We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for Money”
Review of The Sun Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sun Inn
Ranked #7 of 44 Swindon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed here for the weekend. You have to remember this is not a hotel so reception service is not reception service it is bar service. The rooms are fantastic- you will be pleasantly shocked. Clean, modern, never had such as big hospitality tray ever in my life - lots of biscuits and tea/coffee. Shower fab. Iro,n ironing board, hairdryer you have everything you need for a great stay. Bed comfortable but could have been king size the room could have taken it. Food was fantastic - tasty big portions - location is quiet, even though near to a dual carriage way. The park nearby is lovely and relaxing to walk around. Near to Swindon and Oxford for visits. Management and staff all very helpful to us whilst we were staying there. We will be back. We were very pleased with our stay and the cost. Thank you

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beverley1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

Amazing rooms with amazing breakfast! I will be booming again soon!! I am really impressed with the rooms they are so modern and the bathroom is stunning. The bar staff are really helpful too. Coate water is a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Having booked late we arrived at the Sun Inn, Swindon. The staff were so helpful and even though we arrived after the kitchen closed they even made us sandwiches. The rook was just wonderful with the best shower I have ever used! The room was tastefully furnished and even had an iron and ironing board! Not that I used it! :) I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lithographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This Inn is a real treasure. The rooms are very comfortable, modern, with an excellent well appointed bathroom.
The restaurant was busy as they had a special event on but the food was very good and reasonless priced. It's a long time since I paid only £8.50 for a bottle of wine.
The cooked breakfast was very good, being picky we would have liked a greater choice of fruit juice and non cooked items.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chrisali1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed for a night as our son was celebrating his 40th there. We really enjoyed our stay. The rooms are excellent. Large and airy and a very comfortable bed. A really good large shower. Nice quiet night. The rooms are behind the pub itself and you get no traffic noise. The food was very diverse and excellent value. And the staff are very good. Great front of house. We thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This place is great. Our room was absolutely lovely and so comfortable. The rooms are away from the pub so it was really quiet even though the bar was busy. The breakfast was lovely too with a big choice. Will definitely stay there again!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank PippaRud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

My third visit. This place is simply very good value for money. The service is great, the rooms are ideal and if you want to walk you're right next door to country park. Breakfast is included (even though I didn't take it up this time) as is wifi. What more do you need or want for c£60?

See my other review - as the sun had no rooms last night I had to ensure the village hotel. It doesn't compare on any level. Stay here you won't be disappointed.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank LakesMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
1.2 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 25 in Swindon
686 reviews
2.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#2 of 25 in Swindon
1,578 reviews
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
1,039 reviews
4.0 mi away
Village Hotel Swindon
Village Hotel Swindon
#9 of 25 in Swindon
2,096 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Swindon
Holiday Inn Swindon
#18 of 25 in Swindon
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sun Inn

Address: Coate, Swindon SN3 6AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Swindon
Price Range: £43 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sun Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms and HotelsClick so you can book your The Sun Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sun Inn Swindon, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing