We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK - bit of a pain if you drive there”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre
Ranked #23 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Stayed 2 nights on business. Arrived after a long drive, to find that there is no parking and you have to pay an additional charge and park at the station which is a short walk which shouldn't be a problem unless it is tipping down like it was when I arrived. The staff were friendly and helpfull. Rooms clean and functional. Breakfast is a bit basic but passable. Location is very good if travelling by train but a pain if driving. Check out the brazillian BBQ restaurant next door - exceptional food.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestWalesHorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrej K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear WestWalesHorse,

I would like to thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience with the rest of TripAdvisor community. Once again thank you and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Andrej Katona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (591)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

350 - 356 of 591 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2013

Nice rooms, nothing too fancy but everything you need and very clean. I was most impressed by the friendliness of the staff however. One member of staff even walked with me to show me where a restaurant was after his shift was finished. Reception staff were very friendly.

Nice breakfast in the morning, again, nothing too fancy but met your needs, but what could I expect for their very reasonable rates?

Would certainly recommend and I would happily go back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrej K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Skymover,

I would like to thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience with the rest of TripAdvisor community. Once again thank you and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Andrej Katona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

First stay here. Room was clean and tidy. Check-in was pleasant; two girls (sorry, forgot their names) with a smile and a sense of humour. Checked out at 6am, computer system was down so could not get an invoice. Rob was very apologetic and took my details promising to e-mail the invoice. Got it late morning. Excellent! Parking is a pain and Swindon town center (the new bit) is a total dump, but that is not the hotels fault. Would stay again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank SkyMover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrej K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Redhead5716,

I would like to thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience with the rest of TripAdvisor community. Once again thank you and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Andrej Katona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

have stayed at this hotel on many occasions whilst visiting friends and family. it is very well managed, clean and comfortable. The staff on reception are friendly and welcoming and willing to answer any queries you may have. Breakfast is simple but more than adequate with absolutely no limit on how much you can eat. Tables are cleared constantly so are always clean. I have to give a special mention to the ever smiling,ever helpful Nancy for whom it seems nothing is too much trouble and certainly starts everyones day off with a smile. She and Beth are a good team to have on hand.
If you want somewhere central to stay in Swindon this hotel is ideally situated close to the railway station shops bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redhead5716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrej K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear redhead5716,

I would like to thank you for staying with us and your compliments to the Hotel Staff and namely Nancy and Beth. We always appreciate when Guests take out the time to go the extra mile for us and make the effort of writing a review on a public channel, such as TripAdvisor, so thank you once again and we genuinely hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Andrej Katona
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

As a wheelchair user who requires help at night times I use this hotel a lot. The staff are extremely helpful and if you ask for an accessible room there is plenty of space and a great wet room.. Be aware that it is a city centre location so don't complain about the night club noise outside. This never bothers me as I am normally out enjoying myself in the city anyway. It is only at weekends that the clubs are loud so will not be an issue for you weekdays. I do not put up with sub standard service or poor facilities and so am pleased to write an honest and flattering review. As they say, location, location, location. For us that struggle with mobility but want to get on and have a great life you have an easy access hotel in the middle of an accessible city and to top it off, near to a train station. Try it. I did once five years ago and return often! Just need to say once more, the staff are wonderful and extremely considerate.

Room Tip: At weekends get the rooms furthest away from the night club
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John-Andrew-Simpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrej K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear John-Andrew-Simpson

Thank you for staying with us and your flattering comments about your experience. I am also very pleased to learn that we lived up to your expectations in all areas: service, accessibility, quality, design and location. Once again thank you and we hope to welcome you in the future.

Kind regards,

Andrej Katona
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We arrived late on Sunday 27th, 2 tired hungry children in tow, and not knowing what this hotel has in store. We were greeted pleasantly and efficiently and given all the info we needed for our one night stay. The room was on the 5th floor, pretty standard, but fine for our one night stay in Swindon. The receptionist recommended JR buffet for something to eat, another new experience, but happy to give it a go. My wife is vegetarian and all her needs were met, the children were very happy and I didn't know when to stop, gluttony wasn't the word, just try it, worth every penny. The sleeping arrangement was cosy, but exactly what we expected, it was fine. Breakfast, although simple and nice, was the Nancy show, what a super lady to get you off to a great start in the morning. She interacted with every single person and even tried to talk my children's slippers off their feet, keep hold of this one IHG, a truly genuine hard working lady who enjoys her work.
We visit Swindon once a year, we know where we will be staying......

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrej K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear Andy S,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we were all pleased to read that you had a great experience. Nancy is a key Member of our Management Team, yet still she is very genuine and loves the Guest Interaction (Entertainment). She was really please with your feedback as we all were, so thank you for your kind comments, and we'll see you again in a years time!

Kind regards,

Andrej Katona
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The rooms are very comfortable we had everything we needed although there was a bit of noise from the nearby nightclub.we were part of a coach party-the staff coped very well with all of us turning up to eat at the same time although there were a few hiccups with the food which had been pre ordered.Robert and his staff were very obliging -going the extra mile to keep us happy.overall it is a very clean and comfortable place .

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrej K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2013

Dear Sue A,

Thank you for taking the time and effort to write these kind words here on TripAdvisor. I am pleased that you enjoyed your time with us, and that everything ran smoothly. Robert is one of our valued Management Team Members and I am know he was very pleased with your feedback. Once again thank you and hopefully see you in the nearby future.

Kind regards,

Andrej Katona
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 25 in Swindon
1,664 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
0.2 mi away
Thistle Express - Swindon
Thistle Express - Swindon
#15 of 25 in Swindon
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Swindon Central Hotel
3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
1.3 mi away
Campanile Swindon
Campanile Swindon
#17 of 25 in Swindon
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre

Address: Bridge Street, Swindon SN1 1BT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Price Range: £41 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Swindon City Centre is a new modern hotel offering a bar, restaurant and 6 modern meeting rooms. Each modern guest room is spacious and offers power shower, cosy beds and plasma-screen LCD satellite TV. Complimentary Hot Continental Breakfast is included in the rate. Relax in the lounge area, with 2 large screen TVs. Enjoy a prime location in the Swindon City Centre, only minutes away from shops and attractions such as STEAM Museum, Outlet Village or Oasis Leisure Centre. The Swindon Rail Station and the Central bus station are a brief walk away. Pop in a train or a bus and visit the historical towns of Bath, Oxford, Cirencester, Wotton Basset, Cippenham or Bristol.Located close to one of the most important ancient routes in the UK - The Ridgeway. At 85 miles long and 6000 years old, it offers some of the finest walking, cycling and horse riding experiences in the UK. Walk a short way along The Ridgeway and you will find Barbury Castle, Wiltshires best Iron Age fort. Further along you will see the famous White Horses at Hackpen.Within touching distance are the delightful Cotswolds. This Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty is world renowned for its rolling hills and hidden valleys. Most certainly a quintessential English landscape not to be missed. Only 15 minutes north is The Cotswolds Water Park. With 147 Lakes it offers canoeing, sailing, fishing windsurfing and waterskiing. Close to Avebury, Stonehenge and Westonbirt - The National Arboretum which is one of the most spectacular tree gardens in the world. Visit Castle Combe and Lacock Abbey, a National Trust property. Breathtaking scenery, prehistoric sites, the Cotswolds, castles, historic houses & gardens, Britain's largest water park and The Ridgeway-all a short distance from Swindon. With so much to see and do you must make Swindon your touring base! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre Hotel Swindon
Holiday Inn Swindon
Swindon Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing