nights sleep followed by a lovel hot shower the next morning. Breakfast was lovely, brilliant variety of hot and cold items, unlimited tea,coffee and juice to help yourself to. When we came to check out our train was not for a few hours so we were able to leave our bags to go and do some shopping. When collecting the bags we were again offered complimentary tea and coffee as we decided to stay for a drink at the bar. All in all it was a lovely hotel with very accommodating staff and we will definitely be back to stay in the future and will be recommending to family and friends :)

Room Tip: For a short stay this is a brilliant hotel for the price that you pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emorgirl82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Constantin S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Dear Emorgirl82,

It was great to hear your comments on your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre! Firstly, thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the hotel. I was very happy to hear that you had a lovely stay, that you found the hotel modern, the room clean and tidy and the security of the building excellent. I was also happy to hear that you enjoyed our late bar service and that you found our breakfast to your liking. I am particularly happy to hear that your check in was quick and easy, the staff "lovely and helpful", but also that you enjoyed a well deserved coffee after a long and I am sure "exhausting" day shopping...ha ha. Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcome you back at the Holiday in express Swindon City Centre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

We booked one night at the Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre last weekend very last minute, as we decided to leave a day earlier for our holidays in the Forest of Dean and half the driving. I decided to book the city centre hotel over the one on the M4 as it was cheaper and was not too far from motorway.

On arrival on Sunday evening we were very pleasantly surprised by the helpfulness of the staff, we had booked a family room and requested a travel cot and quiet room, the staff helped as with our luggage as we were carrying our sleepy toddler and newborn baby plus bags, and were friendly and courteous.

The room itself was a breath of fresh air compared to other family rooms we have stayed in. Very generous size, with a queen bed and a large sofa already made up as a double bed, and a travelcot made up with fresh linen and a baby duvet/blanket. There was a fridge and a microwave in the room, to our pleasant surprise, which came in very handy for preparing the baby's food and toddler bedtime milk. Not only that but there was ample space left for suitcases and even space left for our toddler to play with his cars etc.

The ensuite was clean and towels were fresh. The usual provisions expected were all there, kettle and coffee/tea making facilities, a hairdyer, TV, even an iron. The room was on the fourth floor and was quiet and had views of the trains/ train station.

Breakfast was included in the price, and was by the reception area/lobby. It was advertised when we booked as 'free continental breakfast, so we expected a croissant and some coffee, when we went downstairs in the morning, once again we were pleasantly surprised by the variety and choice: scrambled eggs, sausages, croissants and delicious pain au chocolats, bread, jams, cheese, fruits and yoghurts, milk and cereals. The breakfast area was busy but with plenty of seating, so ginding somewhere to sit all 4 of us was straightforward and breakfast / bar staff were only too pleased to arrange for a highchair for our toddler. Two large TVs are available near the breakfast area and free wifi was also available in the same area, which I used and found to be uncomplicated and fast.

We would like to thank Miroslav for being super attentive during our check in on Sunday night and all the staff that made our stay (and start of our holiday) so comfy and pleasant. We will be returning soon and would not hesitate recommending this hotel to families with young children, couples, and business travellers.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank lia-p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Constantin S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Dear Lia-P,

It was great to read your comments regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre and to hear that you have found the room, the breakfast and the whole experience to your expectations. I was also very happy to hear that you found our staff helpful, pleasant and that "it made your stay". I am a strong believer in the fact that staff makes a hotel, and I feel proud and lucky to have a very passionate team supporting me. I have passed your comments to all our team members and to Miroslav and they were very happy to be acknoledged. Thank you, and we look forward to welcome you back at the Holiday inn Express Swindon City Centre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ely, cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

I was looking for a competitively priced , clean and comfortable hotel within the easiest walking distance of Swindon railway station and I found it in the Holiday Inn Express in Bridge Street which which is an easy 3 minute walk from the station. Don't be put off by the unlet undercfoft shop spaces. Once you have gained entry by the speakerphone and reached reception (and dining) area your are in a diffferent world where the staff seem genuinely pleased to see you and where the straightforward Holiday Inn Express package is as it should be. I'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiphookLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Constantin S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, 1 October 2012
Dear LiphoodLad,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre. I was happy to hear that we managed to meet your expectations and that you found our staff genuine and carrying - we are a very passionate team and it is a very good feeling to have it acknowledged. Thank you again and we look forward to welcome you back at the Holiday Inn express swindon City Centre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

I enjoy staying at this hotel and have done so on and off for a couple of years as and when I've been working in the area. The reason is simple - the staff, they're a good bunch and it's a pleasure to stay here. They go the extra mile in terms of friendliness and hospitality. Chain hotels are chain hotels in terms of the offering, this one's a tower block with limited parking - not my normal choice. However, I'd rather stay here than in any of the other Holiday Inn establishments in Swindon. Okay it's clean and tidy, the food is fine, the internet works etc. etc. but when you spend hours on the road, work irregular hours out in all weathers it's not just the bed that counts, it's the whole package. Keep up the good work folks, it is appreciated.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on higher floors, above 2nd floor, as they can be hot. City side rooms can be noisy due...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hardascustard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Constantin S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Dear Hardascustard,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your experiences at the Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre. I was very happy to hear that you enjoy your stays with us and that our team meets your expectations. I have already passed your feedback to all my staff personally and it was very rewarding to see their happy response at having their efforts acknowledged. On a personal note, I felt very proud to have my team's passion for service recognized and I would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Thank you and we look forward to welcome you back at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#2 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
0.8 mi away
20 at The Kings
20 at The Kings
#23 of 24 in Swindon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Campanile Swindon
Campanile Swindon
#16 of 24 in Swindon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Swindon
Holiday Inn Swindon
#21 of 24 in Swindon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Swindon West (M4, J16) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre
Address: Bridge Street, Swindon SN1 1BT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Swindon City Centre is a new modern hotel offering a bar, restaurant and 6 modern meeting rooms. Each modern guest room is spacious and offers power shower, cosy beds and plasma-screen LCD satellite TV. Complimentary Hot Continental Breakfast is included in the rate. Relax in the lounge area, with 2 large screen TVs. Enjoy a prime location in the Swindon City Centre, only minutes away from shops and attractions such as STEAM Museum, Outlet Village or Oasis Leisure Centre. The Swindon Rail Station and the Central bus station are a brief walk away. Pop in a train or a bus and visit the historical towns of Bath, Oxford, Cirencester, Wotton Basset, Cippenham or Bristol.Located close to one of the most important ancient routes in the UK - The Ridgeway. At 85 miles long and 6000 years old, it offers some of the finest walking, cycling and horse riding experiences in the UK. Walk a short way along The Ridgeway and you will find Barbury Castle, Wiltshires best Iron Age fort. Further along you will see the famous White Horses at Hackpen.Within touching distance are the delightful Cotswolds. This Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty is world renowned for its rolling hills and hidden valleys. Most certainly a quintessential English landscape not to be missed. Only 15 minutes north is The Cotswolds Water Park. With 147 Lakes it offers canoeing, sailing, fishing windsurfing and waterskiing. Close to Avebury, Stonehenge and Westonbirt - The National Arboretum which is one of the most spectacular tree gardens in the world. Visit Castle Combe and Lacock Abbey, a National Trust property. Breathtaking scenery, prehistoric sites, the Cotswolds, castles, historic houses & gardens, Britain's largest water park and The Ridgeway-all a short distance from Swindon. With so much to see and do you must make Swindon your touring base! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre Hotel Swindon
Holiday Inn Swindon
Swindon Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing