We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What great food and drink”

The Harrow Inn Restaurant
Ranked #88 of 434 Restaurants in Swindon
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What great food and drink”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Just out for my mates Birthday and decided to go to the Harrow , hadn't been for a few years as it started to get tired and the food went downhill. But what a surprise we had the food was brilliant the drink was top quality and the staff were very friendly. we will definitely be going back and soon to try something else from a menu that makes your mouth water .

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    27
    15
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swindon
Level Contributor
162 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Wow, what a delight🎶”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

We had a surprisingly delicious Sunday lunch. Roast beef, roast pork belly, home made bread (lovely)! Really nice vegetables also. Home-made horseradish sauce, apple sauce, ice creams, bread, etc. A seriously good place to watch. Decor not brill but food is great!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swindon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent homemade dishes with a warm welcome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

I chose this pub as I was looking to have a Sunday lunch with the family in a place where most items are homemade. As soon as looking on the website I saw they made their own bread and the sample menu that was available on line convinced me this would be a good place. I was not wrong. Loved the menu and the little extras that they do...eg home made horseradish sauce. Very tasty roast beef and the parsnips were scrummy. The range of homemade ice creams were delicious.
All I think it needs is tarting up in the dining room with the décor. If the maybe lighter colours, more sumptuous seating and I could see this place doing even better.
However could not fault the food and would return in an instant. Well done.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank honestasitgets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A top class country pub experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We ate dinner in front of the cosy fireplace of this lovely old building. The braised beef was superb as was my partner's steak. Vicky and staff couldn't have been more friendly or attentive. We had a great night at the Harrow Inn and plan on visiting again very soon. Highly recommended!

Tamsin, Paul, Susan & Nigel

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tazie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“This pub continues to deliver”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

This is such a fabulous pub/restaurant. The menu changes often enough to offer regular customers new choices while still retaining all the favourites. Service is great and the atmosphere is welcoming. I love the open fire and the historic features of the bar area.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helene582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Harrow Inn Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Harrow Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing