We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food,service and ambiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Cross Keys

The Cross Keys
Ranked #86 of 434 Restaurants in Swindon
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely food,service and ambiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

As a family we have visited the cross numerous times and never been disappointed . The service is always punctual and pleasant and the choice of local fresh food is always vast. As we have noticed improvements are being made with the outside we are looking forward to dining in the summer on the new patio area.

The fish and chips I have had a couple of times and has always been light and crispy batter with lovely home cooked chips, I have also chosen the belly of pork which was lovely.
The puddings are also to die for.
We will continue to use Cross Keys as this is most certainly one of our favourite family restaurants to dine.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sking68, Owner at The Cross Keys, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us, were really grateful and hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    64
    21
    27
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“100% better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

This was the second time that I've visited the cross keys. I was not very happy with the meal on our first visit. But as the title says this meal was 100% better.
The staff were really friendly and very helpful and couldn't do enough for us. As for the meal I had the mushroom starter and this was delicious. I really enjoyed the pork belly main meal also.

Would I return?
Yes I would

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank chidseyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sking68, Owner at The Cross Keys, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review, we really appreciate it. Really pleased you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiltshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“sunday meal with family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Went on Sunday lunch time.the place has been done up lovely,clean and fresh.Nice touch in ladies toilets fresh flowers.I chose the pork roast.it was cold.The only bit on my plate that was hot was the roast potatoes.The Yorkshire pudding was overcooked.One good thing the pork was nice.the other meals were enjoyed by my family.also I think the sweets were overpriced.the staff were very attentive and polite.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dragonWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sking68, Owner at The Cross Keys, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
I'm sorry your pork wasn't hot and surprised that our team didn't pick it up straight away with you. Sunday has become our busiest day and roasts are very important to us which is doubly disappointing. We will watch out more closely in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Definitely new and improved”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Visited here for a cheeky bite to eat on a Monday night...tasty food, reasonably priced, lovely surroundings and the landlady was very friendly. Will be heading back here again soon! Hubby felt slightly underdressed in jeans and a t-shirt...however its defo a village pub with a nice dining room. They also have offers on their foods. We had 2 pizzas for a tenner, freshly made! Recommended!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BethR999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sking68, Owner at The Cross Keys, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thanks for taking the time to review us really glad you enjoyed the pizzas. Hopefully see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Friday night venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

I went to the Cross Keys Wanborough with some friends on a Friday night for a meal with some nice wine. I have to say I was so impressed with the whole experience that I have written my first Trip Advisor review.
First of all the refurb they have done is lovely. The atmosphere is busy but not loud and the surroundings very comfortable. The staff were really attentive and the manager Russel was happy to recommend a stunning bottle of wine for our table as we couldn't decide!
To eat I had the new beetroot and goats cheese starter which had a great dressing and tuna steak and tabbouleh for main which was fantastic - all it needed was a wedge of lemon for added taste! My friends went with the burger and home cut, home made chips!
Overall I was so impressed with the visit, especially as there are lots of gastro pubs which just don't deliver the quality in the food or service to match the surroundings. This definitely exceeded it. Thanks so much to the team for looking after us!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emily T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sking68, Owner at The Cross Keys, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thanks for the review we really appreciate you taking the time to do it, don't be a stranger!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cross Keys also viewed

 
 

Been to The Cross Keys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing