We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“food” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of 20 at The Kings

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
20 at The Kings
Ranked #23 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
swindon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

the first time i been to this place i wont go again, today i went there to have something to eat from the menu, which clearly says they have roast beef sandwiches on thursday, only to be told the chef did not know that thursday was the day to do it, so i decided to choose something else which was the steak and kidney pie, i was told that that was not available as well, so i decided to have the chicken and bacon club sandwich which was a mistake, firstly it was so overly done with mayonnaise, then there was egg shell in the sandwich, i couldnt eat the rest as i felt sick and i left most of it , i wouldnt go again though

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirsty614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    34
    18
    16
    25
See reviews for
25
33
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

So after a boozy Saturday night I wasn't really feeling a Sunday roast however to managed to get talked in to a visit to The Kings.
To be honest I was very surprised!
We was seated straight away by a very friendly member of staff who then looked after us for the meal. We were advised to go straight up to the carvery and get stuck in and our drinks order was taken and drinks were waiting for us when we got back to the table,
I had a bit of everything, all the meat was cooked nice and the potato and veg was all really nice as well. Some of it could of been a bit fresher but lets be honest, it's The Kings not the Ritz!
Really good atmosphere, very clean and tidy venue with lots of TV's which worked well for the football. Reasonably priced.
Will deff make another visit!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FaganRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nobbey71, Owner at 20 at The Kings, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Thank you for your kind words. I am pleased to hear that you have had an enjoyable experience.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards
Darren Turner
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

We knew from the hotel website that the hotel has a disco which continues until 3am but when I phoned up I was reassured it was not a problem and no one complains. Between our party we had three rooms and I cannot even begin to describe how loud the music is from some of them. My poor brother and his wife were right above the dance floor and their bed was actually vibrating from the music below. We were further back but we had all the outdoor drinkers right outside our window. When my brother complained the next morning the guy on reception (who you'll find permanently outside smoking and never on reception) could not have cared less. My completely sleep deprived brother then had a long drive home.

How you can actually charge people for this experience from hell is just beyond me.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bolly1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nobbey71, Owner at 20 at The Kings, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Sorry to hear about your experience at 20 at the Kings. Every effort is made to ensure a comfortable stay for all of our guest. As you can appreciate at the weekend we are a busy hotel and it turns into a venue with music but we do advertise this on every booking agent and on our website. If you would like to discuss this matter, please get in touch.
Darren Turner
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Swindon hotels

York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

I stayed for a number of weeks recently as I was working in Swindon. I initially stayed at the Goddards for a week but was a little disappointed and walked up the road to 20 at The Kings and stayed the next week and then booked subsequent weeks.
The owners took over a year or so ago (so I believe) and have made some vast improvements and are still working very hard to continiously improve the facilities and have just recently made an outdoor BBQ area and bar in the hope we may see a summer.
From what I understand of how it used to be it is completely different.
The main area, bar and downstairs are very nicely done and the rooms are clean but basic but I believe this is the next to be brought up to their high standards.
The staff are very friendly and the food is excellent. They have also recently changed the chefs and working very hard to create new menus despite the ones I tried being excellent already. As I have stayed there for a few weeks I have ate elsewhere but only to get a change of scenery. I find it hard to take myself elsewhere with the quality and price being so good. Some nights there are deals e.g. Wed night is steak night.
During the week the hotel and bar are quiet but at weekends I believe it transforms into more night club (although I have not been there at weekends).
I would highly recommend for the friendly atmosphere, great food, affordable prices and good clean accommodation.

Room Tip: Only stayed in one single room (28) which was to the rear of the property which was fine. There was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Savlegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
200 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

This is a nice hotel/pub. Firstly, there is free parking right in the middle of the old town. The rooms are simple but clean, tidy and well kept, and free Wifi. Breakfast is not for the light hearted, and the evening meals are very well prepared, a higher standard that your 'average' pub meal. Every evening there seems to something different on, Salsa dancing, Camra club, a quiz, big TV's for sport too - keeps it interesting. They have a fine selection of well kept ales and of course wine and other drinks. The staff are very helpful in this 'family' atmosphere hotel. The location is also excellent. Throw a stone and you could reach a half dozen other pubs and restaurants if you fancy a stroll.

Room Tip: I hear it gets a bit busy in the pub at the weekend....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gexxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

We arrived at 20 @ The Kings on Saturday to a very pleasent welcome and helpful information where our accomodation was also information on meals and bars.
Our room on the 1st floor to the back of the hotel was clean and bright a double bed chair desk, a tray with kettle, cups, tea, coffee, hot chocolate, milk on which was clean and presented nice. there is a hair dryer and TV in the room. The ensuit bathroom with shower over the bath nice clean white bathroom.
We went to a party in the Oak Room which was a good size room with a bar off to the side in a smaller room with table and chairs, the buffet was nice the food was good and again presented well. The disco gave a good range of music getting everyone on the floor, the tables were cleared of glasses and food plates regularly all together a great night.
We had a good night sleep an good shower, breakfast was served with good food and good service.

Our weekend was made special by the Hotel staff and the pleasent surroundings.

Room Tip: If you stay at a week end have a room on the south side as there is a disco that goes until late
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaytee43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shotley Gate, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

We booked here on the morning of our stay as a last minute stop-over and were not disappointed. The staff were very friendly and could not do enough for you. Although the floors were creaky (it is an old building and this is to be expected) there was no noise from others rooms or from the corridors. The family room we had was very large and clean. The breakfast looked brilliant but due to a hangover I only had cereal, my husband had the full english and thoroughly enjoyed it. The only complaint was that the coffee in the pot was cold but as soon as the young girl serving breakfast was told she quickly apologised and brought us fresh coffee. Will definitely stay here again when in Swindon and have already recommended it to friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShipwreckShotley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
1.8 mi away
Campanile Swindon
Campanile Swindon
#16 of 24 in Swindon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#2 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Swindon
2.5 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#20 of 24 in Swindon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 20 at The Kings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 20 at The Kings

Property: 20 at The Kings
Address: 20 Wood Street | Old Town, Swindon SN1 4AB, England (Formerly The Kings)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — 20 at The Kings 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your 20 at The Kings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kings Hotel Swindon
Kings Hotel Swindon
20 At The Kings Swindon, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing