We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very poor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

I was booked into this hotel with an associate, luckily for only one night.
The booking was for a twin room, we arrived to find the room was actually a double....but with a "sofa bed". This was the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in, the mattress was 3inches deep over sharp metal springs, for most of the following day I was able to pin point where the rows of springs were digging into my back. The space between the two beds was limited to approx 18 inches, making an already small room,really tiny.
The air conditioning was having trouble keeping the room cool, we set it at as low a temp as possible but it was still uncomfortably hot, "Health and safety won't let us have it cooler" said the housekeeping staff...! Having the window open, also let in the din from the bars in the shopping centre below, these are open until the small hours and have a very rowdy customer base...
Thankfully, we had an early start at the Fairford air show in the morning, so could escape as soon as possible.
For this we were charged £175.00 !!!
This hotel is in no way up to standard for serious business travel, an overnight stay for
travellers is its limit.
The only good feature were the staff, who are doing there best with very poor material...I suggest another Hotel group recruits them and lets them manage a reasonable hotel...

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jons1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Good morning

Thank you very much for taking the time and the trouble to write a Trip Advisor review for our hotel.

We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve and continually provide the best guest experience possible. Nevertheless, I am saddened to learn that your recent stay did not meet your expectations. Your review also shows how things not within our direct control can affect your overall satisfaction.

I will certainly share your comments with our team who I know will be delighted to hear that their efforts have been recognised.

Though I would prefer you had a better experience overall, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts. I am sorry that you did not have a great stay with us and hope that these issues do not stop you staying with us in the future.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre.

Best regards,

Sam Butler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    198
    122
    52
    53
See reviews for
61
108
52
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Rooms and bathroom had been renovated recently, everything was very clean and in working order. Staff were friendly enough and laundry came back quickly. Free coffee, juice etc in the lobby 24/7. Breakfast was average, but enough fruit and cereal to keep me going until lunch. WiFi worked well in the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smbsstt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Good morning

Thank you very much for taking the time and the trouble to write a Trip Advisor review for our hotel.

It is pleasing to know that our bathroom facilities met your standards. I will certainly share your comments with our team who I know will be delighted to hear that their efforts have been recognised.

I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts, and I hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sam Butler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stayed for one night on a business trip, check in was slick and friendly, room was large with free wifi and a comfortable bed. I had a button come of one of my shirts and asked at reception for some help where the young girl on duty provided me with a complementary sewing kit complete with shirt button, so thanks for the great service. There is off site parking at the nearby railway station which is reasonably priced at £6.00 per night. Across the road from the hotel is a very good Asian restaurant

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bruce f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Bruce596

Thank you very much for taking the time and the trouble to write a Trip Advisor review for our hotel.

We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve and continually provide the best guest experience possible. I will certainly share your comments with our team who I know will be delighted to hear that their efforts have been recognised.

I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts, and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre.

Yours sincerely,

Sam Butler

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Been here for the Air Tattoo show. Stuff was great, always smiling and always trying to help. Free tasty coffee at the lobby all day long as well as free breakfast and wifi at the room made it a pleasant staying.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nir78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Nir78

Thank you very much for taking the time and the trouble to write a Trip Advisor review for our hotel.

I will certainly share your comments with our team who I know will be delighted to hear that their efforts have been recognised. Thank you for appreciating our tasty coffee; we've just recently installed new coffee machines - this is great to hear!

I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts, and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again next year.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre.

Yours sincerely,

Sam Butler

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maasbracht
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We booked for one night to travel back to london by train. The hotel was good, clean only high in levels. The first floor was at the 4t floor. Because there is a garage below and then on 3th level is the reception. Swindon is a nice city to shop and have dinner.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anny O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Travelled to Swindon for a wedding. Staff very helpful and managed to arrange an early check in so we could change before a 2pm ceremony. Room very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was included in the price so it was very good value. Parking at the railway station but only a couple of minutes walk so wasn't a problem.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niadhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Good morning Niadhe

Thank you very much for taking the time and the trouble to write a Trip Advisor review for our hotel.

I am glad that you were able to get into your room early; I trust your wedding experience was an enjoyable one. I will certainly share your comments with our team who I know will be delighted to hear that their efforts have been recognised.

I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts, and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sam Butler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

I arrived late and my double room had been changed to a twin ie two single beds - strangly I was told that there wouldn't be an extra charge for the extra bed!

The hotel isn't great, though the bathroom was spotless. Breakfast was a huge disappointment and left a lot to be desired and even though I was told it was free I am sure I have really paid for it somewhere!

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Matthew_Cole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Matthew_Cole,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is pleasing to know that our bathroom facility met your standards. I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your overall experience with us due to the breakfast and room accommodation. Rest assured that your comments will be forwarded to management for future upgrade considerations.

Thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Kind Regards,

Charisse V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Swindon hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,392 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
0.8 mi away
20 at The Kings
20 at The Kings
#23 of 24 in Swindon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Campanile Swindon
Campanile Swindon
#16 of 24 in Swindon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Swindon
Holiday Inn Swindon
#20 of 24 in Swindon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Swindon West (M4, J16) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre
Address: Bridge Street, Swindon SN1 1BT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Swindon City Centre is a new modern hotel offering a bar, restaurant and 6 modern meeting rooms. Each modern guest room is spacious and offers power shower, cosy beds and plasma-screen LCD satellite TV. Complimentary Hot Continental Breakfast is included in the rate. Relax in the lounge area, with 2 large screen TVs. Enjoy a prime location in the Swindon City Centre, only minutes away from shops and attractions such as STEAM Museum, Outlet Village or Oasis Leisure Centre. The Swindon Rail Station and the Central bus station are a brief walk away. Pop in a train or a bus and visit the historical towns of Bath, Oxford, Cirencester, Wotton Basset, Cippenham or Bristol.Located close to one of the most important ancient routes in the UK - The Ridgeway. At 85 miles long and 6000 years old, it offers some of the finest walking, cycling and horse riding experiences in the UK. Walk a short way along The Ridgeway and you will find Barbury Castle, Wiltshires best Iron Age fort. Further along you will see the famous White Horses at Hackpen.Within touching distance are the delightful Cotswolds. This Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty is world renowned for its rolling hills and hidden valleys. Most certainly a quintessential English landscape not to be missed. Only 15 minutes north is The Cotswolds Water Park. With 147 Lakes it offers canoeing, sailing, fishing windsurfing and waterskiing. Close to Avebury, Stonehenge and Westonbirt - The National Arboretum which is one of the most spectacular tree gardens in the world. Visit Castle Combe and Lacock Abbey, a National Trust property. Breathtaking scenery, prehistoric sites, the Cotswolds, castles, historic houses & gardens, Britain's largest water park and The Ridgeway-all a short distance from Swindon. With so much to see and do you must make Swindon your touring base! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre Hotel Swindon
Holiday Inn Swindon
Swindon Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing