We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So fresh and oh so good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Plough Inn

The Plough Inn
Ranked #24 of 431 Restaurants in Swindon
Price range: US$5 - US$31
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: The Plough on the hill is one minute from Junction 15 on the m4. An ideal meeting place and is a refurbished Gastro Pub serving freshly cooked food. We provide free wifi and welcome customers from 10am and are open all day.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So fresh and oh so good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

We had the roast dinner on Sunday, and it was so good. REAL home cooked food - everything is fresh, prepared and cooked on sight. No bought in and heated/re-heated food here and you can taste the difference. They have a good selection of freshly made deserts too.
The best pub food we've tasted in a long time. We'll be going back time and again to sample what else is on offer, and for the roast dinner.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank secreteater62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    72
    30
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Swindon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A must...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Arrived on Sunday evening with the children and inlaws.. Table pre booked for 6.30pm

A good variation on the menu, much better choice than that of most pubs in the area!

I had the trio of fish which was fantastic all cooked beautifully, the fish just fell apart, inlaws both had battered haddock and chips also beautiful.. My partner had the burger and what good value for money that was!

Serve a good range of beers and lagers on draught.

Staff are very helpful and friendly.


Would highly recommend this pub, we will definitely be going back!

Helpful?
Thank Mrtickles1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

We've now met my family here twice as its only an hour drive from different directions, the food,service and cleanliness is wonderful. Reluctant to recommend this place in case we can't book when needed, however just had to write good review!!!

Well done all concerned.



  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Valda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broxbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“FOOD GOOD BUT.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Four of us plus a 3 year old for lunch on Tuesday. Food very good, but a 50 minute wait for starters is simply unaccetable. We were not alone, the couple next to us walked out unfed after waiting an hour for their meal. What on earth was going on in the kitchen???

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BJL20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hopeless”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We booked a table for 2 at lunchtime for my 60th birthday. Should have realised that things were not as they should be when had to go back and get wine we had ordered from main bar after waiting 20 minutes for it. 1 hour later food had not arrived so we gave up. On way out other table asked if we had experienced problems with service as they had waited a for service. We could have accepted an apology as to why we were waiting, but no one approached our table the whole time we were there, although we had booked in advance. We eventually gave up and left an hour later. It would not have been so bad had the pub and restaurant been full, but this was a tuesday lunchtime. I have been in the trade so I am not expecting the earth, just decent service and a meal within an hour of ordering or a good explanation of why not. Totally unprofessional service restaurant side, no apology made treated us as though we were in the wrong. I have never left a comment like this before, but felt in this case they deserved it..

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greg T, Owner at The Plough Inn, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thankyou for your feedback. We are a pub that serves good food. We are not a restaurant. The pub was very busy and we have a very small kitchen. Sometimes lots of orders come in at once and unfortunately delays happen in our very small kitchen. Quality of food is number 1 and we can only do what we can do. Kind regards - The Plough Inn Badbury.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Plough Inn also viewed

Swindon, Wiltshire
 
Wroughton, Swindon
 

Been to The Plough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing