We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, expensive WiFi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre
Ranked #23 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Stayed here for one night whilst visiting the area. Room was large and clean with en suit shower (no bath). Room had coffee making facilities but only enough supplies for one drink each (2 people). WiFi charged at £15 a day which is ridiculous but go to fast food outlets or pubs for free WiFi. Breakfast small selection but free and as the hotel was cheap no complaints. Staff friendly enough. Stayed on a Friday and no noise from other guests. Car parking £5 a day in station car park.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrej K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2013

Dear Chris O, I would like to thank you for sharing you Holiday In Express experience with rest of the TripAdvisor community. Your comments are surely informative and serve as useful tips to other travelers choosing to stay with us. Internet fees are set by an external provider, however in this day and age we recognize that WiFi is an absolute necessity and should be available free. We are currently in negotiations with the current supplier to enable us to offer complimentary WiFi in all areas and we hope that this will materialize in the near foreseeable future. Car parking is set at £6.00 / 24 hours and just a short walk away from the Reception. For our Priority Club members this fee is reduced to £5.00 as a token of appreciation and Loyalty to the Brand. Thank you for your comments and hope to Welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Andrej Katona.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (571)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

392 - 398 of 571 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2013

Stayed one night at this Holiday Inn Express. It was ideally located for the boxing night at the Oasis Leisure Center. The surrounding area is pretty run down but the hotel and room were very clean and tidy and smart.The breakfast, which was included, was also good considering the price we paid for the night.The only problem we had was the very noisy lift which we could here all night when anybody came in or out as are room was next to it oh and the shower tray was very slow emptying due to a blockage but considering everything great value for the money.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms by the lift or take ear plugs
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrej K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2013

Dear Ian P, thank you for your recent review. Holiday Inn Express concept is to offer Great value for Money - personal customer service, clean, modern bedroom and plentiful, quality breakfast with our Branch being at forefront of delivery. Preventative Maintenance program in place is generally very effective, however we find that sometimes guests do report deficiencies in this department and we always strive to rectify the issues in a timely manner or offer an acceptable alternative which was not necessary in your case. Once again, thank you for commenting on your Experience with us which I read with pleasure, and I will surely communicate it with rest of my Team and if you travel to Swindon again, consider us as first choice of your Accommodation.

Kind regards,

Andrej Katona.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Just a room for the night.

Standard Holiday Inn Express welcome and room layout.

Heating or was it A/C did not work. Fortunately the window opened. So I did not complain.

Television did not work - no signal. Not bothered by this so I did not complain.

Bathroom functional. I especially like the Holiday Inn Express shower.

Breakfast included a decent coffee and was made pleasurable by a staff member who serviced the tables well with a smile and lively banter.

Free WiFi in Lounge.

I would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Competency
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrej K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2013

Dear Competency, thank you for your TripAdvisor review and candid feedback. We continuously strive to improve our services to you. We have an ongoing Preventative Maintenance Program in place which is designed to eliminate issues like TVs with no signal and ACs. In fact both would have required only to be reset, which our Receptionists are capable of. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience, and as mentioned, to rectify the issues would have been a minor task perhaps worth reporting for your convenience. I am delighted you enjoyed your breakfast experience with us. Breakfast is a great part of our services and offers a good range to start off your day. Once again, thank you for your feedback and scores and I look forward to welcome you back at Holiday Inn Express - Swindon City Centre.

Kind regards,

Andrej Katona.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013 via mobile

Not had breakfast yet but experience so far: Dodgy entrance. Reasonably friendly receptionist. Stains on bedroom floor. Tv seems to be tuned to start up on dodgy channels and although I haven't tried it - breakfast is not going to be great. My worry is, I have to walk back there and not sure I'll make it / here's hoping!!! Go to Chippenham instead, much nicer :-)

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FSG0605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

Dear FSG0605,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our friendly staff.

However, We’re sorry you received poor service from housekeeping. We will look into this. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Stayed a Saturday night this week and have to say it was a very acceptable experience. 3 of us put up in a family room (okay the kiddies bed was a sofa bed) and it was fantastic value for money. The room was clean, warm and had a good bathroom with a very good shower. Would have liked a few more offerings on the drink tray, but hey, this was budget price. Breakfast was perfectly adequate and was replenished frequently. Maybe you shouldn't turn up for it five minutes before it closes. The staff were very friendly and helpful and a credit to the hotel and town. The only downside we experienced was the street noise at night which has been mentioned by many others and we were on the fourth floor. Just have an extra drink before bed!

Room Tip: Get a room on upper floors not overlooking Bridge Street.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wotsit89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrej K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Dear wotsit89, I would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us and the rest of the TripAdvisor community. It is the IHG's - Holiday Inn Express' credo to be 'Great Hotels Guest Love', so I am delighted that you had a 'cracking' time in Swindon and I am honored that we could have been part of it. I will also make sure to share your comments with the rest of the Team, as I'm know they'll be as pleased to hear it as I was. Once again thank you for staying with us and we look forward to Welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Andrej Katona.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

On arrival the staff at the desk were welcoming & friendly, gave info on surrounding bars/clubs/shops/etc & when we got given a double bed room instead of two singles they switched it immediately - both rooms were lovely, clean & spacious with a cleverly designed bathroom. Breakfast the next morning was great, they had a range of everything. Overall we enjoyed our stay, a massive thank you to all the staff who were friendly and approachable and especially Miroslav who went out of his way to ensure our trip was enjoyable. Thank you!

Room Tip: The higher the better - we had a room on the 5th floor, it was quiet & even though the surroundi...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrej K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Dear Hannah M, I was pleased to learn about your experience with us and I would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with the rest of the TripAdvisor community. Our staff is our pride and I will make sure that I pass on your comment to Miroslav and the rest of the Team. We feel that the complimentary hot breakfast provides a good start to a day, be it after a night out or for a working day ahead. I would also like to thank you for the useful tip about requesting quieter side of the hotel when staying over the weekend as I am sure many of our future customers will find it useful.
Once again thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back at the Hotel.

Kind regards,

Andrej Katona.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Stayed here for 1 saturday night in the middle of feb and all i can say is it was a very pleasant stay ! very convenient for shops and train station and excellent value for money, bit stingy on tea,coffee etc. in the room but most hotels are and you can allways help yourself from the resteraunt ! Well done holiday inn but keep your prices reasonable !

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunnyjo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrej K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2013

Dear sunnyjo11, thank you for your comments about your experience with us. We always strive to be competitive and provide a good value for money. Priority Club Rewards members always enjoy benefits such as: free WiFi in the lobby, complimentary hot drinks from the Breakfast Bar, discounted parking, and additional discounts at our Bar & Restaurant and of course Gold and Platinum chocolate token. Once again, thank you for sharing your comments with rest of the TripAdvisor community and I look forward welcoming you back at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 25 in Swindon
1,551 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
1.4 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 25 in Swindon
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Swindon Central Hotel
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Swindon
Holiday Inn Swindon
#18 of 25 in Swindon
485 reviews
0.9 mi away
20 at The Kings
20 at The Kings
#24 of 25 in Swindon
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre

Address: Bridge Street, Swindon SN1 1BT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Price Range: £47 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Swindon City Centre is a new modern hotel offering a bar, restaurant and 6 modern meeting rooms. Each modern guest room is spacious and offers power shower, cosy beds and plasma-screen LCD satellite TV. Complimentary Hot Continental Breakfast is included in the rate. Relax in the lounge area, with 2 large screen TVs. Enjoy a prime location in the Swindon City Centre, only minutes away from shops and attractions such as STEAM Museum, Outlet Village or Oasis Leisure Centre. The Swindon Rail Station and the Central bus station are a brief walk away. Pop in a train or a bus and visit the historical towns of Bath, Oxford, Cirencester, Wotton Basset, Cippenham or Bristol.Located close to one of the most important ancient routes in the UK - The Ridgeway. At 85 miles long and 6000 years old, it offers some of the finest walking, cycling and horse riding experiences in the UK. Walk a short way along The Ridgeway and you will find Barbury Castle, Wiltshires best Iron Age fort. Further along you will see the famous White Horses at Hackpen.Within touching distance are the delightful Cotswolds. This Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty is world renowned for its rolling hills and hidden valleys. Most certainly a quintessential English landscape not to be missed. Only 15 minutes north is The Cotswolds Water Park. With 147 Lakes it offers canoeing, sailing, fishing windsurfing and waterskiing. Close to Avebury, Stonehenge and Westonbirt - The National Arboretum which is one of the most spectacular tree gardens in the world. Visit Castle Combe and Lacock Abbey, a National Trust property. Breathtaking scenery, prehistoric sites, the Cotswolds, castles, historic houses & gardens, Britain's largest water park and The Ridgeway-all a short distance from Swindon. With so much to see and do you must make Swindon your touring base! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre Hotel Swindon
Holiday Inn Swindon
Swindon Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing