We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No hot water - for 3 days?!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre
Ranked #23 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Reviewed 7 January 2014

"One of the boilers is broken" so there is no hot water. Fair enough, but for 3 days? Surely a chain this big can get a boiler fixed, or does this chain keep costs low by avoiding service contracts? And they didn't tell people who were checking in, which is naughty.
Location is handy by the train station though.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GMasterGeneral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrej K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear GMasterGeneral,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and your feedback. We take Customer feedback very seriously and so please allow me to explain the situation.

We have been experiencing some issues with our boiler which resulted in a shortage of hot water on 7/1/13. The Maintenance department has promptly organised a Qualified Engineer to attend and rectify the fault, which was done the same day.

Please accept our sincere apology as we appreciate and understand that the matters above mentioned are extremely important to you, and are ‘the basics’ when you travel away from home. Unfortunately things do go wrong at times however we believe that the way a situation is handled, is what is important. We also believe that we have done everything we can to rectify the issues in a timely manner and thus minimising the impact to you, our Guest.

Once again we hope that you appreciate our efforts and continue using our Hotel for your future travel needs.

Kind regards,

Andrej Katona
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (584)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 584 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

I was on a shot business trip to Swindon and stayed at Holiday Inn at the Town Centre. Its an excellent location with most places only a walk away. Staff is amazing, helpful and warm. They are always looking for ways to help you out. Always see to it that you are comfortable. Bedroom was very spacious, neat and clean. Will surely visit it next time when I go to Swindon.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raghu_Swam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrej K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Raghu_Swam,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience with the rest of the TripAdvisor community as we are aware that many travellers base their choice on actual scoring of other guests. I am pleased that you had a great time whilst staying with us. We value your feedback and hope you had a safe journey back.

Kind regards,

Andrej Katona
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed here for 11 days over Christmas. First, let me start with the positives. The staff was amazing. They were all very nice and helpful anytime we needed anything. The rooms were small, but clean and comfortable. The beds were soft and covered in a fluffy comforter. The breakfast was quite nice and served the standard British foods like sausages, toast, baked beans, etc.

With all of those positives, however, I would never stay there again outside of a weekday trip because of the obnoxious noisy from the surrounding pubs and bars. During the week, the room was fine and pretty quite, but during the weekend and on the holiday nights, the noise was unbearable. I'm a pretty heavy sleeper and was woken up at 3am almost every single night. There is a police station across the street, and they do their best, but it is difficult to keep hundreds of 18-20 year olds in check after they have been drinking for several hours. My husband is from Swindon and was nervous about staying here because of that very reason, and I should have listened.

Also, one weird thing about the free wifi is that you had to get a new code every day and on more than one occasion, the manager made me "promise to use the internet for leisure, not business/work." I thought that was really weird considering the holiday inn express bills itself as a business hotel. I think I would have rather paid for the wifi and not had to deal with the hassle.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TexasChick31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrej K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear TexasChick31,

Firstly I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us despite your husbands initial concerns. As for the positive comments, thank you very much it was a delight to read and I shared your comments with the rest of the staff. We take customer feedback very seriously as it gives us a 'reality check' in terms of our performance. We try to provide personable customer service with going above and beyond in meeting our customers needs, and when the Duty Manager mentioned about the internet use for 'leisure' he meant it as humorous goodwill advice as you were on holiday. The Hotel is located in the precinct where all the clubs, pubs and restaurants are. This we see as an advantage as it provides addition choice for food and entertainment within walking distance however on the weekends the excessive noise is outside of our control. Nonetheless we hope that you continue using IHG Hotel for your future travel needs.

Kind regards,

Andrej Katona
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Stayed one night, bedroom spacious and very clean.The best of the three hotels visited in Swindon,all the staff very friendly and helpful.Would not hesitate in choosing this hotel for our next visit to Swindon, the bay leaf indian restaurant close by very good.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eldimpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrej K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Eldimpo,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and such a complimentary review. It is a real delight to read that you find our Hotel Services as well as the customer care excellent. We discuss all guest reviews at our daily staff meetings and it is reviews like yours that really give meaning to what we do and keep us motived to go the extra mile because it is worth it. Thank you once again and hope that you will choose us again in your future visit to Swindon.

Kind regards,

Andrej Katona
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

My 73 year old Mother stayed here for 12 nights they took great care of her. The staff are attentive and keen to interact with residents.

The room was clean and a good size. The outside of the building is not particularly pleasant with its silver cladding however it is tidy and smart inside.

It is located in the centre of town however this part of town is where the mass of bars and clubs are. Expect noise but it is a city centre hotel.


  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank truecelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrej K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear truecelt,

Thank you and your Mother for choosing to stay with us. We are pleased that you Mother has found our services and the bedroom to her satisfaction. It was a true pleasure to have her staying with us and we will be more than happy to welcome her along with the family back again.

Kind regards,

Andrej Katona
Opeerations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I stayed midweek on business, and although the hotel did not have the most desirable exterior to the hotel, I found the staff and management very friendly. The reception staff were very efficient and aimed to please while the duty manager even made conversation while I waited for my dinner in the restaurant. The parking is not on site, but 5 mins walk away in the main car park of the train station - a little inconvenient in bad weather but was at least included in the price. I would definitely consider staying here again as had a very comfortable night sleep too!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank Alison J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrej K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Alison J,

Thank you for staying with us and your feedback regarding your experience.We try to consistently create Great Hotels Guest Love and by the sounds of it Robert managed to create just the right atmosphere for you to be able to switch off and relax. We hope that you continue using IHG Hotels for your future travels and that when returning to Swindon, we will be your number one choice.

Kind regards,
Andrej Katona
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Great staff and the same holiday inn standard. Very nicely located close to all main attractions.

Pros:
1. Great location
2. Outlet mall and restaurant are walking distance
3. Friendly staff

Con
1. Parking

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrej K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Traveler695,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and your descriptive feedback. We value your comments and hope you that you will continue using IHG Hotel for your future travel needs.

Kind regards,

Andrej Katona
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 25 in Swindon
1,638 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
1.3 mi away
Campanile Swindon
Campanile Swindon
#17 of 25 in Swindon
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
1.4 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#10 of 25 in Swindon
700 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thistle Express - Swindon
Thistle Express - Swindon
#16 of 25 in Swindon
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre

Address: Bridge Street, Swindon SN1 1BT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Price Range: £43 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Swindon City Centre is a new modern hotel offering a bar, restaurant and 6 modern meeting rooms. Each modern guest room is spacious and offers power shower, cosy beds and plasma-screen LCD satellite TV. Complimentary Hot Continental Breakfast is included in the rate. Relax in the lounge area, with 2 large screen TVs. Enjoy a prime location in the Swindon City Centre, only minutes away from shops and attractions such as STEAM Museum, Outlet Village or Oasis Leisure Centre. The Swindon Rail Station and the Central bus station are a brief walk away. Pop in a train or a bus and visit the historical towns of Bath, Oxford, Cirencester, Wotton Basset, Cippenham or Bristol.Located close to one of the most important ancient routes in the UK - The Ridgeway. At 85 miles long and 6000 years old, it offers some of the finest walking, cycling and horse riding experiences in the UK. Walk a short way along The Ridgeway and you will find Barbury Castle, Wiltshires best Iron Age fort. Further along you will see the famous White Horses at Hackpen.Within touching distance are the delightful Cotswolds. This Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty is world renowned for its rolling hills and hidden valleys. Most certainly a quintessential English landscape not to be missed. Only 15 minutes north is The Cotswolds Water Park. With 147 Lakes it offers canoeing, sailing, fishing windsurfing and waterskiing. Close to Avebury, Stonehenge and Westonbirt - The National Arboretum which is one of the most spectacular tree gardens in the world. Visit Castle Combe and Lacock Abbey, a National Trust property. Breathtaking scenery, prehistoric sites, the Cotswolds, castles, historic houses & gardens, Britain's largest water park and The Ridgeway-all a short distance from Swindon. With so much to see and do you must make Swindon your touring base! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre Hotel Swindon
Holiday Inn Swindon
Swindon Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing