We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very small rooms.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stanton House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very small rooms.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

I've stayed here a couple of times as the location works well for me. The hotel looks great as you approach, lovely old building with vast gardens and a nice view of the lake. Sadly i's goes down hill fast once you get to your room. They're just too small and dull. The food's good, but the menu is mainly Japanese due to the Honda factory being down the road.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank awayfromhome1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    225
    113
    43
    28
See reviews for
101
341
43
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

was at hotel last weekend for wedding around 50 plus friends family fabulous setting in the coltswolds lovley food nice rooms and good service/ .thow the gardens my good what a shambles uncut grass and there garden looked more like a unloved over grown weed breading farm and the green algy pond just dead fish there .ups .pictures on web site never looked like this.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank davidroosmith r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

My husband and I had a most enjoyable stay here a few years back and I was looking forward to an enjoyable night's stay with my sister. However, we arrived at about 4.30 p.m. on a glorious day and, after checking in went for a walk around the Hotel, grounds and adjoining park. The terrace needs a lot of attention and there were lots of used glasses, cups etc., still on the tables, and the flagstones needed weeding and cleaning - it all looked very tired. Went on to look at what they describe as the 'beautiful gardens' which they may have once been, however, they were overgrown with weeds and dead flowers and in urgent need of attention. The best bit of the walk was strolling round the Park and lake. When we returned in about an hour, the tables were still full of used items.
The room was old fashioned faded glory and decidedly not 'user friendly'. The nearest plug to the tea-tray and the dressing table mirror was the old 'round pin' type! This meant moving the kettle to the TV Table and unplugging one thing to enable water to be boiled - not very safe at all, and it was not possible to plug in the hairdryer near to a mirror as that was the 'round pin' wall plug.
The menu's were very expensive and not to our liking, so we went to the local pub for an evening meal. When we returned at about 9.30 p.m. there were lots of noisy people - mainly Japanese - eating take-away food, canned supermarket beer etc. - this despite the fact that it clearly states 'own food can only be consumed in your room'. Not at all what we expected at a "classic Country Manor House offering the peace and tranquillity that is craved in today’s world"...their description on the website.
Coming down to breakfast at 9 a.m. next day we noticed that the outside tables were still full of last evenings debris. The breakfast was good but we were a little dismayed to see everything disappear a little after 9.30 a.m, without asking us if there was anything more we needed. Admittedly it stated breakfast was served until 9.30 a.m.but I have never experienced this before. Sadly I am unable to give it a positive rating.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank step4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Fabulous setting, good location and chosen for a weekend break. We opted for a standard double but maybe should have selected a superior as it was very average. Sadly the room hadn’t been cleaned to a reasonable standard, hair in the bath, grubby toilet flush, dust on top of all pictures/mirrors and the bedside tables were very dusty when moved out. Bedside lamp not working on one side. Our booking apparently didn’t include breakfast at an additional cost of £10 per person per day which we considered high so decided to eat breakfast elsewhere. Wi-fi not working for first day, reported to reception but they didn’t inform us it was working on day 2, which we discovered by accident. This hotel is obviously a popular wedding venue, not a problem if you’re attending a wedding but on our 2nd night wedding guests were playing 5 aside football at 1am, very loudly right outside our window. I suggested they stop, which they did, but then just talked loudly until 3am. No sleep and an early start next morning. Wouldn’t stay again. Reported these issues to reception and was told they’d “pass it on”. Not satisfactory.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed end of July for a family wedding.. The grounds are beautiful big gardens and a lovely outdoor area with gorgeous big trees (perfect for climbing if you're a big kid) . All staff were lovely and polite and very helpful.. We arrived on the Friday had dinner in the main restaurant which was European/Japanese was really tasty and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Room was very lovely we stayed In a double room but personally think that the bed could have been bigger both myself and my partner are tAll and use a lot of the bed and this wasn't accommodating all be it a very comfortable bed. The tv was an older telly with basic channels no free view so maybe that could be updated. On the Saturday we went to breakfast where there was a full cooked and cold buffet and again was lovely. The wedding itself was beautiful and the spread the hotel put on was wonderful. There was no iron in the room but we asked for one at reception and the man went and got one for us along with a board(once we'd asked for one). Our kettle didn't work and a quick call to reception and it was replaced straight away. We had a lovely 2 night stay and would definitely stay again if we are in the area. We're from brighton so was a long drive for us but would definitely stay again.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Chloe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

My wife & I use the hotel reasonably often (dinner, some overnights and even a family wedding reception) and know the staff are generally OK. Today we only wanted to use the Japanese food shop. Having first checked the opening times online we went to the shop but it wasn't open. After 5 minutes I went to report this at reception but neither of the 2 receptionists knew the opening times. Once they realised it should already be open they asked me to return to the shop to await it's opening as they were going to make a call. After my wife and I waited another 10 minutes, I went back to the reception & asked why the shop had still not opened. The staff did not seem at all concerned. Once I asked to see the manager a member of staff was found to open the shop but by this time my wife had returned to the car.
The shop is not a big part of the hotel and the hotel might think that the shop customers do not matter to the hotel. We were disappointed by the attitude of the staff and would have liked some sort of apology (as anyone can make mistakes) but no one seemed to care.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Bengals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Reception - friendly and courteous. Rest of the staff equally courteous.
Room - I stayed in a basic single room, thankfully the bed was larger than an ordinary single. Bathroom was clean and modern. Could have done with air conditioning though, stayed during one of the hottest weekends of 2013.
Food - breakfast was slightly overpriced compared to other establishments, a good selection on offer, standard full English, fruit, toast , cereals, yoghurt etc. evening meals are expensive in my opinion. Plenty of Japanese food on offer if you fancy something different.
Bar - Small selection of beer available, would of been nice to have had a little more choice
Location - very near major roads but far enough from civilisation. Set in fantastic grounds, it really is the selling point of this establishment.
Overall decent value for money, I'll be staying again next year!

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
2.1 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
5.6 mi away
The Pear Tree at Purton
The Pear Tree at Purton
#5 of 24 in Swindon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
3.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
De Vere Alexandra House
De Vere Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
5.2 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#8 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,703 reviews
6.5 mi away
Chiseldon House
Chiseldon House
#12 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanton House Hotel

Property: Stanton House Hotel
Address: The Avenue | Fitzwarren, Swindon SN6 7SD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Stanton House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stanton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanton Hotel Swindon
Stanton House Hotel Swindon, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing