We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where do I start?.....”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Longs Bar

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Longs Bar
Ranked #250 of 434 Restaurants in Swindon
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Where do I start?.....”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

The place was dead, not necessarily a bad thing but leaves no excuse for the service! I was greeted by an empty bar and barmaid that looked surprised to have a customer, let alone one ordering food.

I ordered a pint and their 'freshly cooked chicken & chorizo linguini, it arrived in 5 minutes (freshly cooked I think not!), in a bowl that could only have been colder if it had been on the freezer, therefore the good was cold in a few minutes.

I am typing this whilst still sat with the remnants of 'dinner' in front of me as I watch the 3 staff (yes, that's more than the customers) dance to their favourite tunes on the PA system.

Utterly disappointed with what looked to be a promising pub / restaurant from outside.

Avoid if you are looking for an edible, warm meal......

Helpful?
4 Thank Service-simply
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    10
    3
    1
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“One of your standby kind of places”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

We love this place. It is just one of those places in Swindon where you can go for drinks and it is fun. We never miss stopping by when we are in town. Perfect hang out. But it can get loud later in the night. Still fun

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank touringsadge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon Wiltshire
Level Contributor
75 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Longs Bar is a varied venue which caters very well for all tastes and ages.
In daytime, is offers a relaxing atmosphere for a coffee break or a somewhat stronger drink. The menu is comprehensive and affordable, offfering quality food to suit all tastes.
At night, the mood changes with more modern music and cocktails taking over.
Whenever you might visit - and with refurbishments likely to be completed around one week following the submission of this review it promises to remain a fine venue - you will not be disappointed and certainly encouraged to call again!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank johnlister500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yummy ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Came here with my husband and daughter for a roast dinner and the food surpassed my expectations.
Food was delicious, staff were pleasant and the service was brilliant. Will absolutely be coming back.

Helpful?
1 Thank CarlyR81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“worth a visit.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Spent some time here on a Saturday night with another couple. Nice seating area - music was good - cocktails were fabulous and 2 for 1 till 9 so a great place to start your night. Will definitely be back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank malone69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Longs Bar also viewed

Swindon, Wiltshire
Swindon, Wiltshire
 
 

Been to Longs Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing