We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel but not when it's hot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Swindon Central Hotel
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Swindon
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Hotel but not when it's hot”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stated here overnight as a stopover for a long journey. Staff were great as normal. We ate at a local Harvester which was excellent and had the Premier Inn breakfast at the Brewers Fayre pub opposite to the hotel. Again this was excellent. The only downside to the hotel is that there is no air conditioning and the windows can't be opened more than a few inches due to security which is fair enough as we were on the ground floor. This meant we couldn't get the temperature in our room below 28 degree's which was shown on the room thermometer. This Sadly meant we had to put we towels on the kids to cool them down it was that jot. We finally got to sleep in the very early hours but we're woken at 7am by a lorry parked outside our window who left his engine running for ages before driving off. By then it was too hot to sleep again !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fireblade44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwindonCentral, Front Desk Receptionist at Premier Inn Swindon Central Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great review. I will be sure to pass on the message to the team who will be glad to know you enjoyed your stay although we are sorry to hear you found the room too hot, we hope the fan and sheets helped to make you all slightly more comfortable. We are hoping that air-conditoning can be installed when we have a refurb.

When you book rooms online, hotels with air-con will have an air-con icon, please look out for this in the future if you would prefer to stay in a hotel that has air con.

I would like to investigate the lorry which was parked outside around 7am as our contractors should not arrive before 9am.

At Premier Inn we strive to deliver a great service and a brilliant nights sleep, we are sorry on this occasion we failed to do so. We offer a Good Night Guarantee, please contact us so we can arrange this for you.

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

With kind regards,

Lucy Raynor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    95
    30
    14
    7
See reviews for
86
79
13
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed three nights for work purposes. Solo woman, fab friendly reception staff, very helpful. Very mindful that I was travelling and staying alone which was lovely. Offered to contact brewers fayre to arrange breakfast bang on 630 as I had an early start. Quick response to problems to wifi which was very welcome. Brewers fare offered good food and comfortable surroundings. Comfortable, good sized and lovely clean rooms with fab beds. Absolutely no issues, would definitely use again. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwindonCentral, Front Desk Receptionist at Premier Inn Swindon Central Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you for your great comments!

I will be sure to pass them onto our team who will be pleased to know you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Lucy Raynor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We got a good deal for 2 nights including breakfast. Good points :- nice and clean room and bathroom ,lovely breakfast,and quiet .Bad points :- needed a new mattress and pillows. No air con , but fans were in the room The lady on reception was friendly and helpful .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROSIEGRAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwindonCentral, Front Desk Receptionist at Premier Inn Swindon Central Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Many thanks for taking your time to write such a great review.

It is very important to us that our guest's enjoy every aspect of their stay. Your feedback is very much appreciated as we endeavour to improve standards and meet all our customer’s needs.

We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Lucy Raynor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
528 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I regularly use premier inns and this was the first sty at this one, the room was spotless and the staff very helpful.

Parking is free but no aircon at this one which is reflected in the cheaper price you pay, for a family for £30 you really can't go wrong.

The on site brewers Ayer was good for breakfast, not hot buffet which you tend to find at the busier inn but cooked to order was very good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwindonCentral, Front Desk Receptionist at Premier Inn Swindon Central Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Many thanks for taking your time to write such a great review.

It is very important to us that our guest's enjoy every aspect of their stay. Your feedback is very much appreciated as we endeavour to improve standards and meet all our customer’s needs.

We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Lucy Raynor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Clean, spacious room at reasonable rate. Very good service. Actually offered me a night's refund for the cost of the room when woken by a car alarm at 4am on the first night there. Reception were supportive and warmly greater me when approached. Really liked the 'Shhhh... quiet please signs near the lift areas and in the hallway near my room because that is really what I wanted most, a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwindonCentral, Front Desk Receptionist at Premier Inn Swindon Central Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Many thanks for taking your time to write such a great review.

It is very important to us that our guest's enjoy every aspect of their stay. Your feedback is very much appreciated as we endeavour to improve standards and meet all our customer’s needs.

We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Lucy Raynor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We had a very good experience at this Premier Inn and would recommend it to anybody. very clean and not too far from interesting places like Bath & Marlborough. The staff were helpful and polite and were able to give lots of information regarding the locality.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the small industrial estate are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 46traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwindonCentral, Front Desk Receptionist at Premier Inn Swindon Central Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Many thanks for taking your time to write such a great review.

It is very important to us that our guest's enjoy every aspect of their stay. Your feedback is very much appreciated as we endeavour to improve standards and meet all our customer’s needs.

We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Lucy Raynor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

We only stayed for one night. It was a nice clean hotel. We had no problems. Don't rely on your sat nav to get you there though as it doesn't seem to recognise the location. It takes you down the completely wrong road

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SwindonCentral, Front Desk Receptionist at Premier Inn Swindon Central Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Many thanks for taking your time to write such a great review.

It is very important to us that our guest's enjoy every aspect of their stay. Your feedback is very much appreciated as we endeavour to improve standards and meet all our customer’s needs.

We are very sorry that your sat nav did not reconisge our postcode. I am pleased to inform you that this problem has now been rectified.

We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Lucy Raynor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swindon hotels
1.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Swindon
Jurys Inn Swindon
#1 of 24 in Swindon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,419 reviews
3.9 mi away
Premier Inn Swindon West (M4, J16) Hotel
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Swindon North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Campanile Swindon
Campanile Swindon
#15 of 24 in Swindon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Swindon West M4, Jct 16
2.6 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Swindon Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Swindon Central Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Swindon Central Hotel
Address: 1 Larch Close | Kembrey Business Park, Swindon SN2 8YS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Swindon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Swindon
#5 Business Hotel in Swindon
#6 Family Hotel in Swindon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Swindon Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a friendly team of receptionists day and night, to check you in and help you with any problems or queries you may have. We like to ensure you are happy and comfortable while stopping in our Swindon Central Premier Inn. Ideally situated for both business and leisure guests, within easy reach of M4. For business this hotel is located on Kembrey business park. Local attractions include Oasis Leisure Centre and McArthur Glen Outlet Village for great shopping. Swindon town centre is 2 miles away. Our Swindon Central Premier Inn has everything you'd expect,incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite Brewers Fayre restaurant serving great value pub favourites in a family friendly environment.Please note - for anyone wishing to pay by cash on arrival, we will need to see some I.D. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Swindon Central Hotel Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing