We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to eat!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stanton House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
Calne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great place to eat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

Attractive setting in the park, spacious rooms and a great restaurant serving truly delicious food - all in all I would highly advocate Stanton House to anyone. Tip: try the sashimi from the Rosemary restaurant - wonderfully fresh and delectable, plus on Thursday there is all-you-can-eat buffet, which is nicely priced. Definitely the nicest restaurant in Swindon!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    228
    113
    44
    28
See reviews for
101
347
43
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

I stayed here for three nights over a weekend in July 2012 during which time they had three weddings take place, but this didn't detract from the experience and I didn't hear the celebrations at all.

My issue with this hotel is the apparent lack of care that is shown by staff. On the Saturday morning I found the main court yard flowerbed to be strewn with discarded glasses, bottles and cigarette packets from the Friday wedding. This was still all present by the Saturday lunchtime when the Saturday wedding party were arriving. As a recent bride myself, I would have been horrified if my guests had been greeted by this debris on arrival.

I spent a pleasant evening reading in the conservatory on the warmest weekend of the year and this was great, until staff members decided to congregate by the bar and start sharing stories of customers they'd dealt with. I don't think anyone is naive enough to think that this doesn't happen in hotels, but this shouldn't happen in front of guests.

My room was comfortable enough, but again, just a lack of care. I lifted up the stationary to write a note to let the staff know about a plug socket that didn't work and discovered a lot of pressed dried tobacco which had obviously been left on the side table with the notepad on top of it for some time.

Sound carries VERY easily from the corridor into the bedroom and it was awful to be abruptly woken by staff in the mornings trotting up and down the corridor banging on doors and hollering "HOUSEKEEPING!". I had a "Do Not Disturb" sign on my door so didn't get a knock, but the sign was seemingly futile when every other door around me was being so violently knocked and shouted at.

When I looked to take afternoon tea in the conservatory, I soon gave up after being addressed by an incredibly disinterested and miserable staff member who clearly did not want to serve me. When she was asked for decaff coffee she intimated that whilst they had it in the hotel, it wasn't behind that bar and she wasn't going to bother to go and get any. I abandoned all hope at this point.

Stanton House Hotel has an amazing position and has beautiful grounds. I can understand why this would be attractive to wedding parties and indeed romantic weekends away, but the staffing issues really need addressing and I'd fear for your special occasion being ruined by this.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickyWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

A most impressive hotel and a delightful setting with a Country Park adjacent and Lake views from the hotel grounds. The ancient woodlands and roman remains add to the charm. The Church next door is a grade 1 listed building. Upon my second visit i noticed that the standard of the gardens and mixed borders and entrance were way below par for a Country House Hotel, full of weeds and looking unkept. The service in this Japanese owned and run Hotel was first rate, the food excellent, the staff all very courteous and the housekeeping standard of the rooms very high. As a single traveller i was very well looked after. There are both Japanese and English foods on offer as well as a Japanese foods shop.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Lake have the evening sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aloha66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
375 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

Came to SHH for afternoon tea which looked to be good value.

Asked for decaf tea and was told no, which was a bit disappointing. 5 years ago this would have been no surprise but nowerdays most places have them

Then asked for decaf coffee, my backup option as everywhere does it and was told no.

They do do decaf coffee they said, and I suspect tea too. But they just couldn't be bothered to go and get it.

It was clear this place does not value the customer. Walked out.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DaveSwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
226 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

The hotel is set in lovely grounds on the edge of Stanton Country Park. We booked a classic double room for two nights and found our room to be very good with a comfortable bed, fridge, tv and tea and coffee making facilities. We had a large bathroom with a separate shower and bath. The room was starting to look a bit tired and could do with an update but feel that you have to put price into the factor. We paid only £114 for two nights bed and breakfast through Expedia and felt this was exceptional value. The hotel itself is very well kept and has a japenese element to it. This being that they have Mt Fuji Japenese restaurant (which is a more authentic japenese experience) within the hotel. We did try this restaurant and it was lovely for a one off experience but do not feel if we visited the hotel again that we would eat there. Breakfast is both English and Japenese - we found the service at breakfast very slow and it was quite hard to order tea/coffee as required. We had afternoon tea in the conservatory one afternoon and found this to be very enjoyable. They also have another restaurant (Rosemary) which serves English and Japenese food. The hotel seems to cater mainly for weddings ... having one even on the sunday whilst we were there and you can see why with such a stunning setting. I think only downside of the hotel is that when they have functions on ... because the hotel is on the small side facilities wise ... the functions tend to take over the general areas for regular guests staying and you can begin to feel in a little in the way of the functions going on ... especially when you are casually dressed and they are all in their fine attire!

Room Tip: Think any room would be ok. We had one facing the car park and found it to be very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank webber5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

Stanton House Hotel looks like a well-cared for modern version of an English country house hotel. It is set in lovely grounds next to an old church miles from the nearest village. The two storey building has been fitted out so it has a central atrium where there is a bar and lounge and many of the rooms are on the ground floor. It looks like someone gave some thought to providing decent access for non ambulant persons.

The room we were in had a comfortable bed, clean good quality linen, was provided with free internet, plenty of electric sockets, an empty fridge (which we prefer), coffee and tea facilities, plenty of complementary biscuits, and a good size bathroom. Our room was a single although it had a double bed in it (the official doubles were sold out) but it was plenty big enough for us. Our room was very clean. Although we stayed in Summer it was cold but the radiator worked efficiently once we had turned it on (very nice to have individual radiators so we weren't dependent on block heating). Car parking is free.

One of the best things about this hotel is the food. We had dinner in the Rosemary restaurant (essentialy the hotel's main dining area) on the Thursday evening when the buffet was an amazing all you can eat for £21 including sushi, noodles, dumplings and more.

The hotel is owned by the Japanese car manufacturer Honda which has a major plant in Swindon, the nearest city, and was set up originally to cater for visiting Honda executives. It still has the same clientele (along with the 'normal' hotel guests) which means that the food always has great, properly prepared and cooked sushi and noodles on the menu (we have ate there before though not previously stayed at the hotel). If you are into Japan, you can also watch NHK (the Japanese equivalent of the BBC) as it is provided on the cable TV in the room along with the more common channels.

The hotel has another restaurant the Mount Fuji, which we were told has recently been upgraded, and it certainly looks spotless and welcoming. It is presented as a typical Japanese restaurant that specialises in yakiniku - which is essentially 'roast meat' - not good for a vegetarian but for meat-eaters a peasure. The barbeque is on the table and you cook the meat on the table (like the Korean 'bulgogi'). We took guests from Korea and they admired the quality of the food as did we. The service was prompt and the restaurant when we were there was not overcrowded - partly I think because the hotel does not market the place enough. The Mount Fuji restaurant is more expensive than the Rosemary but it is still not expensive (from £25 to £35 a head for lots of courses and about £20 for a good bottle of wine.

Prices of drinks throughout the hotel were not overpriced about the same as you would pay in a pub. Room rates include breakfast which includes a full English breakfast from a buffet and proper coffee. The price for our first night through Late Rooms was an amazing £59.50 for two people includnig breakfast. Full price for the same room was £74, still a bargain.

If I were to make a constructive criticism it might be that there was a lot of staff about and although some were excellent - especially the restaurant staff - the staff on reception could do with a bit of training and/or be a bit more welcoming. Front of house does matter. The lounge area is also a bit of wasted space at the moment as the atrium is stuffed full of leather chesterfield type sofas which are not very comfortable or nice to look at and the floor and walls are bare - although with lots of glass through which the beautiful grounds can be viewed. Some reviews have said that the rooms could do with being updated but i think this is more a question of individual taste than functional necessity. I wuold normallt prfere more contemporary decor but for me the positives were so overwhelming that I did not find that the red carpets spoiled my sense of having had a very special couple of days.

The manager Alex from Greece is wonderful. We had a small issue and he resolved it promptly, cheerfully and professionally. They are lucky to have him.

All in all tremendous value for money and a little Japanese haven in the Wiltshire countryside.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frequentflyer00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

I have been using this hotel every year for four years now.

Some of the decor is dated and in need of renewal however the staff are friendly and the hotel is kept extremely clean.

The hotel is owned by Honda and is located close to their factory in beautiful surroundings. As it is owned by Honda most of the clientele are Japanese workers at the factory and therefore everything is geared towards them.

The majority of the food is Japanese or Japanese influenced and is reasonably priced. The breakfast is a little expensive for £10 but is all you can eat buffet style with bottomless coffee,perfect for a long days fuel!

Rooms in the newer part of the hotel are generally basic but functional (fridge and tv), typically Japanese! There is also free wifi throughout the hotel and a dedicated area with network connections should you not have wifi.

I have not had a bad nights sleep but be warned, there are only two thin pillows in the single rooms and no spares... In addition to only two power sockets, which have to be used with the kettle and fridge... Bring a multiplug!

I certainly plan on returning next year.

Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
2.1 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
5.6 mi away
The Pear Tree at Purton
The Pear Tree at Purton
#6 of 24 in Swindon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
3.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#2 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
De Vere Alexandra House
De Vere Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
5.2 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,705 reviews
6.5 mi away
Chiseldon House
Chiseldon House
#13 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanton House Hotel

Property: Stanton House Hotel
Address: The Avenue | Fitzwarren, Swindon SN6 7SD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Stanton House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Stanton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanton Hotel Swindon
Stanton House Hotel Swindon, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing