We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very nice rooms”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The holiday inn has very nice rooms and really welcoming staff. The receptionist was very helpful and informative when we arrived. She gave us good directions to our room and explained about breakfast. The room was on the 4th floor ( which is good because it was quite ) we parked in the railway long term car park, it's was very reasonable. We stayed sat & sun night 3&4 may. Breakfast was ok 7 out of 10. The bed was comfy with a choice of soft or hard pillows.would stay again....

Room Tip: Get a room as high as you can , Swindon does get noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leslie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrej K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Leslie A,

Many thanks for not only choosing to stay with us, but taking the time and effort to share your positive experiences with other Travellers reviewing our Hotel. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Andrej Katona
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    205
    128
    54
    54
See reviews for
64
113
52
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stayed here recently and room was tiny, and so noisy you can hear every door slam. But rooms clean and adequate. Reception area nice. Near some clubs but noisy area as in centre. Have to park away from hotel and car park looked dodgy, not sure would want to leave my car there again after seeing glass on floor in 2 spaces.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Truebluekm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrej K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Holidayhell33,

Many thanks for reviewing your recent experience with us. We strive to consistently improve our services to you and create Great Hotels Guest Love. I hope that provided that the car park is situated off site we will have the honour of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Andrej Katona
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Only a few minutes walk from railway station and ideal for visiting the excellent designer outlet and Steam Museum. Other positives were: the very clean and comfortable rooms, the cheery welcome received from reception staff, and a much better choice of breakfast fare than expected. The main drawback has been mentioned by other reviewers, namely the noise well into the early hours from nearby pubs and nightclubs (though to be fair my friend, whose room wasn't at the end of the corridor, didn't notice the music as much as I did). The lighting in the rooms was also far too muted for my liking making the long-length mirror less than illuminating. I also wish that the Holiday Inn Express brand would stop trying to pretend that the breakfast is "free" - it wasn't, since we'd paid £48pp per night. This represented really good value in our book for the standard of accommodation, but when the receptionist reminded us their breakfasts were great because they were free, we had to correct her.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SF71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrej K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear SF71,

Thank you for staying with us and a subsequent review here on TripAdvisor. We always value your feedback as it gives us an opportunity to seek improvements. Once again thank you for your visit.

Kind regards,

Andrej Katona
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Heating is broken, window was stuck half-open even though it says for safety measures windows are locked. staff at the restaurant kept overlooking us and serving food to customers that were there after us. To top it all off they put me and young child in a room right next to a bloody night club and could not get a shut-eye. this is the worst hotel by far and I have stayed at many. I might as well have slept outside right next to the club. Don't stay here if you want to sleep in peace.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaetitiaJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrej K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear LaetitiaJames,

I am very sorry to learn that your experience with us has not been to your satisfaction. The hotel is located in a busy location of Swindon surrounded by many clubs, pubs and restaurants. Unfortunately the noise is coming from the crowd going to or leaving the aforementioned premises, rather than noise from the night club. Passer-by's noise is something that cannot be reduced or influenced by the Hotel Management and hence lies outside of our remit. Nonetheless we are very proactive when it comes to management of room allocation to families, couples and 'party-goers'.

Kind regards,

Andrej Katona
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Swindon hotels

Galway
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I stayed here with my partner for 6 nights.. We travelled from Ireland, could not have met more hospitable and friendly staff. I noticed during my stay that there was members of staff nominated for excellence monthly... I strongly recommend Hayley, Nikolete and Bethany be collectively nominated for employees of the month because they could not have done more personally for me so I feel strongly recommending this.

Our room was really spacious, clean and had everything we required! A really lovely and substantial breakfast buffet.

Thank you so very much for a wonderful stay. I look forward to staying here again in the future! X x

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrej K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Lisa F,

To use such a strong word as 'Excellent', we must have clearly made a great impression on your overall experience. It is very comforting to read that not one but three members of staff really stood out and positively impacted your stay. The free breakfast is a Continental Breakfast with Hot Favourites (Sausages, Scrambled Eggs, Baked Beans) and offers a great variety for every day of the week.

Thank you for staying with us and hope to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Andrej Katona
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I stayed here for two nights. The room was very clean and tidy, complete with many accessories including a kettle for the tea and the hairdryer. Bathroom is spacious, with a separate toilet and a large shower. Comfortable beds with pillow choice.
Breakfast very complete, in English style, and included in the price.
Reception very efficient and courteous.
Great location for a business trip, close to the train station and shopping streets.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrej K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Gabriele S,

Well it is reviews like this that makes us do what we do, and go the extra mile. It is very reassuring to know that you like many other appreciate our service and come back to stay with us, here at the Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, so thank you for sharing your experience with us and the other potential customers. Once again thank you and should your business bring you to Swindon again, I hope welcome you back.

Kind regards,

Andrej Katona
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The hotel is situated beside a nite club so depending which side of the building your room is you can't be guaranteed a good nights sleep. I was on a coach trip with family and it seemed as if we were part of the club scene until 4 o'clock in the morning. Other travellers had the same experience.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrej K, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Barbara R,

I cannot but apologise for the experience on the Saturday night. I am genuinely sorry for the lack of sleep caused by the noise coming from the club nearby. The location of the Hotel is very central to Swindon, which is generally an advantage since all of the shops, malls, restaurants, bars and night clubs are situated within less than 5 minute walk. Depending on the clientèle, our Hotel is sought after for precisely the aforementioned reasons.

On the upside however I do believe that aside the noise issue the remainder of your stay was a rather pleasurable one, based on the written feedback from other members of your party, the customer service and the food was of great value exceeding all expectations.

Once again, please accept my sincere apologies and I do hope that should you return to Swindon be it as an individual traveller or part of a group, you will choose to stay with us, the Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre.

Kind regards,

Andrej Katona
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 25 in Swindon
1,464 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Swindon Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 25 in Swindon
656 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Swindon
Holiday Inn Swindon
#19 of 25 in Swindon
463 reviews
3.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre
Address: Bridge Street, Swindon SN1 1BT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Swindon City Centre is a new modern hotel offering a bar, restaurant and 6 modern meeting rooms. Each modern guest room is spacious and offers power shower, cosy beds and plasma-screen LCD satellite TV. Complimentary Hot Continental Breakfast is included in the rate. Relax in the lounge area, with 2 large screen TVs. Enjoy a prime location in the Swindon City Centre, only minutes away from shops and attractions such as STEAM Museum, Outlet Village or Oasis Leisure Centre. The Swindon Rail Station and the Central bus station are a brief walk away. Pop in a train or a bus and visit the historical towns of Bath, Oxford, Cirencester, Wotton Basset, Cippenham or Bristol.Located close to one of the most important ancient routes in the UK - The Ridgeway. At 85 miles long and 6000 years old, it offers some of the finest walking, cycling and horse riding experiences in the UK. Walk a short way along The Ridgeway and you will find Barbury Castle, Wiltshires best Iron Age fort. Further along you will see the famous White Horses at Hackpen.Within touching distance are the delightful Cotswolds. This Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty is world renowned for its rolling hills and hidden valleys. Most certainly a quintessential English landscape not to be missed. Only 15 minutes north is The Cotswolds Water Park. With 147 Lakes it offers canoeing, sailing, fishing windsurfing and waterskiing. Close to Avebury, Stonehenge and Westonbirt - The National Arboretum which is one of the most spectacular tree gardens in the world. Visit Castle Combe and Lacock Abbey, a National Trust property. Breathtaking scenery, prehistoric sites, the Cotswolds, castles, historic houses & gardens, Britain's largest water park and The Ridgeway-all a short distance from Swindon. With so much to see and do you must make Swindon your touring base! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre Hotel Swindon
Holiday Inn Swindon
Swindon Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing