We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff, very good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre
Ranked #20 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great staff, very good value”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We arrived late on Sunday 27th, 2 tired hungry children in tow, and not knowing what this hotel has in store. We were greeted pleasantly and efficiently and given all the info we needed for our one night stay. The room was on the 5th floor, pretty standard, but fine for our one night stay in Swindon. The receptionist recommended JR buffet for something to eat, another new experience, but happy to give it a go. My wife is vegetarian and all her needs were met, the children were very happy and I didn't know when to stop, gluttony wasn't the word, just try it, worth every penny. The sleeping arrangement was cosy, but exactly what we expected, it was fine. Breakfast, although simple and nice, was the Nancy show, what a super lady to get you off to a great start in the morning. She interacted with every single person and even tried to talk my children's slippers off their feet, keep hold of this one IHG, a truly genuine hard working lady who enjoys her work.
We visit Swindon once a year, we know where we will be staying......

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrej K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Andy S,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we were all pleased to read that you had a great experience. Nancy is a key Member of our Management Team, yet still she is very genuine and loves the Guest Interaction (Entertainment). She was really please with your feedback as we all were, so thank you for your kind comments, and we'll see you again in a years time!

Kind regards,

Andrej Katona
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    202
    124
    52
    53
See reviews for
63
110
52
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The rooms are very comfortable we had everything we needed although there was a bit of noise from the nearby nightclub.we were part of a coach party-the staff coped very well with all of us turning up to eat at the same time although there were a few hiccups with the food which had been pre ordered.Robert and his staff were very obliging -going the extra mile to keep us happy.overall it is a very clean and comfortable place .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrej K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear Sue A,

Thank you for taking the time and effort to write these kind words here on TripAdvisor. I am pleased that you enjoyed your time with us, and that everything ran smoothly. Robert is one of our valued Management Team Members and I am know he was very pleased with your feedback. Once again thank you and hopefully see you in the nearby future.

Kind regards,

Andrej Katona
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2013

It's not very often I stay in a Holiday Inn Express but it was a good option due to its location to the station. I must admit I wasn't expecting much at all but I really was blown away by the friendy and professinal nature of the staff. I have to especially mention Mollie and Jade who were superb at dealing with any queries I had and even helped me to locate nearby restaurants and places to have a drink after work. It is often difficult staying away from home for long periods but Mollie and Jade made you almost feel part of the team. Top service and enjoyed every night of my stay. I will be staying again for sure the next time I work in Swindon.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovey but would recommend travellers stay on the side that faces the railway line, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naif19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrej K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Naif19,

Thank you for your staying with us and your positive feedback. The Team and Jade & Mollie in particular were very excited to read your comments as it is comments like yours that truly make the our endeavours worthwhile. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards,
Andrej Katoma
Operations Manager

PS: I have a uniform ready for you, when you come next time, since you mentioned that they make you feel like a member of our Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

As someone who used to work for a global hotel chain (IHGs competitor!) I have harsher standards than the average guest.

HI Swindon - well done and thank you for a great stay (rm 113). Superb value for money and even though I had an adapted room I was more than happy. In fact, I quite liked that room.

Jade checked me in and was extremely friendly, professional, and a speedy check in. Every team member is multi skilled and so they don't have any sense of being short staffed. Every team member was very friendly too.

Breakfast was fairly basic but good enough to get my day started. I'd love it if the juice wasn't quite so sweet and sickly but a dash of water sorted that out.

The only thing I'd give constructive feedback on - air con. I hadn't spotted the radiator in the wall sou was trying to get warm air from air con. Receptionist sent up Engineering rather than simply telling me there was a radiator to use I instead. No disaster though!

Without doubt I'll be back. Superb value for money and a great nights sleep!

Justin

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrej K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Dear Justin,

Thank you for choosing to stay with Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre. We were very pleased to read that we withstood the test of an ex Hotel Manager of a Global Brand (Hilton?) as I know from my own experience, when I am staying away, I turn into a Hotel Inspector myself, often being harsher than usual. The one thing that will always make the difference to me is the Customer Service and therefore I am delighted that you found Jade and the rest of our Team to be forthcoming and friendly, making a real difference to your stay. Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel.

Kind regards,

Andrej Katona
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
343 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Its not very oftern you stay at a holiday inn and the staff are chatty and smiles but this hotel was full of it, would recommend to stay here, this is our 3 rd time we stayed here and definatly the best. We will be going back, the only slight complaint i would have (but not the hotels fault) is the one way system, it was a nightmare

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bristolbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrej K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Dear PaulMasonBristol,

Thank you for your repeat custom, and your kind words here on TripAdvisor. They were received with sincere gratitude. Public praise, such as yours, is a great reward for us as we are very passionate about delivering personable customer service to all of our guests, and so it is nice to see that the seed of our efforts has come to fruition. Once again, thank you for your stay and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards,

Andrej Katona
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I had a four week stay here for business. IHG are not "cheap", but they are a budget chain.

From the minute I arrived, I was treated to fantastic service. And I am not talking about one or two people. Every single staff member, no matter how busy they were, were very attentive and always went that extra mile to help. I noticed that the younger staff members took their cues from the senior staff like Robert & co. Nothing was too much trouble.

I have stayed in 4 and 5 star hotels that could learn something about customer service from this team.

Room Tip: Go higher if you can. There are a few pubs at the bottom of the city here, so you can get less noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PRFitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrej K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Dear PRFitz,

Thank you for staying with us and your lovely comments, they were received with great pleasure. We try our utmost to meet all of Guests' individual needs. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Andrej Katona
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Stayed for one night as part of a larger party. The location is central and with that does come the usual city centre problems - noise, litter, drunks, etc. But once you're inside the hotel it's fine.

We were welcomed by Robert who was great. Polite and friendly and made sure everybody had rooms and everything they needed.

My room was large and spacious and was typical Holiday Inn Express. Free wifi was also a bonus. The bathroom was a little small and pokey and there was a suspect stain on the floor but overall a nice room.

Breakfast was better than I've seen at other Holiday Inn Express' but still nowhere near up to a 'good hotel standard' ... but then it's free I suppose! Didn't pay for the room so can't comment on value.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonp820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrej K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Dear simonp820,

Thank you for staying with us. (I think you had no choice :-) ), and for sharing your feedback with the rest of the TripAdvisor community. We are always pleased when the Guests remember the Front Desk Agents' name (Robert - Duty Manager) as this indicated that they really made themselves stand out and made the difference to your stay. Needless to say of course that Robert was equally delighted to read you comments. As you identified with regards to breakfast, it is a Free Offering that should provide a good value to our Guests. Our scrambled egg is made in house by a Chef and we source our sausages from a butcher. Our Continental selection is also great, so there is something for everyone. Thank you oncer again and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Andrej Katona
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,419 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
0.8 mi away
20 at The Kings
20 at The Kings
#23 of 24 in Swindon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Campanile Swindon
Campanile Swindon
#15 of 24 in Swindon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Swindon
Holiday Inn Swindon
#18 of 24 in Swindon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Swindon West (M4, J16) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre
Address: Bridge Street, Swindon SN1 1BT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Swindon City Centre is a new modern hotel offering a bar, restaurant and 6 modern meeting rooms. Each modern guest room is spacious and offers power shower, cosy beds and plasma-screen LCD satellite TV. Complimentary Hot Continental Breakfast is included in the rate. Relax in the lounge area, with 2 large screen TVs. Enjoy a prime location in the Swindon City Centre, only minutes away from shops and attractions such as STEAM Museum, Outlet Village or Oasis Leisure Centre. The Swindon Rail Station and the Central bus station are a brief walk away. Pop in a train or a bus and visit the historical towns of Bath, Oxford, Cirencester, Wotton Basset, Cippenham or Bristol.Located close to one of the most important ancient routes in the UK - The Ridgeway. At 85 miles long and 6000 years old, it offers some of the finest walking, cycling and horse riding experiences in the UK. Walk a short way along The Ridgeway and you will find Barbury Castle, Wiltshires best Iron Age fort. Further along you will see the famous White Horses at Hackpen.Within touching distance are the delightful Cotswolds. This Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty is world renowned for its rolling hills and hidden valleys. Most certainly a quintessential English landscape not to be missed. Only 15 minutes north is The Cotswolds Water Park. With 147 Lakes it offers canoeing, sailing, fishing windsurfing and waterskiing. Close to Avebury, Stonehenge and Westonbirt - The National Arboretum which is one of the most spectacular tree gardens in the world. Visit Castle Combe and Lacock Abbey, a National Trust property. Breathtaking scenery, prehistoric sites, the Cotswolds, castles, historic houses & gardens, Britain's largest water park and The Ridgeway-all a short distance from Swindon. With so much to see and do you must make Swindon your touring base! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre Hotel Swindon
Holiday Inn Swindon
Swindon Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing