We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what I thought”
Review of The Sun Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Sun Inn
Ranked #6 of 44 Swindon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Morden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not what I thought”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I came here a while back and was ok and had good service however after tonight I doubt I will bring my services here! I was sitting alone on a table out of the way of everyone using my iPad to talk to friends and family, was wearing casual dress as in jeans and Oakley t shirt, I was abused by a horrible woman earlier on in the night to which I ignored then about an hour later I was confronted again with her in my face while her boyfriend looked on and done nothing! The statements she made against me were so vulgar I would not feel comfortable putting them on here! I went to the bar and told the bar staff who told me to just move tables? Really? Then I left for a moment and thought why should I be driven from a place where I have done nothing? I walked black in and expressed myself to another member of bar staff who said she would speak to that person. I won't be coming back here ever again due to that horrible vulgar person and the bar staff who done nothing! If u like being abused please come here otherwise walk straight past!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    15
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
15
28
5
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

One of the best hotels in the country, food , rooms and staff are amazing.
The disabled facilities are great
The location is perfect with country park on doorstep and shopping a very short drive away
Thank you all for lovely stay again

Room Tip: all rooms are great (we have stayed in 4 of them) disabled facilities are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brixham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Booked for one night as we where attending a party at the Pub. Could not find fault with a single thing, Perfect setting, spotless through out, Friendly staff and a Boss Man that brought it all together. There are 10 rooms that where built last year that are perfect with wi-fi . and Breakfast was as good as we have had anywhere. Next time we travel to Swindon wont look around on the net will just book in at The Sun

Room Tip: Any room is Perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brixhammickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Went here for my birthday and we booked a table which worked fine, the waitress we had was quite abrupt and not the friendliest of people think she was in the wrong job!! Asking for a drink was like asking for the earth! Didn't really come over and ask for drinks we had to wave someone else down to get a drink.

The food was really nice and tasty and came out in good times.

I would go back as it is the waitress that let down this experience!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Simmolor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basingstoke
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We booked a room here along with other family members as we were all attending a party nearby. Really exceeded our expectations and was open mouthed when we were shown out rooms. Beautifully decorated, fresh, clean and modern. Excellent value for money! I will definitely be back. Great place with good facilities, friendly helpful staff and a proper English brekkie.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilldobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LINCOLN
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed for one night on Saturday 29th March.

Although we arrived before the designated 14.00 hrs, the staff checked whether the rooms were ready; and they were so we were given the keys and taken to the rooms. A nice touch.

The rooms had tea + coffee making, nice biccies too. The bed was really comfortable and the shower was excellent. The rooms were spotless.

A great location for Coates Water park.

We had a spot of lunch which was very nice and also we had evening meal which was also very nice.

In the morning were went for breakfast... WOW. Good quality and loads of it. None of our group could finish it.

Only one thing they could improve; there is a patch of mud at the entrance to the play area which could do with being covered with either sand or bark.

But it is a great facility for kids.

If visiting Swindon again, I will use this hotel again

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COLIN T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qawra, Malta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I'm not one who usually bothers about reviews, but I was so impressed by this place that I'm gladly taking the time to do so. Rooms are clean, cosy, beautify decorated, and well equipped! Staff were very welcoming and helpful. We were served a PROPER English b'fast every morning, rather than the pretend b'fasts other places offer. The pub food was delicious, portions were great, and very fairly priced! Well done & many thanks to all! Will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
1.3 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Swindon
Holiday Inn Swindon
#18 of 24 in Swindon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
2.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Campanile Swindon
Campanile Swindon
#15 of 24 in Swindon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
2.6 mi away
De Vere Alexandra House
De Vere Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
4.7 mi away
Premier Inn Swindon West (M4, J16) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sun Inn

Property: The Sun Inn
Address: Coate, Swindon SN3 6AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sun Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotel.de, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The Sun Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sun Inn Swindon, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing