We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From Ibis to Holiday Inn Express?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre
Ranked #23 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Reviewed 21 February 2014

The hotel is at walking distance from the Swindon railway station and right in front of the block of restaurants of downtown Swindon, so convenient for both. The lobby is at first level of the building while the ground level was planned to host a restaurant or some other shop but it is totally empty and not finished; you will see the concrete pillars and it is not a "nice and good looking welcome". Being used to the Holiday Inn style I have been a little surprised seeing the room lay out, the furnitures, the color of the floor carpet, of the doors and so on, even the WC door used to close also the bathroom door system is "ibis style" !! Not to forget the size of the bed, sold as a double bed it will create problems to any single person more than 1,80 mt and 90 kgs. So if you are like that and plan to share the bed with someone else be sure to have a jockey as a host or to really be loveed by the one you are with. Being used to Holiday Inn style Ibis hotel I thought this was a former Ibis hotel that changed franchise to Holiday Inn Express. This is not a "crime" of course but it should be said that the level of an Ibis is lower than an Holiday Inn Express.
The good point is the breakfast buffet that features also some classics of the English breakfast such as baked beans, sausages. Some minor problem is the parking. There is no parking available in the building and the surroundings are too tight to leave room for some free parking. So you have to drive (and walk back) for about 400 meters to an open air parking lot used by commuters of the railway. Good if you arrive late in the evening but not so much if you get there earlier. Another point is that you will pay 6,5 pounds for this disappointing parking, be aware. Anyway a decent hotel convenient to some restaurants,

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KITER57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Dear KITER57,

Thank you for your valuable review. We are glad to read you found our hotel location and breakfast buffet commendable. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. We are sorry to hear that our hotel amenities and room accommodations failed to meet your expectation on this particular occasion. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience you encountered. Comments such as yours permit us to target areas of concern and take the necessary steps where great attention will be paid to the matter.

Thank you again for your feedback. We hope that you will afford us another opportunity to showcase our usual levels of service.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (577)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 577 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014

Firstly, the staff were very friendly and helpful. If you want somewhere in the town center, it's great. Walking distance or short taxi to everywhere. The rooms are very clean and beds are comfortable. My one concern however, the lobby is on the first floor. Saturday night, a few rather intoxicated young men managed to get through the front door (obviously someone going in or out, didn't know if they were guests or not, and they slipped in, unfortunately un-noticed). They got on the lift, but went to the fifth floor. The staff did get to them and get them out.... but.... they shouldn't have been able to get in, in the first place. I would suggest they do something with the lift, so you can only get to the lobby, without a key. Apart from that it was fine.

Room Tip: Higher floor is best at the weekend, as it's "bang in the town centre" so you would he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrej K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Elaine C,

Firstly I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us whilst on your travels to Wiltshire. Also I would like to thank you for commenting on the helpful and friendly service that you have experienced. Regarding the non-residents gaining entry into the premise, we have addressed this issue with our Maintenance Department and are looking at further improvements to our internal security procedures. Still I would like to thank you for highlighting this as it helps us improve on our service to you, and other guests.

Kind regards,

Andrej Katona
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel is within easy walking distance of the train station so I use this venue rather than expensive Central London locations

Meeting room was spacious and well supported by the staff

Food provided was acceptable and more than adequate

The guest room I used was a little tired and had been vandalised by a previous guest. Whilst the damage did not inconvenience me I was surprised housekeeping had not identified the problem and the room been taken out of use until the repair was done

My big gripe with any holidAy inn express is the warm breakfast items. Concentrate on a more comprehensive continental selection and drop the poor quality sausage, hard eggs and tasteless beans. I'm yet to speak to anyone who appreciates the hot selections

I will use the venue again

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrej K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear David R,

Thank you for your invaluable piece of feedback which we have addressed to relevant parties and helping us create Great Hotels Guest Love! We hope you continue using IHG hotels for your future travel needs.

Kind regards,

Andrej Katona
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

As part of a business meeting I was booked into this modern city centre hotel. The booking in was a little laboured as the company booking although confirmed to us as individuals had failed to be communicated to the hotel, but no matter as the very friendly and efficient hostess sorted to all to our collective satisfactions althoughit toolk some time. apologies to those held up behind us.
The room was extemely comfortable, well appointed and clean.
Breakfast was limited but fresh and tasty.
Will definitely consider stopping here again in the future

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrej K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Tim H,

Thank you for your complementary review and favourable scoring. We look forward to welcoming you back into our Hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Andrej Katona
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Fantastic hotel based in the city centre. Rooms are really nice with free internet access. Staff is extremely helpful and polite. Spread of breakfast was very well spread and the most pleasing aspect was staff being courteous by allowing us late check out for free!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveller_one2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrej K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear traveller_one2014,

Thank you for choosing to stay and your positive feedback. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Andrej Katona
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

"One of the boilers is broken" so there is no hot water. Fair enough, but for 3 days? Surely a chain this big can get a boiler fixed, or does this chain keep costs low by avoiding service contracts? And they didn't tell people who were checking in, which is naughty.
Location is handy by the train station though.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GMasterGeneral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrej K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear GMasterGeneral,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and your feedback. We take Customer feedback very seriously and so please allow me to explain the situation.

We have been experiencing some issues with our boiler which resulted in a shortage of hot water on 7/1/13. The Maintenance department has promptly organised a Qualified Engineer to attend and rectify the fault, which was done the same day.

Please accept our sincere apology as we appreciate and understand that the matters above mentioned are extremely important to you, and are ‘the basics’ when you travel away from home. Unfortunately things do go wrong at times however we believe that the way a situation is handled, is what is important. We also believe that we have done everything we can to rectify the issues in a timely manner and thus minimising the impact to you, our Guest.

Once again we hope that you appreciate our efforts and continue using our Hotel for your future travel needs.

Kind regards,

Andrej Katona
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I was on a shot business trip to Swindon and stayed at Holiday Inn at the Town Centre. Its an excellent location with most places only a walk away. Staff is amazing, helpful and warm. They are always looking for ways to help you out. Always see to it that you are comfortable. Bedroom was very spacious, neat and clean. Will surely visit it next time when I go to Swindon.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raghu_Swam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrej K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Raghu_Swam,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience with the rest of the TripAdvisor community as we are aware that many travellers base their choice on actual scoring of other guests. I am pleased that you had a great time whilst staying with us. We value your feedback and hope you had a safe journey back.

Kind regards,

Andrej Katona
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#2 of 25 in Swindon
1,579 reviews
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Swindon Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 25 in Swindon
686 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Swindon
Holiday Inn Swindon
#18 of 25 in Swindon
496 reviews
2.0 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#9 of 25 in Swindon
2,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre

Address: Bridge Street, Swindon SN1 1BT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Price Range: £42 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Swindon City Centre is a new modern hotel offering a bar, restaurant and 6 modern meeting rooms. Each modern guest room is spacious and offers power shower, cosy beds and plasma-screen LCD satellite TV. Complimentary Hot Continental Breakfast is included in the rate. Relax in the lounge area, with 2 large screen TVs. Enjoy a prime location in the Swindon City Centre, only minutes away from shops and attractions such as STEAM Museum, Outlet Village or Oasis Leisure Centre. The Swindon Rail Station and the Central bus station are a brief walk away. Pop in a train or a bus and visit the historical towns of Bath, Oxford, Cirencester, Wotton Basset, Cippenham or Bristol.Located close to one of the most important ancient routes in the UK - The Ridgeway. At 85 miles long and 6000 years old, it offers some of the finest walking, cycling and horse riding experiences in the UK. Walk a short way along The Ridgeway and you will find Barbury Castle, Wiltshires best Iron Age fort. Further along you will see the famous White Horses at Hackpen.Within touching distance are the delightful Cotswolds. This Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty is world renowned for its rolling hills and hidden valleys. Most certainly a quintessential English landscape not to be missed. Only 15 minutes north is The Cotswolds Water Park. With 147 Lakes it offers canoeing, sailing, fishing windsurfing and waterskiing. Close to Avebury, Stonehenge and Westonbirt - The National Arboretum which is one of the most spectacular tree gardens in the world. Visit Castle Combe and Lacock Abbey, a National Trust property. Breathtaking scenery, prehistoric sites, the Cotswolds, castles, historic houses & gardens, Britain's largest water park and The Ridgeway-all a short distance from Swindon. With so much to see and do you must make Swindon your touring base! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre Hotel Swindon
Holiday Inn Swindon
Swindon Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing