We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre
Ranked #21 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent staff”
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

The staff here is excellent. We arrived at 11:00 pm at night. The staff was very friendly and check in was very easy. Of all the hotels I have travelled to, this is by far the best staff. They were very helpful and always friendly. The shift managers helped us with some of our travel to another country. This was above and beyond the call of duty. Thank you for all making my stay here wonderful. The only down side is the noisy bars on the weekends. However this is not the hotel or staff issues.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank GHM411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrej K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear GHM411,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and your comments. Also we are only too happy to be happy to help, and yes you are right we are trying when we can to treat our guests as family members. I hope you had a safe journey to Paris and manage to enjoy one of the most iconic cities in the World.

Kind regards,
Andrej Katona
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    205
    127
    51
    54
See reviews for
64
112
52
222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 13 December 2013

First the good points-excellent friendly and helpful staff and comfortable clean room. However parking is awkward and it should be made clear the best option is to pull up outside and pay for parking at Reception. Convenient for town centre but the noise into the early hours from nearby pub and club was unbelievable- I actually thought my window must be open but it was not so I had to put up with this noise while I tried to get to sleep. Breakfast also poor.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbinsofthesouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear Bobbinsofthesouth,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. I sincerely regret that this visit was not 100% satisfactory due to the breakfast served being sub par and noise challenges being an inconvenience. Despite this, it is nice that you have recognized the service received from our staff.

I hope that the next time you are in the area you give us another chance to host you again.

Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I stay at this hotel regularly as i have to visit Swindon with my job. The Hotel is very clean the rooms are comfortable and not at all basic. The 'Continental breakfast' is more than that with eggs Beans and sausages as well as the usual items. Coffee is free when you want it. All in all a very nice hotel and I would recommend it . Oh nearly forgot the staff. The team here is very professional, friendly, efficient and nothing is to much trouble.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrej K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Julian503,

Thank you for choosing our hotel time and time again. The free breakfast along with the hot favourites is a nice bonus that most of our guests tend to take up, giving them a real boost in the morning. As you mentioned the tea and coffee making facilities are available to our residents 24/7. As for the service we try to go the extra mile for all of our guest and recreate that home away from home 'feel' and so I am really pleased that you feel comfortable whenever you stay.

hope to welcome you back soon,

Kind regards,

Andrej Katona
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We stayed at the HI Express by default as the hotel we normally use in Swindon went into receivership a couple of days before our visit. We just wished we had found this hotel sooner.

The location is excellent right in the heart of the town and very close to a diverse range of shops and eateries.

The hotel staff were welcoming and helpful and even found us a room to check into when we arrived early.

Our room on the third floor next to the lift and facing the street was quiet with all the facilities you would need for a few days stay. The bed was a bit hard but that is a personal thing. Breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice.

Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bernipops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrej K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Bernipops,

We are pleased to hear that you liked our Hotel, the services that we offer and that it turned out to be a nice surprise for you. The staff really make the difference to any company as they are the face that represents the Brand, and so we try to ensure that we deliver a memorable stay, every time. We hope to see you soon,

Kind regards,

Andrej Katona
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

I stayed over for one night - I found the staff very friendly and helpful - the restaurant was full the night I stayed but I was directed to an excellent establishment over the road which was really good. Bedroom was clean and comfortable. The selection at breakfast was just about anything that you would need.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shysheila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrej K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear shysheila,

Thank you for staying with us and your kind feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Swindon, and that we could have been a part of it. Thank you and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Andrej Katona
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night on business this week, and for a chain hotel, where you expect much of a muchness can not believe how helpful and pleasant the staff were. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble, and a special mention to the staff on reception when I checked in, the manager, and the 2 ladies couldn't have been more helpful. I even left a blouse, called up yesterday and received a call today to say they would be posting it out to me. Even at breakfast the following the morning, the lady looking after guests was very friendly, but not over the top. Often these large chains feel very impersonal and soulless but here this was certainly not the case! A special mention to I think Nicolette (from Slovenia) who is perfectly suited to her role.
If I was in Swindon again I would not hesitate to stay again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank lisah2302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrej K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Lisah2302,

I would like to thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience with the rest of TripAdvisor community. Once again thank you and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Andrej Katona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Wales
Level Contributor
132 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Stayed 2 nights on business. Arrived after a long drive, to find that there is no parking and you have to pay an additional charge and park at the station which is a short walk which shouldn't be a problem unless it is tipping down like it was when I arrived. The staff were friendly and helpfull. Rooms clean and functional. Breakfast is a bit basic but passable. Location is very good if travelling by train but a pain if driving. Check out the brazillian BBQ restaurant next door - exceptional food.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestWalesHorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrej K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear WestWalesHorse,

I would like to thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience with the rest of TripAdvisor community. Once again thank you and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Andrej Katona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#2 of 24 in Swindon
1,437 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
3.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 24 in Swindon
652 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Swindon Central Hotel
1.3 mi away
Campanile Swindon
Campanile Swindon
#15 of 24 in Swindon
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre
Address: Bridge Street, Swindon SN1 1BT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Swindon City Centre is a new modern hotel offering a bar, restaurant and 6 modern meeting rooms. Each modern guest room is spacious and offers power shower, cosy beds and plasma-screen LCD satellite TV. Complimentary Hot Continental Breakfast is included in the rate. Relax in the lounge area, with 2 large screen TVs. Enjoy a prime location in the Swindon City Centre, only minutes away from shops and attractions such as STEAM Museum, Outlet Village or Oasis Leisure Centre. The Swindon Rail Station and the Central bus station are a brief walk away. Pop in a train or a bus and visit the historical towns of Bath, Oxford, Cirencester, Wotton Basset, Cippenham or Bristol.Located close to one of the most important ancient routes in the UK - The Ridgeway. At 85 miles long and 6000 years old, it offers some of the finest walking, cycling and horse riding experiences in the UK. Walk a short way along The Ridgeway and you will find Barbury Castle, Wiltshires best Iron Age fort. Further along you will see the famous White Horses at Hackpen.Within touching distance are the delightful Cotswolds. This Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty is world renowned for its rolling hills and hidden valleys. Most certainly a quintessential English landscape not to be missed. Only 15 minutes north is The Cotswolds Water Park. With 147 Lakes it offers canoeing, sailing, fishing windsurfing and waterskiing. Close to Avebury, Stonehenge and Westonbirt - The National Arboretum which is one of the most spectacular tree gardens in the world. Visit Castle Combe and Lacock Abbey, a National Trust property. Breathtaking scenery, prehistoric sites, the Cotswolds, castles, historic houses & gardens, Britain's largest water park and The Ridgeway-all a short distance from Swindon. With so much to see and do you must make Swindon your touring base! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre Hotel Swindon
Holiday Inn Swindon
Swindon Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing