We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good service and food”

The Bolingbroke Hotel,Pub & Restaurant
Ranked #129 of 449 Restaurants in Swindon
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very good service and food”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We turned up without booking on a Tuesday evening and were lucky to get a table. This is a very popular venue much used by the locals. The restaurant has a very nice ambience and the service is excellent. Had the scallops and crispy Parma ham to start and the scallops were do e to perfection. The slow cooked belly pork was naughty and melted in the mouth. The meals are large so there was no opportunity to have a desert as we were all too full. Definitely one to put on your visit list but perhaps book before visiting

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sedgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    19
    9
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lostwithiel, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great meal with all the family”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We had 7 people including one child age 5. The menu was varied and everyone found something they liked. They offered a small version of the mains for kids or they could choose fish fingers/ chicken dippers etc so that was very flexible. Service was great and the food was lovely. Recommendations for puds are the lemon posset (like creamy lemon curd) and the cheesboard.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Georgina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“'disappointing'”
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We visited during the Easter break after being recommended! We had ordered medium to rare sirloin steaks which arrived medium to well, after sending them back they arrived at the table rare!!!! my husband was able to eat his but I wasnt so didnt pay for my steak - the manager said the steak was medium to rare - definitely wasn't as if it was I would have eaten it - he then offered a complimentary dessert which my daughter ate and said was lovely! Overall disappointed as was looking forward to enjoying our evening - this spoilt it!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gilly125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Soft drinks expensive”
Reviewed 24 March 2013 via mobile

Went here for Mothers Day meal, food was very good quality, not cheap but could do with a bit more and thought service was slow waited 45mins for main meal after ordering. Soft drink price extortionate, charged £4 for a pint of diet Coke from the can - shocked!! Don't plan to return....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tonywool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Chiller needed”
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Went here on Saturday evening and as you would expect service a little slow as they were very busy and there are quite a few covers. In the main the food was good, My brother and I had the beer braised steak and my mother had the lamb shank, all extremely good. However my wife had the garden vegetable tartlets which seemed to consist of onions and peppers !

The main issue however was that the white wine was not chilled. Why does such a popular place as this where the food is very good let itself down by ignoring one of the basic principles of serving wine. Maybe Swindonians like their white wine warm.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AntonyJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bolingbroke Hotel,Pub & Restaurant also viewed

 
Royal Wootton Bassett, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Bolingbroke Hotel,Pub & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing