We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stanton House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We were greeted by a receptionist with little grasp of the English language, who forgot to point out that the hotel was about to have NO water the evening of our stay.
An evening in the restaurant found my girlfriends chicken curry to have more skin than meat. The staff were apologetic and offered an alternative, a fatty fillet steak. Disappointing.
On retiring to our room, we were woken by an infestation of flying ants !!!
Breakfast in the morning carried the same hap hazard service, staff who seemed out of their depth.
This Japanese owned hotel tells me they have absolutely NO attention to detail, I won't be buying a Honda!!!!
Very disappointing stay.......

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TGM1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (823)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

743 - 749 of 823 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2012

We visited the hotel for a friends wedding and whilst our friends had a great time - after all this was the most important thing, the hotel overall is in need of some major investment and love!
Stanton house as a building is stunning and set in some beautiful grounds, however the interior simply doesn't deliver. The hotel rooms are standard and that's being generous. The bed was sooooo small and the mattress had seen better days. The decor was tired and out dated and cleaning of the room was ok but not fantastic. The staff could do with a lesson in customer care (however the wedding co ordinator is an exemption to this comment,who was far better than Stanton). I asked for a newspaper to read when we had time to kill prior to the wedding and anyone would of thought I was asking for mission impossible! The receptionist was rude and not helpful. The breakfast was SO poor. Have you ever stayed in a hotel where you have to collect a tray and self serve like in a transport cafe?! Well this is how they do things here. Food is poor quality - supplier own condiments - come on, branded products really don't cost that much more. Cleaning was also poor in and around the restaurant with visible dust in many areas. Honda the car company own this place, as they have a factory near by and all the it oversea Big Wigs stay here- my suggestion stick with what you know, as running hotel is a different game - believe me I have worked in hotels for years. Stanton could be AMAZING but it needs major investment, I would suggest a spa desperately needs adding to attract customers and make stays more enjoyable. Stanton have been doing deals with Groupon - you have to ask yourself why?!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We decided to hold our Wedding reception at this venue and were not disappointed. The staff are amazing and look after every single detail. The food was fantastic and we didn't get a single bad word about any aspect of our day. We believe that we got great value for money and unlike many other hotels the bar prices are pretty reasonable. A massive thanks to all the staff but in particular to Cheryl, she is simply priceless! Thanks to all.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Christian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

On the hottest day of the year so far the grounds of Stanton House Hotel were the perfect place to be. Gardens bright with purple aliums and oriental poppies, buttercups in the fields and swans on the lake - all visible from the terrace, where we sipped our drinks and watched curious sheep looking back at us. The breakfast was quite expensive - but did include the option of miso soup instead of cornflakes. Later I sampled a desert from the fusion menu - aduki bean and vanilla cheesecake - this was stunningly presented and tasted as delicious as it looked. The hotel is owned by the Honda group I think; this explains the Japanese influence which certainly adds to the charm of this traditional country house hotel. It's a pity Japanese style hasn't been extended to the interior design which embraces the shabby chintz look and is dated and boring. This is my only criticism though. The staff were lovely, and one visit isn't long enough to explore the gorgeous grounds.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lone-opine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

I had my wedding at Stanton House Hotel and I have to say it was an amazing day! The hotel and grounds are just beautiful, picture perfect and so quiet. The wedding team made it a magical day, everything went smoothly thanks to Cheryl our wedding co-ordinator and her team, she really helped us right from the very beginning. The food was fabulous, all the staff were very friendly, the bridal suite very luxurious and comfortable and the breakfasts! OMG you haven't had a breakfast untill you've tasted one at Stanton House!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Gardens great, rooms comfortable but the restrurant needs some attention. Too many inexperienced waiters. It would be better to pay more qualified waiters. The "trainee" who served us had no idea what the japanese curry was. His response "just a normal curry" He also sat the wine on the table, unopened. I then had to ask for a glass to drink it from.

All up the accommodation was great but the restaurant let down the experience

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WPS111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Nice venue for a wedding. Disabled parking very poor, my wife has mobility issues and a fifty yard walk down hill to reception was poor. Little or no thought on access given. Hotels must do much better!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevin2449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
2.1 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 24 in Swindon
1,678 reviews
4.6 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#9 of 24 in Swindon
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
6 mi away
Cricklade House
Cricklade House
#1 of 1 in Cricklade
635 reviews
6.5 mi away
Chiseldon House
Chiseldon House
#17 of 24 in Swindon
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanton House Hotel

Address: The Avenue | Fitzwarren, Swindon SN6 7SD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
Price Range: £68 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stanton House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Stanton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanton Hotel Swindon
Stanton House Hotel Swindon, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing