We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good yes, but not outstanding”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Calley Arms

The Calley Arms
Ranked #35 of 434 Restaurants in Swindon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lincoln
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good yes, but not outstanding”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Staying nearby and read good reviews, so thought we'd give it a try. I have to award an A for friendliness; the staff is lovely, helpful, and welcoming, and the other drinkers were obviously used to meeting their friends there which (for an out of the way country pub) is exceptional and shows great talent from the proprietors. The atmosphere was good, and sadly lacking from many country pubs nowadays where the locals have deserted them. We didn't rate the food very highly, to be honest. Good enough, no complaint about portion size, but pretty average "pub grub" and we've been to plenty of country pubs where we have eaten better. I know this sounds a bit negative, because although we would eat there again if the same situation arose I wouldn't make any effort to return. So in summary - run of the mill cuisine, beer very well kept, great local pub (wish my local was as good) but only 4 stars from me to balance the rather overgenerous ratings from some other reviewers.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank straysheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    36
    7
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Woh!”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

What a breath of fresh air. This run down pub was taken over a year and a half ago by an enthusiastic young lady and her husband. The atmosphere and the hospitality were second to none. The food was well priced and the hand cut chips were to die for ( and I do not generally talk about chips!) I had a steak and onion Ciabatta and it was fantastic. The beer was in tip top condition and under priced. I wish them every success and hope when the rent review is due they will not be penalised for their efforts. 100 %

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian_Thompson999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great pub, great feel, great food...”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Lived in Swindon, until we moved to Australia 23 years ago. I'd never been to this pub, but went to here for a reunion with friends. A new ish land lady, lovely, fresh and fun. Great menu, Wednesday pies, Friday Fish, or Sunday roast. Other items on the menu sounded fantastic. Beer, well kept and nice. Dog friendly and welcoming.

We came back here again, and the service and food quality was repeated.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
336 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Hearty and fresh fare”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

As staying at the nearby Hilton, the Calley Arms seemed to be a good bet for some wholesome pub food and we were not disappointed.

The specials board had excellent pigeon breast with black pudding served with salad which was delicious and a crayfish cocktail which was light and fresh for starters.

For mains we had the sole which was meaty and moist and very flavoursome and the haddock served with mustard sauce and sauté potatoes along with a dish of veggies. The landlady said all the fish was fresh and you could taste the difference.

It was really a good meal and it came in under 50 with the 2 starters & 2 mains plus a bottle of white wine and some water - no room for desert, sorry. The pub was charming and busy although food is only served till 9. A welcome escape from corporate chains and supporting the local community pub at the same time.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UncleDom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lovely country pub”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Attended a course and stayed at a nearby hotel. This was a lovely surprise. A proper country pub, friendly locals and great atmosphere. Lovely food, liked the Pie and pint offer!. Reasonable cost, good beer. Wish we had found it sooner.
Thanks to the landlady and her friendly staff for a great welcome and evening.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lmj52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Calley Arms also viewed

 
Wroughton, Swindon
 
Swindon, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Calley Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing