We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gone down hill ”
Review of Mackenzies Swindon

Mackenzies Swindon
Ranked #182 of 454 Restaurants in Swindon
Price range: US$4 - US$17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Located in the heart of lovely and picturesque Old Town area. Here at Mackenzies we offer all day informal casual dining -Great Breakfast, Great Tapas and Gourmet Burgers amongst other delicious choice from our menu - together with our selection of premium draught world beers & real ales, superb cocktails and extensive wine listings by the glass & bottle. A great place to meet your friends and be looked after, whether for coffee, food or drinks, amongst tasteful decor whether on our Ground fFoor, First Floor in the Galleries or alfresco in our lovely garden & decked terrace. We look forward to seeing you any day of the week for Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner, we seat 90 covers inside our Cafe Bar on Ground Floor, a further 60 in the Galleries and 90 covers in the garden and decked terrace
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Used to quite busy in the mornings with excellent breakfasts

Now it's dead quiet with horrible reheated breakfasts. Which caused the other I can't say

Thank DaveSwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 99 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Had a pulled pork wrap which was good. My husband had the falafel & goats cheese burger which was also nice.
This is good casual pub grub.

Thank GemTT33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon M, General Manager at Mackenzies Swindon, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Thank you for your valued comments We like to think our extensive and varied menu offers something different for everyone. Our new menu launches at Easter look out for more eclectic dishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Went for lunch with young family. Was relatively quiet. Ordered food. It took 45 mins to arrive. And when it did it was horrible. Pizza was cold, as were the sausages my daughter ordered. They took the sausages away and returned 3 mins later with microwaved sausages. Chips were dripping with fat. Poor food, poor service. Little in the way of an apology. Go anywhere but here.

Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon M, General Manager at Mackenzies Swindon, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Our aim is 100% customer happiness so we are sorry you encountered a below standard service. The sausages were re pan-fried for you and our Manageress that day thought that had resolved your complaint. to your satisfaction as nothing else was mentioned at the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Invited my swiss cousin out for cocktails, who decided to have a mojito, i did actually cringe slightly as i wasnt sure what she would get...shocking, at £7 a cocktail, couldnt make out what it tasted like.....

....had to take it back...the manager made a new one, which waws mildly better, but no where near how it should taste...perhaps we dont have mint, limes and sugar available in swindon? Who knows....it's quite shameful really...very much doubt i will return for cocktails or invite any of my family from over seas there again....do they not train staff anymore to make cocktails? If you have a cocktail menu, surely, you need to be able to make them..or do they assume most people are too drunk to know the difference...i know that sounds harsh, but it's not on..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon M, General Manager at Mackenzies Swindon, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear AM,

I am sorry to hear of your experience here at our Swindon branch. If you are able to send me an email at swindon@mackenzies.co uk with some further details I can investigate the service you received on the day you visited and ensure this does not happen again.

Many Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This place tends to have a mix of 20 something drinkers and people popping in for lunch. I go there for coffee and a sandwich every once in a while when I need to shop in town. Good enough but nothing fancy. A casual place more for social scene than family.

Thank touringsadge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mackenzies Swindon also viewed

Swindon, Wiltshire
 
Swindon, Wiltshire
Swindon, Wiltshire
 

Been to Mackenzies Swindon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing