We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and atmosphere given the price”
Review of The Bayberry

The Bayberry
Ranked #271 of 446 Restaurants in Swindon
Price range: US$6 - US$19
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food and atmosphere given the price”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I have been a regularl at this pub for over a year now. We go every week and take part in the pub quiz, often eating each week too. The service is often friendly, although a little slow sometimes, however we are always patient because we can see it is peak time on a busy night and the staff are doing their best. The food is not amazing bistro quality, but for buy one get one free on all main meals, it is an excellent standard given the price. If you go to this pub wanting a decent meal at a reasonable price then you won't be disappointed. If you go wanting restaurant quality food then you should consider going somewhere else and paying a little more. In short, this is a relatively cheap but friendly and reasonable pub - just don't expect too much and you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Imogen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    69
    51
    40
    68
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Don't bother”
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

How to describe this pub in one word (CRAP) food was horrible service was friendly but very poor management did get 20% off of our bill how ever I wouldn't feed it to pigs so save a wasted trip go somewhere els !

Helpful?
Thank Lenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level 6 Contributor
409 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Good food and excellent value”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Our first visit to the Baytree and one where the food and service were good. The staff could not have been mere helpful. We went and ate from their Christmas menu which was good value. The salmon and sauce for the main course was excellent. The pudding of chocolate cheesecake delicious. We will be going back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScotinEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“sunday lunch with family.”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

when arrived we were greated by the bar staff who were very friendly and taken to our seats,my stepdaughter works here (the slim nice looking brunette ) drinks were cheap enough for real ale .the food order was taken and we did not have to wait to long for it to appear ,sunday roast was very nice and the yorksires great best had for a long time!!the staff were very good and served us well.for pub grub was well priced not 5star but com-on this is pub grub well cooked nice to eat,so all those who did not like should maybe try again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnjo1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon UK
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Tried it again, and I regret it.”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Went before, when it was first opened, so we decided to try again and see if the problems had been sorted.
In short, no they hadn't.
Delays after delay.
Drinks order taken, drinks arrived eventually, although one standard lager was unavailable. No marks for the bar manager there.
Food order taken, food arrived eventually, but in stages, which is no good for a party of nine such as we were. Some had finished before others had their meal. We also needed to constantly remind the staff of our order, as plates were arriving without constituent parts.
Clearing away was sort of delayed at times, but refills of the drinks came quickly enough.
My point here would be the same as I have made before. We live in a world of choice, particularly with our food, so restaurants need to compete. The Bayberry offers nothing, across the spectrum of what most of us would expect of an eaterie, that would persuade me to drive past another restaurant of a similar menu. And I mean nothing.
I gave it a go, and gave it a second chance.
My money is too precious to waste and I won't eat in a restaurant that ranks so far below the alternatives.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank HeatherandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bayberry also viewed

Swindon, Wiltshire
Swindon, Wiltshire
 
Swindon, Wiltshire
Swindon, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Bayberry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing